We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice inn, accommodating hosts, lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge de la Gare
Ranked #6 of 19 Sainte-Adele B&B and Inns
New Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice inn, accommodating hosts, lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I and two friends stayed at this inn on the third night of a bicycle tour along the P'tit Train du Nord linear park from Mont-Laurier, Quebec to St-Jerome, Quebec. Our stay was part of a tour package booked through Cyclo-Gites Voyageurs B&B. We arrived in the middle of the afternoon after biking about 50 km from Mont-Tremblant. The inn is a short distance off the bike path, but there is a sign that marks a side path to it, so we had no trouble finding the inn. My French is very poor, but we had no trouble communicating with Linda, and Yvon speaks very good English. There was a securely locked garage in which to store our bicycling gear. Yvon serves an impressive selection of Belgian beers and ales and also some light appetizers and sandwiches on the patio, so we relaxed there with some beers and snacks after our ride.
Our room, was a bit spare and small with a full-sized bed, rather than a queen-sized bed, but it was very clean and comfortable.
Dinner was included in the tour package, but not served at the inn. Yvon drove us to a Greek restaurant in Ste-Adele, where we had an excellent and very enjoyable meal. Breakfast was served at the inn and was delightful and filling, choice of fruit and yogurt or a fritatta, croissants, etc.
I will definitely try to stay at L'Auberg de la Gare again the next time I ride this bike tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Two 10 year olds, two adults. Arrived exhausted after a day of biking. We were shown to a room with a queen bed and 1 cot. Not sure how that was going to work! Requested something else, and were initially brought a sleeping mat for the floor, but eventually they squeezed another cot into the room. Since most of the rooms were empty that night, and we had booked through a tour company months ago, I'm not sure why we needed to be so squished in. (Other b&b's along the way had given 2 rooms to our family)
Dinner was supposed to be at the Auberge, but we were informed that we were being driven into town for dinner instead. Which worked out, as dinner was great, and the restaurant called our "personal taxi" when we were done.
Breakfast was great, with an added option of french toast for the kids, in case they didn't like the other 2 options. They chose the yogurt, fruit and granola anyway, which was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed here 1 night while doing the Le Petit Train du Nord. Room was clean and comfortable. It's a Victorian older home thats been well rehab'ed and maintained. The host and hostess were warm, friendly. Dinner was about 3 KM away so book a dinner package if possibe. We'd definitly stay here again. There's a nice patio and you can get a bottle of beer or a glass of wine to unwind after the days ride. There is a TV and Pool Table in the basement that's fun if it's cold or wet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spent the first night of our bike trip at this Bed and Breakfast. The location is great if you're on the trail and the rooms are very quiet despite the location (we stayed at Ste Marquerite). The room was very comfortable and clean.

We were traveling with a toddler and the owners went out of their way to make us feel at home. They provided us with a pack and play and they made special meals for her at no extra charge.

Our meals were included in a package we bought for the trail. Dinner was plentiful and very tasty (the main dish was a meat fondue, we couldn't finish it). They prepared our lunch to go for the next day and it was all delicious!! If anything, I'd say the dinner was a bit too rich and heavy on the meat.

For me the highlight of the place were its owners, who were caring and attentive but never on the way. I absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This B&B is run by very caring people. The rooms are nice, the building old but well attended to. As the town is quite far away, we recommend a plan that includes dinner. We were served a very tasty soup, fondue chinoise and cakes with a hazelnut ice cream for dessert. Breakfast was very tasty as well. We had a continental serving with granola/fruit/yogurt and toast and also the potato with egg special. Both were excellent. Although we debated moving on ahead to St. Jerome because of the rain, it was well worth our stop. Just wish there was more to do nearby!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petuniaowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed at this charming auberge on the third night of our bicycling trip on Le P"tit Train du Nord. We arrived in the afternoon, and spent several hours sitting on the terrace sampling Belgian beers and drinking iced coffee, reading our books and talking with Michel, the very kind and personable owner who was very willing to converse with one of us in English and the other in French. He is originally from Belgium, and has a wide variety of Belgian beers at the cafe, as well as lots of other goodies, and shared his knowledge of the beers as one of us made selections. The auberge is extremely clean, very comfortable and beautifully decorated with antiques, it is very tasteful. We just loved staying here. His auberge is part of the Cyclo-Gites package we arranged where all we had to do was ride from inn to inn and our bags were waiting when we got there. The breakfast here was delicious, and perfect for our day's adventures.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lac38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
3.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.3 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.0 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
#5 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Auberge Le Voyageur
Auberge Le Voyageur
#4 of 21 in Mont Tremblant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.6 mi away
Au Clos Rolland, Couette & Cafe
Au Clos Rolland, Couette & Cafe
#3 of 19 in Sainte-Adele
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.5 mi away
Le Clair Matin
Le Clair Matin
#7 of 19 in Sainte-Adele
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Gare

Property: Auberge de la Gare
Address: 1694, chemin Pierre Peladeau, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful region of Sainte-Adele, in the Laurentians, Auberge de la Gare is an ancestral home built in 1891 along the Petit Train du Nord railway. At the time, this hotel served the station of Sainte-Marguerite-Station. Today, it serves as a relay for cyclists and cross-country skiers who come to practice their favorite sports throughout the year on the linear park Le P'tit Train du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Gare Sainte-Adele, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing