We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Eland's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This place is a real little hidden gem. There were a few other couples there when we visited for the weekend but it was still very quiet and relaxed.

A private beach is a short walk away from the lodges and I never saw one other person when we went for a walk.

The dinners at the restaurant we ok (we had the seafood platter) but the calamari was a bit tasteless and the fish was average. The traditional breakfast was delicious though with great coffee.

The staff were friendly and warm, going out of their way to make you feel at home - when we asked if the room had green tea, they made up a quick pack of teabags for us!

It was quite a drive from Cape Town but the drive is scenic and best taken slow.

Would I go back...definitely.

Room Tip: We had room #1 which was clean, close to the restaurant and quiet. The room furthest from room #1 di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lathspel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    42
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Draaihoek this past weekend. The first impression is that I was expecting more of a sea view (the lodge is behind the dunes) and that it would be more secluded (it is about 100m off the main road). The accommodation however was comfortable and clean, and the team willing to help. Michael is the chef and he is passionate about what he does. Be prepared to wait for your food as he is 'man alone' in the kitchen - but the result is well worth the wait. The food is well presented and delicious. The menu is a little limited (the same four meat dishes for both nights, and no vegetarian option) but good value. Breakfasts are a treat, with most foods on offer being home made.
The reserve itself is small - a few springbok and tortoises. Amazing birdlife though. The beach is endless and secluded - we walked for 2 hours and saw no other people. Whales, penguins, seals, dolphins for company. Beautiful.
Eland's Bay and Lambert's bay are +/- 45 minutes away (take the dirt 'toll road' between the two to save time) and are quant to visit. The gannet colony in Lambert's bay is unique and world famous.
All in all a relaxing weekend to recharge and reconnect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in paradise! If you want peace and quiet in a beautiful
setting surrounded by birds and other wildlife this is for you. We were spoilt rotten! Delicious breakfasts and gourmet dinners in a well run restaurant. Our room was clean and luxurious. A heated pool and beautiful private beach just a short walk from the lodge was a real treat. No TV but this didn't bother us as the huge bed and roaring fire was all we needed to lull us off to sleep listening to the roar of the sea nearby. Thanks to Marietjie and her team. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Don't come here if you can't live without TV before bed but we just watched our fire and drank wine instead :P such a relaxing weekend, not much else to do but walk on the beach and enjoy the sun and eat some amazing food!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkterblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My congratulations to Marietjie and her team, one of the best lodges we have visited in recent years. From the lovely chalets to the great food and service, we could not fault anything. The beach near to the lodge is deserted and one can walk for miles in safety.
They offer a good wine list and excellent food in the resruarant. Not for those who seek noise and action.

Room Tip: Any will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have spend two days at this lodge, and had the best times. The food and service excellent. Together with very clean, serviced daily, rooms and the fire going all day, it was heaven. But please, it is not for kids or young people that want entertainment. No tv's in the rooms but one in the lounge at the restaurant. Even the small towns closeby are really small, without shops. But worth the drive around. Will go back in the summer to enjoy the lovely pool and stretchy beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hettie and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights in April when the weather went from cool to dense fog to pouring rain. And it was cold. But that's not Draaihoeks fault. It also did not help that we were the only ones dining on both nights.
The Senior Citizens offer (Dinner BB) makes for good all round value.
The hotel really is in the middle of nowhere. Lovely grounds, we walked through the small game reserve and onto the long, deserted beach and were disappointed that the weather precluded us from sitting around the very nice pool area.
We stayed in Cottage 1. All rooms/cottages are 'semi's' but very private/quiet and spacoius. Nice sitting out areas and wonderful wood open fires. (we used ours on both afternoons/evenings) Logs top up for R 30. We were surprised by the amount of noise from the sea however, at night - through the thatched roof. Quite unexpected!
Bathroom, shower, cosmetics all OK. Toilet however was 'iffy'. Good bed and pillows. Safe and fridge in room. Excellent storage space.
The food was excellent We had the DBB deal and enjoyed everything we had including crayfish on our second night. The young staff were obviously inexperienced but were anxoius to please and they did. Our waitress had only been there a couple of weeks. Pricing for extras/drinks was fair.
Service/cooking times were really too long. Yes we are on holiday etc but..... It was all too fragmented. Not sure what was going to happen next - and when!
There was not the welcoming atmosphere that we are used to receiving from the vast majority of places we have stayed at in SA. (This was our fourth visit to SA from UK) which was disappointing.
I don't think we will stay again which given all the plus points is disappointing.
Our short visit to the nearby Elland's Bay was, and will certainly be our last. Probably the most unimpressive place we have been to.
I am not used to posting poor reviews and this has been difficult to try to get honestly accurate.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eland's Bay
23.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Chalets
Riviera Hotel & Chalets
#1 of 1 in Velddrif
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
23.8 mi away
Le Marina B&B
Le Marina B&B
#1 of 7 in Velddrif
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
22.6 mi away
Laaiplek Hotel
Laaiplek Hotel
#4 of 7 in Velddrif
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Address: R27 between Veldrif and Elandsbaai, Eland's Bay 8110, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Eland's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eland's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Draaihoek Lodge is situated on the West Coast of South Africa with a unspoiled 5 km white sandy private beach. Draaihoek Lodge offers accommodation in 8 luxury suites, each fronting the scenic strand veld and dunes of the Atlantic Ocean. Furthermore we have the Manor House with its 3 luxuriously appointed bedrooms overlooking the vlei with its unique flora and bird life available. Whether you dine in The Restaurant, on the terrace or picnic overlooking the waves of the West Coast, you will savor the flavors of our mouth-watering classics and gourmet dishes prepared by the kitchen team. Fare from the kitchen will guide you through the flavors redolent of South Africa's cooking tradition and the West Coast surrounds - borrowing from the Cosmopolitan table to create a heart warming taste experience that endeavors to touch patrons' souls. All meals are served with quality wines selected from our cellar. Je seux qu'on se voix - come and join us. The private Nature Reserve reaches from the Atlantic ocean inland to Sandveld's mountain range and across to the Verlorenvlei, a RAMSAR classified site, south of Elands Bay. The coastal border of the Reserve stretches along an undisturbed sandy beach, hugged by rugged dunes and favoured by flocks of birds typical to the West Coast. The uninhabited bay area is frequented by whales, seals and playing Heaviside dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing