We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough, but seriously overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough, but seriously overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our family stayed here in August 2014, and we had a waterfront room. The Inn is in a beautiful setting, but I was disappointed by the room. It was almost $300/night, and when we arrived, there was a huge damp spot on the carpet, right in front of the bathroom. The cleaning staff had obviously spilled a bucket of water there. The bathroom itself - which for the price you would expect would be large, luxurious and spa-like, was small (not even enough towel racks - or space for them - for all four members of our family). As other reviewers have noted, these rooms and their amenities were more motel-like than spa-like. It was a real disappointment. At this price, these rooms need renovations.
All that said, however, the restaurant food was good, and the Inn is central to a couple of Gananoque's nicest attractions. It was a 5 minute walk to the dock for the Thousand Island Cruises, and in the other direction, 5 minutes to the theatre. We took advantage of both, and that made our trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our stay with us was during our high season. Supply and demand dictate the price of our 14 Waterfront Rooms. We are the only waterfront hotel in the town of Gananoque and, as you mention, we are footsteps from to best activities. For those more budget minded we do have other room selections. We are happy to provide addition additional bath towels or beach towel for the nearby beach at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    167
    51
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
266
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in August, 2014. $429 for a room on the water, including dinner and the 2.5 hr. cruise. $299 for the next night. Not too bad for an over the top 5 star Hotel on the water, but way too much for a Motel. And that's what this is. The room was musty/damp smelling. You can't air it out or the bugs will come in (they leave a note in your room telling you this). We had a large room with a L/R area and wet bar. Stay in 111 if you are determined to stay here (and that was our room). Under NO circumstances take room 112!!! It is in the corner and is entirely closed in by the other 2 rooms. There's a window, but it faces the back overgrowth - garbage bins and all! Yuk! Room 114 has a jacuzzi, and 115 looks nice with a view on 2 sides (it's on the end). 110 is a simple motel room, and small. Has a fireplace that doesn't work. (?). Note that all the rooms are the same price, so that beauty in 112 is the same as the one with the living room area. $299 a night! Not cool. Given the state of the rooms (cobwebs everywhere, musty smell, cabinet doors that don't stay open on TV, A/C that sounds like a freight train) - and also the inequity of sizes, this is way overpriced and I would NOT stay here, nor recommend it to anyone. Perfect spot, right on the water, very pretty view - but $300 a night for a motel room??? Dinner was fabulous (and I really mean that - the food was excellent), but the restaurant itself is small and tired...and again damp and dank. Breakfast was only ok. Nothing special at all - typical boring buffet food. Bottom line? It's a no-go. Remember that old saying "Nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to stay there"....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingTaylors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
You stayed with us during high season and the demand for the Waterfront Rooms you mention is reflected in the price. There are just 14 rooms on the water in the town of Gananoque, all of them at the inn, and guests come back to these time and time again because they love staying at the water's edge. Those of us who live by the water during Ontario summers are very familiar with the humidity and the daily battle of the bugs. Windows are screened but we do suggest that guests keep their doors closed. Others might like to know we can accommodate every budget with a variety of prices in our remaining 39 rooms. We are please that you enjoyed your dining experience. Watermark Restaurant seats 80 guests with a covered patio for another 40. We prefer to think of the decor as traditional and reflective of the wonderful old island homes in our area. Perhaps you were looking for a more urban experience than The Gananoque Inn and Spa provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived here on the fly, and luckily they had a room. Clean, comfortable. Restaurants were fantastic. Service was excellent at front desk, thanks Paula! Employees could advise on where to go for attractions, the area. Always had time to help.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judypToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you found us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful spot with a great view, very nice room with fireplace (which was not needed in June).
Staff was friendly and helpful, food that was catered for the wedding was very good. Breakfast (which was included) was very nice, not much selection of gluten-free but they did have few things. Those who did not have to worry about gluten found lots of tempting choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Your review is appreciated! Our waterside location contributes to very special summer weddings.
With both staff and family members unable to eat gluten we understand of the challenges of restaurant eating! Thank you for bringing breakfast to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent the weekend at the Inn with my daughter as a spa getaway and we had a wonderful time. The property has a fantastic location that lets you walk to all points of interest, including the boat cruises, but is surprisingly quiet. We spent Saturday morning being pampered by the great staff at the spa then the afternoon cruising the 1000 islands.
The spa is well worth a visit as the staff are super friendly and the facility is clean and charming. The restaurant was also a hit with an a la carte breakfast Saturday and buffet on Sunday. The rooms were well appointed and clean - no complaints!
Overall a lovely place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank your for your review. Our Spa staff will be pleased to read your remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and me went to the Gananoque Inn and Spa. Weather was beautiful, the front desk staff very helpful, the room, view on the parking lot with a King bed, nice comforter, lots of pillows, fireplace, nice bathroom towels.
Dirty windows.
No wi-fi on the third floor.
The evening restaurant had a good menu and the service courteous. where it needs improvement is the breakfast staff (breakfast included in the hotel price) it took 1 1/2 to be serve, no apologies., lots of flies around, food left on the tables for long time.
We went to their Pub for supper, same issues.
When we left, we mentioned our concerns, no apologies or offer to compensate us for one breakfast we had to take in town instead in the Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room but expect to pay at least $250.00 Rooms facing the city are cheaper $16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review. While your concerns are unusual every guest comment gives us the opportunity for change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Every year my wife and I have organised a senior trip to this beautiful resort. We could not ask for better hosts then Michel, Jean, and their staff. From the spa facilities to the out door pool everything was perfect as usual. Exceptional food and pleasant clean accommodations. We look forward to returning next year.

Al Ambroise

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
island3c, Owner at The Gananoque Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We thank you for your review and hope you will return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Property: The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing