We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Buttslade House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibford Gower
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttslade House
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in this superb b&b. The hospitality was second to none ,the breakfast was expertly cooked and the room was just lovely, with fluffy towels and starched bedding. The gardens finished off the place beautifully.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a long awaited , planned stay and had the beautiful garden room in July 2013. We were made very welcome by Diana and the extra touches homemade cake on arrival, homemade bread at breakfast are fab. Diana clearly loves welcoming people to her place and goes out of her way to be helpful. The gardens are great and we enjoyed sitting outside on the bench seeing the dogs potter by. This really is a tranquil place - we booked it to break up a long journey from North East to Cornwall and found a real treasure.
We found ourselves back at Buttslade House in August (unexpected booking) and were in the main house without en suite facilities. The twin room and the bathroom ,however, we're lovely rooms we would have just liked them to be joined!
Smashing pub next door we had really good food there.
You should get good sleep as the village is very dark.
Overall an amazing, beautiful place.

Room Tip: Garden room ( but don't book it when we want it!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judygateshead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Buttslade House is the kind of quality of b and b which puts hotels charging twice its highly competitive rates into the shade. Every element of this sophisticated country retreat from the beautiful bedrooms, the brilliant breakfast, the sumptuous gardens, the homemade jam and biscuits and the delightful village surroundings mark this out as a benchmark hospitality experience. The whole thing has been painstakingly put together by the gorgeous Diana and her husband Jan whose levels of care and personal attention are truly exceptional. Sorry if this sounds a little like a press release but I'd challenge anyone visiting not to have a memorable and standout stay in this home away from home in the english countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked this lovely cottage with magical gardens and a lovely host quite by accident when our original rental fell through. It was a real blessing in disguise. Diana our host was the kindest and most hospitable. Our kids enjoyed the garden and cottage as well as playing with Diana's dogs. We saw many near by attractions but were always happy to return to the comfortable cottage. We look forward to visiting again soon! Sibford Gower is a lovely and friendly village and we enjoyed several great meals at the Wkyham arms next door

Stayed: June 2013
Thank yML17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We used Buttslade House as a base for our daughter's wedding in nearby Long Compton.

This is a quintessential Cotswold home in a delightful village with all important village pub nearby.

I would need every superlative in my vocabulary to describe how both Jan and Diana went the extra mile to ensure our wedding base was superb for the main party and bridesmaids.

Beautifully fitted out bedrooms and bathrooms , ensure you can relax in the utmost comfort.

Diana slaves away at her Aga in the kitchen to produce delicious English breakfasts with locally sourced ingredients.

Sibford Gower is a small Cotswold village, ideally located for the many attractions that the Cotswolds offers.

The garden at Buttslade House is a delight and open to the public once a year.

The only drawback is that on returning home, my wife wants to run a B&B in the Cotswolds !!

Buttslade house offers you the perfect place to enjoy rural calm - Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Beautiful self catering property in a friendly village, with charming, helpful owners, who went out of their way- nothing was too much trouble, even waiting for an urgent delivery. Diana is absolutely charming and Jan a great host too.

Cottage spotless and well equipped, even the kitchen in a cupboard was manageable for a four week stay. Beds comfortable, shower a real treat . The garden a delight even during a cold wet spring time, it would be an absolute joy in summer

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend at Buttslade House and we loved every minute! Diana was so friendly and wanted to make sure our stay was perfect. She even rang us in advance to warn us about the bad snow in the area and to make sure that we were equipped with wellies and walking boots! We stayed in the Garden room- a gorgeous, clean and bright room overlooking the beautiful gardens. We were welcomed with fresh tea/ coffee and recently baked cakes she then happily told us about the area and the best places to visit. The breakfast the following morning was delicious, with many options to suit whatever we fancied, offered at a time to suit us. We loved the whole weekend and were sad to leave. We will definitely be returning soon and recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Buttslade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttslade House

Address: Buttslade House Temple Mill Road, Sibford Gower OX15 5RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sibford Gower
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sibford Gower
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Buttslade House Sibford Gower, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing