We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Price, Nice Location, Great View, Good Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were there for our wedding anniversary. We booked a room with Jacuzzi. The room was clean and the Jacuzzi was a good size. The bathroom came with nice toiletries. They even provided bath robes. Our room faced the river, however, the window was on the same side at the door, and there were other people walking outside, so we felt uncomfortable to have the curtain open to enjoy the fantastic view.

I booked a Sunday special with free breakfast. The breakfast was amazing. We were sitting outside on the patio facing the river, and it was super wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your very nice review. Breakfast on the patio is pretty special on a warm morning! We do have some Jacuzzi suites with private balconies which are more secluded. Maybe next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room 303, had a great view, gas fireplace, the bed was very comfortable.We would have preferred a room with a balcony but there wasn't any available and as it turns out the weather was cold so we wouldn't have used it.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We ate all our meals at the Inn and everything was delicious. There are two outside patios in the 2 restaurants, facing the water which would be lovely area to sit if the weather is warm,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 659Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the inn. We are fortunate to have such dedicated staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here on the Victoria Day long weekend, we actually are lucky to get the last two rooms available. Stayed under the Spring Romance package, which for $225 for a standard room included breakfast, a three course dinner, champagne and chocolates. I thought it was a great value, and the restaurant onsite had a patio with a great view. The staff was all really friendly, they even let us borrow bikes for free at 9pm to tour around the waterfront a bit. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starbuck23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your reveiw and recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We recently went back to celebrate our anniversary at this lovely hotel where we got married in May 2012. The hotel is charming and lovely, wonderfully accomodating. We were pleased and surprised to see a bottle of champagne and note congratulating us our one year anniversary when we arrived to our room. It is these little and thoughtful touches that make this hotel such a memorable place for us. Thanks gan inn!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank niffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Congratulations on your anniversary! We were delighted to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We just returned from this great Inn and Spa!
Our rooms were 104 and 105 and how could anyone not be smitten for life with the view?
Our rooms are lined up on the water with muskoka chairs under the overhang with little tables in between for glasses of wine or whatever.
For us it was particularly idyllic as we have two young sons who were thrilled to roar around on the grass between our room and the water while we lounged happily in our muskoka chairs and watched them for safety!

The rooms were well equipped save for a fridge which would have been helpful with keeping the white wine cold but we can roll with the punches - we have two young boys!
The beds were very comfortable but our only real complaint was the pillows were a mess. Next time - there WILL be a next time - we will bring our own.
T.V great; the provided us with an extra rollaway bed to keep the kids from pulvarizing each other at night...no extra cost. Breakfast was included and this means full service breakfast ordered from a menu including cappucino!!
Our rooms were updated and housekeeping made magic happen while we were away. The staff was consistently friendly professional and helpfu. We are thrilled that we made this choice and are happy to answer any questions anyone has! But in case you didn't get the message we FULLY RECOMMEND this Hotel!

Room Tip: We loved our rooms that were down in the new building ON the water with stunning views and great ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caribheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed there for 1 night with the family... beautiful place on the waterfront and st. Lawrence... loved the fireplace in the room. Rooms were spacious and neat.
Food at restaurant wasn't great though.. and not too many options around the area..
Gananoque is a quite place but then again our trip was in May so summer is the busy season.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you will have a chance for a return visit to Gananoque during the summer season. The community has some outstanding family events planned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I Looooooove this Inn - have been a regular guest for 20 years and love going back to enjoy the ambiance, the fine meals, the wonderful waterfront view - and to say hello yet again to the staff at the Inn who make you feel very special and welcomed

Room Tip: ask for a waterfront view - the St Lawrence River is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so please that you think of us as "home away from home". A compliment indeed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Gananoque
246 reviews
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing