We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing And Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Eland's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“So Relaxing And Great Food”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a month's touring holiday on the recommendation of my daughter who is not easily pleased !

Great location with lovely deserted beach walks - the rooms were of a high standard, but don't go expecting all the latest electronic gizmos - this is a total chill out destination.

The young Dutch chef and his girl friend waitress served up some stunning food - don' t know what happened re the earlier review of a poor NY buffet - I am used to eating in a very good standard of restaurant in Europe & SA .

I understand that they are leaving soon - I trust that the owner will find replacements as good.

It was very quiet when I was there, so can't really comment on standards when the pressure is on

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    43
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
110
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We only stayed for 1 night on our west cost road trip and wish that we could have stayed longer.

* lovely spacious, airy and clean rooms (we were in room 1). Comfy bed.
* stunning location - endless white sand and not a soul on the beach. lovely to see the wild seals just very sad that there were quite a few dead ones which is a result of them starving as the chinese are over-fishing the waters.
* great food - we had lunch, dinner and breakfast.One of the nicest breakfast buffets and the omlette was the best I have ever tasted. We had the seafood platter with crayfish and shared it, excellent value. The wine list is also very affordable with some nice local wines.
* the outdoor pool is heated and it a lovely place to relax
* the stars at night are spectacular
* friendly staff
* we are dog crazy so it was lovely to meet the manager's son's beautiful doggy.

We would definitely stay again and infact my father stayed in January and also raved about the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Affie in Aussie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

True: Marietjie a Gem, lovely location.
Rooms spacious and clean.
However, restaurant a throw back to the terrible 80's, and the New Years Eve Boufet definately not gourmet.
No bar snacks or fridge drinks in room, no WI FI or TV, so you better be a surfer.
Couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoodleAffieinAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Went away for a few days into a relatively unplanned trip and found this gem. Placed in the middle of nowhere along the Atlantic coast close to the wide and white ,clean sand dunes.
We spent three relaxing days on the beach and by the pool. The problematic WiFi and mobile connection gave you the opportunity to relax. Read 2 books .... and relaxed in the nice and carefully planned cottage with its own fireplace. The food is worth its own chapter. Very good with a wide choice from an ambitious menue.Marieijtie the caring lodge manager is said to be a good Chef ...but we arrived at the same time as new Chef Gerrie from Arnhem,and girlfriend Elona who served his talents. Good selection of wines ,friendly priced. The Annexkloof Boreaux Blend 2007 was so good that we went to the wineyard in Swartland to buy more just to find it was all sold to China.!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for come connectivity problems if you want to be online or reachable over the mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here on a special offer quick getaway for 2 night - and we're so glad we did. It's a really lovely place - comfortable, beautiful surroundings, lovely rooms. The outdoor swimming pool was lovely, and the setting spectacular. The beach is a very short walk away, and there's plenty to explore. The staff are just the right side of friendly and welcoming without being obtrusive - and the food is just fantastic. Really, really good food - for the quality, well priced. A real treat of a place to stay - we'll definitely be back. If it's in your price-range, go for it - this is a really lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicardave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after booking through one of those special offer sites. What a treat ! This is the perfect place to destress and unwind with a book and a large glass of red wine. Marietjie and her staff are friendly and obliging without ever being overly obtrusive or gushy.There is a beautiful white beach that runs for miles just beyond the sand dune at the bottom of the property. We were lucky enough to see lots of seals basking in the sunshine and frolicking in the water besides us as we strolled along the shore. There is a lovely solar-heated pool and comfortable loungers for the humans that wish to bask...The fishing-village style chalets are spacious with a large shower, separate toilet and a very comfortable king-size bed. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. But you must understand that this is not the place if you want to party or expect all mod-cons at your fingertips. Cellphone reception is a patchy and internet only available via dial-up. DSTV is available in the manor house, but there are no sets in the chalets. That though is the point of the exercise- just kick back and relax - the time you spend here will be added on to the end of your life !!!

Room Tip: They all seem fine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffordius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We went here for our honeymoon - well the start of our honeymoon - and it couldn't have been more perfect. So peaceful with just the sound of the sea, the other side of the dunes. 30km of beach to ourselves and a hamper lovingly made by Marietjie. She really spoilt us - her food is amazing. Whilst we had dinner, the fire was lit in our lodge - blissful. We felt relaxed and indulged. Can't wait to go back. Everyone was so nice - couldn't believe how perfect everything was. You decide when to eat and nothing is too much trouble. Bliss!

Room Tip: All the lodges are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker-Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Address: R27 between Veldrif and Elandsbaai, Eland's Bay 8110, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Eland's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eland's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Draaihoek Lodge is situated on the West Coast of South Africa with a unspoiled 5 km white sandy private beach. Draaihoek Lodge offers accommodation in 8 luxury suites, each fronting the scenic strand veld and dunes of the Atlantic Ocean. Furthermore we have the Manor House with its 3 luxuriously appointed bedrooms overlooking the vlei with its unique flora and bird life available. Whether you dine in The Restaurant, on the terrace or picnic overlooking the waves of the West Coast, you will savor the flavors of our mouth-watering classics and gourmet dishes prepared by the kitchen team. Fare from the kitchen will guide you through the flavors redolent of South Africa's cooking tradition and the West Coast surrounds - borrowing from the Cosmopolitan table to create a heart warming taste experience that endeavors to touch patrons' souls. All meals are served with quality wines selected from our cellar. Je seux qu'on se voix - come and join us. The private Nature Reserve reaches from the Atlantic ocean inland to Sandveld's mountain range and across to the Verlorenvlei, a RAMSAR classified site, south of Elands Bay. The coastal border of the Reserve stretches along an undisturbed sandy beach, hugged by rugged dunes and favoured by flocks of birds typical to the West Coast. The uninhabited bay area is frequented by whales, seals and playing Heaviside dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing