We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could use some training.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rubi's Jus See Food - CLOSED

Rubi's Jus See Food
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Could use some training.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stopped by to see what was on the menu. I asked if they had iced tea. The waitress did not know. She said she would check. Turns out they did not have. I order Shrimp linguini with Alfredo sauce. The portion was nice. The garlic bread was great. The Alfredo sauce would have been good, had it not had about a third cup of oregano mixed in it. It was hard to eat. The waitress did what I detest, she brought my food, set it down and that was it. No return.....l could see some other guest eating fried food that looked and smelled burned. It was fried really dark.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wished I could give it a Better Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The only other table of people in the restaurant were leaving as we walked in and they said it was great. We on the other hand had calamari, onion rings, and shrimp and fries - all was on the very overdone-almost burnt except the fries and it was evident the oil should have been changed out a while ago. I hope this restaurant takes off as we did not find much seafood when you go into the interior of Belize - but think they have some work to do!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brownie6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rubi`s is a welcome addition to Santa Elena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great food, friendly service, and not the norm for Santa Elena. The seafood is fresh, and homemade , with a new flair that just cannot be compared. The menu items are very different what is normally served in the Cayo district, and well worth a stop. The unique menu items include hush puppies, onion rings, fish nuggets, which are very nicely flavored, and homemade tartar sauce. The shrimp salad is extra nice with grilled shrimp served on a bed of fresh garden salad ingredients. The prices are very reasonable, without skimping on the quality. I have already been to Rubi`s several times, and have yet to disappointed. I will return soon, and look forward to being served by the attentive, and courteous staff. I almost forgot to mention that Rubi`s is air conditioned, and is very clean, with a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
276 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great fried seafood at Rubi's.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you want some fried shrimp or calimari, then Rubi's is the place to go eat. We call it our naughty good fried seafood spot. They also have really good shrimp quesadillas too. Rubi's was the first seafood restaurant in Cayo, and it's located in Santa Elena, so it's easy to get to. Will definitely be going back again to try some of their daily specials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrFeelAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good food and generous portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

On our recent return to Cayo, we were told about Rubi's. We are always up for trying any new restaurant in the area, so decided to go for lunch.

The daily special wasn't yet ready when we arrived, so we ordered from the menu. We had a seafood burrito which was very large and tasty with lots of vegetables in with the seafood. We also had the shrimp ceviche which was a very large portion accompanied by lots of chips (they make their own and they are very tasty). We found it a little too spicy (would ask for less peppers next time) and the amount of shrimp was very tiny compared to the vegetables.

The server was very friendly and the overall experience was very good and a "return to" place for the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubi's Jus See Food also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Cayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing