We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the dirtiest i've stayed in..”
Review of Motel Chantolac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel Chantolac
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the dirtiest i've stayed in..”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

During a recent visit to St Sauveur our favorite Motel 60 was booked so we looked around for an alternative, Chantolac was the last place which had a room available so we had no choice but to accept staying there.

This place is NOT clean, there were spider webs everywhere along with dirty windows and stinky carpets. Overpriced for what it's worth, even the swimming pool which was supposed to be heated was cold. I would never go back to this place even if you paid me even if the staff was ok.

Room Tip: Go with Motel 60, same room but much cleaner, swimming pool heated and pleasent / clean to swim in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamyBoy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The rooms are SUPER clean, everything is in like-new condition. A hundred yards to the beach. The stuff is very friendly and Linda, the owner, was happy to share her knowledge of the area and give us discount cupons to many tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband has family in the Laurentians so a few times per year we travel North from Indianapolis to visit, each time it is a crapshoot to find a good hotel. The Chantolac advertised romantic rooms with a big jacuzzi tub, and for once the discription fit. The staff is amazing, Linda treated us like family. The room is quiet, the jacuzzi is great (especially after a 16 hour drive to get here from Indianapolis!). Linda pointed us to all the good restaurants, many of which are within walking distance. Ste-Adele as a whole was great, with each passing year my husband and I worry about travelling to Quebec due to my very limited French. The Chantolac has a billingual staff and an attitude that makes you forget the miles spent to get here, Best trip to Quebec in a long time, Thanks in large part to Linda at the Chantolac and the lovely Ste-Adele region.

Room Tip: The romantic suites live up to the hype.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiderata90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights (booked "Queen Size Bed and Whirlpool"); originally we had booked 3 nights, but my wife couldn't stay the 3rd due to a change of shifts at work.

Upon arrival and explaining the situation, the lady was very helpful and cancelling the 3rd night's stay was no problem as long as I called Booking.com to inform them about it so the owners would get 1 day commission back.

Very pleased with this, as they are under no obligation to do this, although of course it was high season.

The rooms are traditional in terms of decor. Colour TV, telephone with free local calls, desk with chair and light, electric fireplace, sofa and table etc. Nice size too.

The whirlpool in the bathroom didn't seem to work very impressively, so we used the shower instead. Also there was the strange thing with the light switch by the door seemed to operate the socket that powers the bedside alarm clock!

Anyone who uses Wi-Fi internet should note that it was too intermittent for voice calls, although we managed to use it successfully for browsing and e-mails (with occasional disconnection).

These were only minor issues, it was a very cosy place to stay and we did feel very comfortable.

Breakfast is served in reception, help yourselves and take it to the rooms, it was very nice fare indeed.

All in all I will say that the owners are very friendly, helpful and it's a nice stay. Price a little higher than a similar hotel elsewhere, but you're paying for the location, and it was certainly a nice little town to stay in.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

For the price, the motel is clean and nice to stay at. The owners are really really pleasant and go out of their way to accomodate you. They even offer discounts if you plan to do activities around the area. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Upper floor if possible, this way you don't hear the people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel. My boyfriend and I are university students, we went up to Sainte-Adèle on the bus from Montréal for a short weekend away... knowing we were on a tight budget and didn't have a car, the hotel owner went out of her way to try and get us discounts at neighbourhood places. Her husband even drove us to the bowling alley in his personal car to show us where it was. Liked the free breakfast, microwave and fridge in room, cable TV and free WIFI, all fantastic amenities and good for budget travelers. Rooms are simple and clean, location feels private as it is off the main road, yet very close to downtown Sainte-Adèle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dsg514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Mostly good location,good reception from the owners.
Getting a bit run down but like others said nothing to wrong for that money.
By the way,the pool is a great asset at the end of your travel.
They offer a continental breakfast just enough to get you going,
well appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
#5 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Chantecler
Hotel Le Chantecler
#7 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
555 reviews
2.1 mi away
Motel Panoramik
Motel Panoramik
#8 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
39 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Gabriel
Hotel Mont Gabriel
#3 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Chantolac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Chantolac

Property: Motel Chantolac
Address: 156 Rue Morin, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 2P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Chantolac 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel Chantolac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Chantolac Sainte-Adele, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing