We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque(Gananoque)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Gananoque)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
236
200
60
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
200
60
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatermark restaurantwaterfront roommuskie jakesbreakfast was includedhoneymoon suitelawrence riverthe pubfireplace roommuskoka chairsriver viewprime ribmain buildingoverlooking the watertour boatsno elevatoroff seasonthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

If you are looking for a nice 2-3 day getaway, the Gananoque Inn is a great choice. It is within walking distance of the Thousand Islands theatre which is right on the St. Lawrence River and the show we saw was first rate. We paid $35 per ticket which was well worth it. It is also a short walk to the Gananoque Cruise Lines where you can take a 1 hour, 2.5 hour or 5 hour cruise. The cruise for one hour was $20. I have to say the best part of the trip was the breakfast at the Inn. Eggs Benny were perfect. The room was pricey ($239) but we had a waterfront room with breakfast included.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parbogiepar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay over the Labour Day weekend. Although I have never before written a review on trip advisor, I felt that it was important to acknowledge all of the hard working staff at the Gananoque Inn! From the moment we arrived, everyone could not have been more helpful, from arranging theatre tickets to organizing bagged lunches for a restricted diet, and much more. A special shout out to Lucy and Debbie at the reception desk for their patience and understanding! Their willingness to accomodate all requests was appreciated so much. I watched both of them handle everyone at the front desk, on an extremely busy holiday weekend, with the same good nature and patience no matter the issue.

We had a lovely, spotlessly clean, comfortable room in the Annex and would definitely request it on a return visit (hopefully to see the Fall colours in October). We ate almost all of our meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, at the Inn and found the food to be delicious and the views from the patio or sitting inside by the window just spectacular.

Thanks again and we look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you for your review. Our staff members were delight to hear that their dedication to this historic inn is appreciated. We so glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here two nights mid week at the end of August with our eighteen year old son in a waterfront room. The room size was big enough for three people and kept very clean. The view was nice and had a door from the parking lot and another to the lawns overlooking the water with two muskoka chairs out front the door. Actual wine glasses were provided which was a nice touch, many guests mingled outside with theirs late afternoon. Parking spots for these rooms were assigned so yours was right behind the room. One complaint that I would have is there was a locked door to an adjoining room and noise could carry between the two. Most of the guests were older couples, there were no facilities geared toward children, pools etc. The Inn was ideally located, once we parked our car we did not move it, you could walk to the tour boats, into town, the theatre...

We had dinner the first night at the Maple Leaf Restaurant, rated #1 in Gananoque on this site and were disappointed. We have been to the Czech Republic so knew beforehand what types of food to expect. It wasn't bad, food and service were good, it just didn't deserve a number one rating in our view. The second night we ate at the Inn, the food and service were both great, we enjoyed it more than the first night. We ate late so getting a table was not a problem without a reservation. If you were going to the theatre, I think reservations were a must. Breakfast was included in our room price and was good also .

This is a nice spot for a one or two day getaway and I would recommend to anyone looking for a short break away.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank wanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We only stayed for one night in the Inn and this was a fantastic decision to divide the journey between Ottawa and Toronto just to see something different. Our room was well appointed, clean and very comfortable, I slept very well indeed, we even had a water view. We came on public transport which is kind of haphazard since the via rail station is very far away from town but a kindly soul gave us a lift in. The staff at the inn were helpful and friendly at all time and the restaurant was good, perhaps not great, but certainly worth an effort. I would recommend this hotel for people wishing to come and explore the thousand islands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCAMompos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Clean, quiet, excellent service, great view. Vegan dinner was ordered prior to arrival, am sure they could do it at a moments notice, it was equal to any big city Vegan food. It was simply outstanding and made our stay there exceptional. Relatively new room, motel style, along the water, a motel/hotel feel that is detached from the Inn. Parking for these rooms was near our room and they give you your own spot with your room number painted on it. Breakfast was a different story, service continued to be excellent and the view from the dining room/terrace makes it special, however it's basic fare, bland and boring. If you enjoy your breakfasts more than the convenience and the view, and want to eat something that has taste, suggest you go into town and purchase a greasy spoon special or find a place that offers something creative. If you want to swim, you'd better be an open water swimmer and bring your wetsuit, or go west along the the waterfront to the lovely little town beach.

Room Tip: Room we stayed in, on the water was huge.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogarunner59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews