We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming lodge and site that needs major renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Chantecler
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charming lodge and site that needs major renovations”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The kids will love it but everything is downhill once you leave the lobby area. The lodge is built on the side of mountain looking over a lake and is very picturesque from the outside but likely hasn't been renovated since the 80's. Everything needs to be stripped and redone. Its fine for a last minute one-nighter after a day on the slopes at 99$ but I wouldn't pay more and wouldn't stay longer. And the chair-lift from the hotel to the ski resort hasn't worked in years so you must take a 10 minute shuttle bus! Unacceptable.The pool is likely clean but is so old it looks like a toilet. The bar is decent and the restaurant overlooking the lake is nice but short-staffed likely due to lack of revenue. The walls are paper-thin so ask for the quietest rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    107
    172
    130
    89
See reviews for
181
246
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rawdon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

definitely not a four star, completely outdated. Still has charm but needs a complete renovation very quickly. I could not believe a four star without flat screen, we had a small old tv in the room. The spa was half working, which means 3 out of 6 jets were not functional.The staff was very nice. The beds need to be change, too old, not comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel1975Rawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Recently our company decided based upon my suggestion to have our annual Christmas party at the hotel. The food & service was excellent as good as any 5 star hotels in Vegas. We were approx. 250 in attendance; most attendees even booked a room. The general manager was very accommodating with special rates. The General Manager even went above and beyond as many people only decided to book a room last minute. The general manger must have been a magician as the hotel was very busy with multiple Christmas parties… All I can say is if you’re looking for a nice place for an event you should definitely consider this property. The nice touch was the hands on service offered by the hotel General manager…

Room Tip: your should always try to upgrade your room the suites are awesome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

That's what I think of first was that my daughter and I felt a claustrophobic in the room. Guess you could upgrade to better rooms. It looked like an older style hotel which is nice. Quiet and quaint. Enjoyed the breakfast room which overlooked a nice lake with homes around it. Was all snowy and beautiful. They happened to have a company selling leather coats in one of the ocnference rooms and they were of a good quality and decent price, so I bought her one and she bought herself one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

this place has really small rooms my wife and i went to visit with some family and we got a room for 4 people and the rooms were soo bad first of all if you`re anything taller than 5.5 you`re gonna have a bad time! you`ll have to be walking with your head tilted sideways but it`s not that bad considering you only have 3 feet from the bed to the desk and 13 feet for the width of the room the washroom is soo small you sit on the toilet and you can open the door you literaly walk in turn on yourself and sit it`s a stand up shower there no tub. we were so outraged with the price it was 175$ and it was so we changed rooms to a SWEET hoping it would be better lol no it wasnt it was still so very bad and our view was the trees in the back of the forest so bad so very very bad. but if you go there for the history then itll be worth you`re while o and the beds are singles which makes no sense for a room of 4 with 2 single beds

Room Tip: the rooms are single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maninyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sainte-Adele hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We got a deal on Jaunt that included a day of skiing at their ski hill and a night at the hotel. When booking, the man from the Gouverneur chain booking centre kept kept telling me I had to pay extra to book a weekend room when the trip I bought was for a weekend (and it was clearly spelled out in the purchase invoice). In the end, I didn't have to pay extra, but if someone didn't hold firm, I think they might have been persuaded to pay the money.

The hotel was nice on the outside but not so nice inside. The front desk clerk was very nice. We had to walk really far to our room through a parking garage. The room was ok. We had a view of the lake. We enjoyed skating around it though the ice was rough (it's a public skating rink so no fault of the hotel). We didn't really use any of the facilities as the dining didn't interest us. The place needs a serious renovation to update and freshen it. I would have been very upset if I had paid more than I did for my package. I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rumyqtpi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed there for a short getaway and was sorely disappointed with the hotel. Old, decrepit, poor quality amenities and the room was as basic as it gets. Its only redeeming quality is the setting and panoramic view of the lake. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone and have no plans to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadege10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
198 reviews
8.3 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
765 reviews
4.1 mi away
Manoir Saint-Sauveur
Manoir Saint-Sauveur
#1 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
153 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
154 reviews
8.8 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chantecler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantecler

Property: Hotel Le Chantecler
Address: 1474 Chemin Chantecler | Autoroute 15 nord, exit 67, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Chantecler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Le Chantecler is one of the most beautiful holiday resorts in all of the picturesque Laurentian mountains north of Montreal. Whether you're there to admire Lac Rond, the mountains or the garden, every Chantecler guest is assured of an exceptional view. You'll have access to all the amenities you need to relax and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Chantecler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantecler Hotel
Le Chantecler Sainte Adele
Hotel Le Chantecler Sainte-Adele, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing