We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”
Review of Mucklehus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Levenwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mucklehus
Ranked #1 of 1 Levenwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed with Anne and Peter for only two nights but wish it could have been for much longer. They were in the middle of a rather hectic, stressful, sad time but never made us feel 'in the way' or a nuisance. The house is in such a beautiful location, beach right by and cliff walks, small village and the house itself was so lovely (as were Anne's paintings). Just the two rooms which are ensuite, large and beautifully furnished with good quality bathroom fittings and the bed.......best sleep ever! Anne's breakfasts are just spot on, in a lovely setting of the small conservatory overlooking the lovely garden. Can honestly say that if we were going back to Shetland this place would be our top choice. Thank you Anne and Peter for your warm welcome and making us feel so at home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

Anne & Peter are the perfect hosts for a stay in a wonderful and unique place in Europe. The make you feel completely at home. Thank you again.
Giuseppe & Mirella

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

the best B+B we've stayed in by far - amazing breakfasts, fantastic hosts, great walks, so peaceful and the best sleep(s) in years. Trying to find time to go back...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Our first visit to Shetland, and not only unforgettable because of the fantastic nature and landscape, but also because of this really great B&B located in South Mainland, we stayed in for three nights End of August 2009.
The B&B is a really nice renovated and furnished traditional cottage, with 2 beautiful guest rooms (both ensuite) and a cosy conservatory for breakfast.
The hosts Peter and Ann welcomed us with such a warm hospitality, that we felt like home. Alone the breakfast (try the shetland salmon!) was worth the way! Peter and Ann recommended us local walks (a walk along the coastline around the house is just great: great scenery, lots of seals and birds and an old broch) and places to eat and visit. And they helped us with our car engine failure...

This was one of the best B&Bs we stayed in during our roundtrip through Scotland, Orkney and Shetland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saedelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We opted to stay at this B&B rather than one in Lerwick and we were so glad we did. It's only a 20min drive but a completely different and much nicer location. Mucklehus is a lovely traditional cottage located in the tiny hamlet of Netherton right by Levenwick beach so you can go for a quick stroll along the sand and most of the time you will have it to yourself. The house itself is lovely inside with 2 spacious and airy guest bedrooms - both with ensuite bathrooms. - and a nice cosy guest lounge. Breakfast is served in a small conservatory overlooking the garden - the choice is great and the food is really tasty with a focus on local ingredients including free range eggs courtesy of the neighbour's hens. The hosts Peter and Ann made us feel very welcome and were happy to recommend local walks and places to eat and visit in the local area (just watch out for the diving artic terns on the headland walks if you want to avoid feeling like an extra from a Hitchcock film!) All in all - Mucklehus offers a lovely, peaceful base to explore the island and is one of the nicest places we stayed during our trip to Shetland and in fact is one of the best B&Bs in the country. Check out there own website http://www.mucklehus.co.uk/

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyhoundgirlGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank FFabioF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank THESCOTTISHSNEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levenwick
28.6 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
324 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
146 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Scalloway Hotel
Scalloway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scalloway
250 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Decca - Self Catering Shetland
11.4 mi away
Midshore Guest House
Midshore Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scalloway
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mucklehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mucklehus

Address: Muckle Hus Nertherton, Levenwick ZE2 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Levenwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Levenwick
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mucklehus Levenwick, Shetland Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing