We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Significant Strengths and Weaknesses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Significant Strengths and Weaknesses”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The property's site is its greatest strength. It is located directly on the water with lovely views of the Thousand Islands from dining areas and from many of the rooms. We visited in early July 2014 while travelling to Lake Placid. We returned several days later for a night on our way back home from Lake Placid. Our first experience was with room 507 in a building known as The Annex. The room was extremely stale, musty and dated. We had to sleep with all windows open and still the smell was fairly overwhelming. In the room was a 1980's style Jacuzzi. Other than adding to the dated feel of the room, it was neither here nor there and we didn't use it. Had we not pre-booked a non-refundable room for our return trip from Lake Placid, I am sure we would never have chosen to visit this property again. However, on our return visit, we stayed in room 204 in the main building and it was very nice. The room was fairly large and had a great view of the water. The food at the inn's restaurant was adequate but certainly not stellar but the views made our reservation worthwhile. Because of its lovely location, this inn is booked well in advance during the summer months. If one can secure a room in the main building, this place is worth an overnight stay but the sub-par rooms in the annex should be avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid the Annex rooms at all cost. Rm 507 was expensive and definitely sub-par. Room 204 in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155011Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Many of our returning guests select the Main Inn which was converted from a carriage factory to a hotel in 1896.The building still retains some features of that era.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    169
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
89
271
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband in I stayed here for an overnight stay during our holidays, we live not too far away and wanted to get away to somewhere without a long drive. We booked a package deal, including room, cruise, dinner and breakfast. We got there our room wasn't ready yet so we went to the casino for awhile then we did the cruise they retrieved our key after that. The cruise was very nice, it was very windy that day but still enjoyable. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient.
The room was up 3 flights of stairs, no elevator, so if you have any disabilities ask for ground floor! No one offered to take our bags up for us either. The hotel is very old, and quaint actually, like going back in time, but with that the rooms are a little rustic and dated. The room also had a kind of musty smell, bathroom was very small as was the room itself. Beds were not overly comfortable either. We walked down to the river and sat in the most amazing comfy Muskoka chairs! very beautiful down there the grounds are nicely kept.
We went for dinner and the food was fantastic! 3 course meal to rival any fine dining restaurant around, very friendly servers but a little young and inexperienced I think but , did a fine job anyway.
Throughout the night our air conditioner stopped working and was very loud. We didn't sleep very well there unfortunately, I told front desk about the issues upon check out and she gave us a discount. Also the breakfast was really good, great coffee too, which is very important to me! The breakfast server was very nice and food came out quite quickly. Overall it was a nice get away, close to home and a good value with the package.

Room Tip: ask for lower level if you want to avoid stairs and the rooms near the water are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGMoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your dining experience! Others should know that we have much larger rooms and suites available throughout the hotel and that many are at ground level. Assistance is always available for luggage - sorry we missed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I first want to Thank Josee and Debbie (Manager I believe) for accomadating us at the very last minute during the busy busy summer season. We arrived at the last minute 5 PM with no reservations and both Josee and Debbie found us a very affordable room in the Calvery cottage (602) with fireplace and Jacuzzi for a very fair price. Extremley clean and quiet. Peaceful.

Our very large comfortable room was across the street. No water view. However a one minute walk across the street and you had a wonderfull area to sit by the water and enjoy the incredible views of the area.

The choice of resto was Watermark or Muskie Jakes pub. We chose an awesome terrace seat looking over the water at Jakes, food is very basic, very good. Next morning a full choice of a full complete breakfast at Watermark with awesome quick service. Extreley friendly staff, very attentive and did I mention quick.

This is an old place with lots of history, and we enjoyed it very much, if you are looking for extra modern facilities them maybe you are missing out. Tons of charm is the only word to describe this place, oh and the staff are incredibly super cool. So for those that have said the staff are anything less than friendly and accomadating you are so wrong and have ridiculous expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words concerning our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our daughter and son-in-law chose The Gananoque Inn and Spa for their wedding venue. It was outstanding. The service was excellent! From the time we entered the lobby and talked to Debbie on check in (she is super), our room was perfect and the food was delicious. The wedding on the water was well organized by Ami and the reception afterwards was impeccable. Your staff was great! Everyone that stayed there enjoyed it and could not stop talking about how delicious their meals were. We had guests from as far as Victoria, BC and Edmonton, Alberta that were very impressed with the location on the water. Congratulations to you and your staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your very positive review! We love hosting weddings at the inn and our staff take great pride in making each one unique and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Dined at the restaurant on a Saturday. We opted for their large patio since the weather was really nice. The waterfront view is great and the atmosphere both inviting and relaxing. The food was good, but not excellent. If you visit Gananoque, why not book some time at this historic Inn and use its as your home base to walk around to most attractions the town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us! Other travelers might like to know that we have two waterfront restaurants. Muskie Jake's Tap and Grill has casual fare but Watermark Restaurant provides fine dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

all u can say is first class all the way the rooms are spectacular along with the river view front line staff a lady named debbie was terrific and cathy the maid saved me from forgetting some items on a room change room to 108 which was the best for the view etc parking is very good and muskies pub serves great food and has a great horseshoe shaped bar the bartender was hilarious boat traffic is allowed and place is very quiet at nite all my neighbors were extremely friendly both
canadian and american plus the casino is a short drive away also check out gan shoes he likes to deal i will be back soon

Room Tip: all good both riverview or garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you came back after 20 years also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Inn and Spa has been beautifully redone. It retains the charm and history of its roots and recalls a time when this was the playground for the titans of business and rich and famous. Yet the Inn has the amenities of a modern hotel. The fact they serve a hot breakfast (try the Eggs Benedict) is a wonderful touch.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and when we needed extra coffee for example for the room - there was no additional charge. Try that at many hotels.
This Inn is near the centre of everything - the boat docks for the tours are just across a small bridge - there are a variety of parks, eating places and bars within easy walking distance and the downtown core is a 10 minute walk at most. We visited a number of attractions, ate at several places off the Inn property and saw a concert in the central town park - and the car never moved from the parking lot for three days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the inn and your stay in our community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing