We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stopped here for dinner late one Sunday evening on way home from Windsor. This was a last minute plan, and we were very happy to see the special was a prime rib dinner.
After being seated the young lady serving informed us she thought they had run out of the special. After giving us their menus she offered to check with the kitchen, and went out of her way to find us the last bits - and boy did we end out having a great dinner!
The ambiance was lovely, and the staff were super. They really went out of their way that evening, just what we needed on the long drive back to Ottawa. The Inn itself is so quaint. We are definately planning another trip back to stay at this Inn soon.
I recommend this place for thier Sunday evening prime rib meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review. Sunday prime rib dinner has a long tradition here! We're so glad you found us and hope you might someday have the opportunity to enjoy some of the inn's other amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beautiful location, good restaurant right in hotel. We did not have reservation and they were able to accommodate our family of 4. Rooms are small but comfortable. Nice area to walk around. Best hotel in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to warming weather and another beautiful summer here in the 1000 Islands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a fun 2-night stay at the inn. When we arrived they erroneously had us down for only one night, so we went up to our room while they checked to see what they could do. They called us back and said that we could stay in our room the next night or move to a "suite" - which the receptionist highly recommended so we chose that option. The next day they moved our bags while we were out and we ended up in a house next door with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a 12-seat dining table, living room, fireplace, etc. Felt like we were royalty for a night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for you kind review.I am happy that were were able to accommodate you in Cedar Knoll. Your suite is a favourite of many of our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We paid Can$ 225.00 for a river-view-waterfront motel-like room (parking by the front door- double entrance/exit). The room was ok and appropriately furnished and we had a good rest until early in the morning when we were woken up by children running -and screaming- along our front door. We picked this location, as opposed to the main building because of the convenience (and security) of parking on site. Other accommodations have to park across the street. The entire property, although nicely kept in the exterior, shows signs of wear and tear everywhere else. We were well received at the restaurant and were given the option to chose seating in any of the restaurants although we arrived for a late dinner. The food was unremarkable but the service was attentive.
The location of this facility could not be better for enjoying the local attractions and it is walking distance to the marina and "downtown", however, although we acknowledge that this is an "historical" property, this facility needs a good shake up to match the lodging experience with the price paid. Definitely it is not the "finnest" inn that we have been to.

Room Tip: Because there are a few choices, make sure that you ask the right questions when booking to ensure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eneri-ila44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review. A stormy, waterfront winter takes it's toll on our buildings. We look forward to our annual spring maintenance and the planting of our gardens. The weather can't change soon enough! Come and see us in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked an overnight in the Inn to break up our journey. We booked the cheapest room, as we have done in the past. Even the cheap room is great for one night. It happened that our journey coincided with a major ice storm. It took us twice as long as normal to reach Gananoque. We checked in to discover we had been upgraded to a room with a fireplace. This was done because they had lost power the previous night and wanted to make sure we had heat. We used the fireplace even though we did not lose power. We also had an excellent dinner and breakfast.
Their customer first attitude will make us come back again and again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We have wonderful staff members and appreciate your comments about the care they provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed two nights in the Caverley Cottage with another couple. It's across the street from the Inn . It's nice and private, quiet with parking right there at your door almost. Has a double communicating door between the two suites (so quite soundproof) so it's perfect for a family or two couples. In 601 was the larger and more expensive one with a sitting area which has a sofa bed, two chairs and coffee table, that's where the not so great fireplace is. Suites were very clean, staff were very helpful,efficient and friendly. Lobby of Inn has a lovely fireplace, and is inviting but the ones in the rooms are old and tired and are electric with lights, not gas. Televisions are Zenith, and quite out of date. We had 601 and our pillow top bed was quite comfy but our friends did not sleep well as their bed was older and lumpy. Our bathroom had a lovely coner bath (needs caulking) and a lovely pedestal sink,but there is nowhere to put your toileteries, not a big deal if you're not staying long. Rooms are big and have a lovely balcony with chairs, so wonderful in summer. Watermark Restaurant was nice and cozy and delicious for an evening meal, limited menu but all items were good. Decent selection for breakfast too which is included with the room price.

Room Tip: Have a good look at the website and explore the options that suit your needs and call the Inn to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkyandnidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us! Caverly Cottage is a quaint, old wooden structure and fire safety necessitates electric fireplaces in that building. All of other fireplaces are gas. As part of our green policy practices we replace televisions and other electronic only when they cease to function.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spent one night here with my boyfriend for our anniversary. I booked the suite (rm #508 in the Annex) because it had a large stone fireplace (gas) and large jacuzzi tub. We were very pleased with the room; my only issue was there was quite a bit of noise from the room above us (just walking around but very clear) and our room did not have a view- we looked out at a pretty garden area then the back of another building. If we went back I would book a room on the top floor so you could see over the building because I liked being in the Annex. The room was very clean, beautiful big bathroom. The property itself is very pretty. I loved the cookies and the basket of apples at reception- nice touch. We chose to stay here because we did the Boldt Castle boat cruise so it was close and we did not want a Holiday Inn experience. Breakfast was yummy.

Room Tip: The Annex seemed a bit quieter but book room 501-504 to get more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review. Room 508 with its cozy stone fireplace is particularly popular during the winter months. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing