We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“lovely as always”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We recently went back to celebrate our anniversary at this lovely hotel where we got married in May 2012. The hotel is charming and lovely, wonderfully accomodating. We were pleased and surprised to see a bottle of champagne and note congratulating us our one year anniversary when we arrived to our room. It is these little and thoughtful touches that make this hotel such a memorable place for us. Thanks gan inn!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank niffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary! We were delighted to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    168
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
88
269
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We just returned from this great Inn and Spa!
Our rooms were 104 and 105 and how could anyone not be smitten for life with the view?
Our rooms are lined up on the water with muskoka chairs under the overhang with little tables in between for glasses of wine or whatever.
For us it was particularly idyllic as we have two young sons who were thrilled to roar around on the grass between our room and the water while we lounged happily in our muskoka chairs and watched them for safety!

The rooms were well equipped save for a fridge which would have been helpful with keeping the white wine cold but we can roll with the punches - we have two young boys!
The beds were very comfortable but our only real complaint was the pillows were a mess. Next time - there WILL be a next time - we will bring our own.
T.V great; the provided us with an extra rollaway bed to keep the kids from pulvarizing each other at night...no extra cost. Breakfast was included and this means full service breakfast ordered from a menu including cappucino!!
Our rooms were updated and housekeeping made magic happen while we were away. The staff was consistently friendly professional and helpfu. We are thrilled that we made this choice and are happy to answer any questions anyone has! But in case you didn't get the message we FULLY RECOMMEND this Hotel!

Room Tip: We loved our rooms that were down in the new building ON the water with stunning views and great ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed there for 1 night with the family... beautiful place on the waterfront and st. Lawrence... loved the fireplace in the room. Rooms were spacious and neat.
Food at restaurant wasn't great though.. and not too many options around the area..
Gananoque is a quite place but then again our trip was in May so summer is the busy season.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will have a chance for a return visit to Gananoque during the summer season. The community has some outstanding family events planned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I Looooooove this Inn - have been a regular guest for 20 years and love going back to enjoy the ambiance, the fine meals, the wonderful waterfront view - and to say hello yet again to the staff at the Inn who make you feel very special and welcomed

Room Tip: ask for a waterfront view - the St Lawrence River is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so please that you think of us as "home away from home". A compliment indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Well established inn with lots of history. Waterside on the St. Lawrence. Perfect for Canadian Thousand Islands visit. Wonderful package which included dinner and breakfast. Dinner food was exceptional. Breakfast good but average good! Dinner was the real winner. Don't miss their French Onion Soup. Beef was perfect. Tour boats of the Thousand Islands are a short walk away.

Room Tip: There are waterfront rooms and rooms with fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olflx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Gananoque Inn and Spa. Your comments are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband planned a beautiful weekend spa getaway to celebrate my birthday, just to get away relax and enjoy each other.

As we arrive, we came to the reception and she greeted us very well and told us all we needed to know about the Inn and were to go for the spa and dinner, so far so good....

We got to our room to relax a bit before our spa treatment, our room was lovely with a comfortable king size bed and a jacuzzi .....then the noise began ....they had booked a bunch of teenagers beside us who were there for a tournament ...really teenagers beside a couple that was there to relax....I was so disappointed,

We went for our couples massage spa treatment absolutely heavenly.....would so do that again ...the girls were wonderful...after being completely relaxed went back to our room to relax some more in the jacuzzi only to have the boys next door completely wreck the mood with all the banging, talking loud and horsing around, in front our room near the pond.

Time for supper, the meal was rather nice and tasty, the portion were a little small but delicious. The service was good, but we were later in the evening so the dinner crowd was gone.

The evening was nice as we go back to our room, bang bang, yelling and the teenager were back at it....finally they stopped fooling around and it was finally quiet for bed....spoke too soon 5 am wake up call from up stairs and beside us taking showers, I am assuming they may have had a early game....but it woke us from our sleep

Breakfast was delicious....time to check out....

it was a beautiful morning and I wanted to take some nice pictures of the grounds in the back to find all the boys playing soccer and all their hockey stuff draped over the railing of the second floor not a good impression for those who are there...looks very bad

Needless to say the Inn was wonderful, just not impressed that my relaxing birthday present that I paid over $400 for was ruined by teenagers....the Inn should be more careful where you place clients ....relaxing couple should not be beside teenagers.....and I was very surprised that you would let them run around carefree gives you a bad reputation....

I would return to the spa but after this experience I may not go back to the Inn, not very relaxing at all for the huge amount of money I wasted, the mood was completely ruined....I was expecting relaxing couples, not teenagers at an Inn with a spa....

Room Tip: 507 was great but just be careful who is booked beside you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara5526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed much of your visit. The organizer of the group you encountered did not tell us prior to arrival that we should expect a hockey team. Throughout the year we accept many groups such as weddings, reunions and conferences. Advance notice allows us to allocate rooms accordingly. We did not have that luxury last weekend but we did our best to keep all of our guests happy, including the young hockey players and their parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited the first weekend in April and our room was outside the inn right on the waterfront. Initially I I was not impressed with the exterior appearance of the outdoor rooms, however, once inside the room was very pretty and comfortable, with coffemaker and quality toiletries, and the garden doors opened up to a patio directly on the waterfront. The waterfront view was beautiful, lovely lamp posts lit up at night and the ferry boats were docked across the bay. Also, there was a designated parking spot for each room directly outside the door making loading and unloading the car very convenient. At check-in time the front desk was laden with home-baked, delicious cookies for the taking and the complimentary breakfast the next morning in the Watermark Restaurant was excellent. Our room was next door to the Stone Water Pub. It was fun to leave the room and just walk up the driveway to the charming pub.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieSnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We love the view from that room too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing