We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and thats about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Room and hotel in general is clean. Which is important.
But nothing much else to offer. Rooms are bland, wifi works most of the time, 2 trips ago, I had to work in the lobby, as the router near my room didnt work.
Cannot find an extra wall socket to save your life... which is difficult if you want to charge something.

Heater was on the whole time, it seemed out of control, luckily it wasn't too warm, my colleague in another room couldnt get his room below 80F.

If you arrive after 11pm, the keys will be put in a box for you with instructions taped to the front door. Yes, reception area is locked down after 11pm, so if you need something, good luck.

Breakfast is pretty decent, quite a few choices. I have had dinner here once, again decent, but nothing to brag about.

Location is nice, right on the lake. Other than that, just another room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are nice. But if you open the patio door, the ac system shuts down, a power c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had a very short business trip in late january 2012 in magog, i was in a lake facing room with a jacuzzi. the hotel is clean and nice the Wi-Fi is very fast and effortless to connect into. the view form the lake in fantastic

The restaurant is nice and i guess i was the only diner there the hour i spent there.

The hotel Spa's Jacuzzi is away from the main building, so i did not understand how a person is suppose to take a bath in the main building then wear his boot, brave the snow and ice and then reach the Jacuzzi outside.

every thing else is very nice.

Room Tip: I Had a room which was lake front, that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way back to USA. Fab service. Room was gorgeous -directly overlooking lake with amazing sunset. Jacuzzi and sauna thrown in. Delighted.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahDKHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Stayed one night on our way home to Ontario from Cape Breton. After a long drive we needed a good nights sleep! On the plus, our room had a small balcony and overlooked the lake... we had a wonderful view. However, it was a "regular" room (which we were told costs $150 in high season?????) The bathroom was very small and the toilet handle was situated in a way that anyone with a large hand would never be able to flush!
The bed was the worst that we have ever experienced in any of our travels... at one point I tried the couch which was no better. The floor might have been good if I trusted the rug.
The breakfast in the morning was amazing as were the bistro staff. Other than that, not much to redeem the place. It definitely needs an overhaul with paint, new bathroom fixtures and most of all new mattresses!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnacherToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This is the hotel to stay at in Magog if you simply must have a wonderful lake view and you want to walk out your patio doors onto the lake. The regular rooms are better than the deluxe rooms because they have been updated. The hotel includes an outdoor hottub and restaurant and has bicycles available for rent (its adjacent to a wonderful paved trail along the lake). The front desk service was very good. No complaints about the restaurant. The price is a little high for what is offered but we loved waking up in the morning to that great lake view. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the restaurants in Magog.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Not a disaster, but a few problems with this place. First, the good. The restaurant was good and had yummy maple syrup pie. The view is beautiful, and the service was nice. The room was clean.

The problems: I had to switch to a different night and had originally booked a "regular room." They told me for my new night that there were no regular rooms available but that they could book me in a "condo" for the same price. I don't know if "condo" means something different in French Canada, but a tiny room with only a murphy bed was not what I had expected. The bed was not very comfortable, and took up the whole room when opened. The town of Magog was not quite in walking distance -- it would be a pretty long walk to get there.

For a hotel that presents itself to be something of a luxury hotel, the average Days Inn has nicer rooms. Ultimately it wasn't really worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Arilisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

we went to Magog and stayed at l'Auberge L'étoile sur le Lac and had a wonderful time.The rooms has just been refurnished , it is clean and inviting,the bed were very confortable.
the food was excellent ,I had tuna fish ,It was very tasty and my husband had a steak done exactly the way he likes it,The personnal were very nice.The site is exclusive, right on the Lac Memphreymagog.After dinner we went for a walk all the way to downtown.The next day we took our bikes and visited the country,very nice trails.
All together we had a wonderful stay at the Auberge L'Étoile sur le Lac and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magog hotels
3.4 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
291 reviews
2.4 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Grand Lac
Auberge du Grand Lac
#6 of 18 in Magog
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
255 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condo Hotel Lion d'Or
Condo Hotel Lion d'Or
#15 of 18 in Magog
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac

Address: 1200, rue Princpale Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 2B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price Range: £76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Magog, at one hour from Montreal, on the shore of Memphrémagog lake, the cordial ambiance of the Inn and Spa and the superb cuisine of l'Ancrage Restaurant combine to make Hotel & Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac one of the most outstanding venues in the region. À Magog, à une heure de Montréal, sur les rives du lac Memphrémagog, l'accueil chaleureux de l'hôtel et du spa et la gastronomie du restaurant L'Ancrage, font de l'Hôtel $ Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac un endroit unique dans la région. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac
Hotel & Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac Magog, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing