We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace & Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Staff fantastic & very helpful
Two eating areas-Main Dining Room
Casual Eating Area
The food is fantastic
You can even sit out on the deck for the meals
Watched the boats going by while just sitting and relaxing in front of our room

Room Tip: Take the rooms-on the front beach area Peaceful and so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks you for commenting on your visit. We are so glad you mention the food. Chef Ryan and his crew make casual dining special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    167
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
87
267
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was our first stay at the Gananoque Inn and Spa & I am sure that at some point we will return. It was a milestone weekend, a celebration of my birthday & dh wanted this to be a special event. We chose the "Two Night Entertainment Package", which included 2 nights stay at the Inn, with dinner on Friday & Saturday nights & breakfast on Saturday & Sunday morning; Plus 2 tickets for the 1000 Islands Playhouse Theatre & 2 tickets for the 2.5hour boat cruise through the 1000 Islands.

We arrived on the Friday afternoon to find that our room was ready...located in the Annex and known as "The Prime Ministers Suite" ...a huge room with a stone fireplace, Kingsize bed, comfortable couch & chairs, a separate bathroom with double sinks, jacuzzi tub, shower stall & makeup table. Access was available to the balcony & we had a beautiful view of the St. Lawrence River & the harbour area for the cruise boats. It was so restful to be able to sit and watch the boats & the water.

The menu selections for the Watermark Restaurant was varied & our choices were simply delicious. We each chose a different appetizer & then proceeded to share with each other, that way we could make an honest opinion. Our favourite appetizer was Chef Romeo's Clam Chowder...the best that we've had any where ! The entrees were cooked to perfection & the dessert was sinfully wicked.

We give high praise to those at the Reception Desk, the waitresses in the dining room & the cleaning staff ...a group of people who truly love their work environment.

Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. Your was the experience we try to provide for all of our guests. We truly do have wonderful staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were in need of a quiet get-away and headed to Gananoque.
We ended up staying the the Gananoque Inn. Beautiful setting. Nice bar. Nice restaurant with a balcony over looking the water. Our room was quaint and clean. The bed was not comfortable and that would be my only negative remarkd

Room Tip: ask for a water view room. It is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't sleep well. Mattress comfort is so very personal but we have guests order those mattress for their home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

we've stayed here a few times but not for many years. the setting is outstanding at the edge of gananogue harbor, gateway to the thousand islands at the eastern end of lake ontario on the st. lawrence river. we arrived in time to enjoy a glass of wine in front of our immaculate, waterside room. it was a lovely spring evening and we felt lucky to be there. this is a charming hotel/resort in a charming, picturesque place. i'm sure if one were to visit during crummy weather or during a busier time it might not be as great as it was for us. service was attentive, food good and a great value over-all.

Room Tip: i would recommend the waterside rooms (but haven't seen others). we were in 106 which was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We do our very best to make stays in crummy weather or the busy season positive experiences too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn in May and seeing as we were travelling with our friends we chose the Calverly Cottage annexe on the other side of the road to the Inn. It was charming with its own porch and rocking chairs, a sitting room and a veranda at the back! The bathroom had a spacious jacuzzi bath and plenty of towels and robes. Seeing as we had taken the spring romance package a bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us in our rooms as well as chocolates. Our evening meal and the breakfast was also included which means that it was very good value!
The main dining room was not yet open but we could have the same menus in the other dining section which overlooks the lake. We were pleasantly surprised with the food which was beautifully cooked and well presented. Service friendly and efficient.
The Inn is well situated on the lake and has water all around it almost! The village is pretty and its just a short walk,to,the ferry to visit the 1000 islands! We can definitely recommend the Inn and were just sad that we had only booked a one night stay!

Room Tip: If you are travelling as two couples or with your family the annex is ideal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoegirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so please that you found our community and The Gananoque Inn and Spa during your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were there for our wedding anniversary. We booked a room with Jacuzzi. The room was clean and the Jacuzzi was a good size. The bathroom came with nice toiletries. They even provided bath robes. Our room faced the river, however, the window was on the same side at the door, and there were other people walking outside, so we felt uncomfortable to have the curtain open to enjoy the fantastic view.

I booked a Sunday special with free breakfast. The breakfast was amazing. We were sitting outside on the patio facing the river, and it was super wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your very nice review. Breakfast on the patio is pretty special on a warm morning! We do have some Jacuzzi suites with private balconies which are more secluded. Maybe next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in room 303, had a great view, gas fireplace, the bed was very comfortable.We would have preferred a room with a balcony but there wasn't any available and as it turns out the weather was cold so we wouldn't have used it.
The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We ate all our meals at the Inn and everything was delicious. There are two outside patios in the 2 restaurants, facing the water which would be lovely area to sit if the weather is warm,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 659Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the inn. We are fortunate to have such dedicated staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing