We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing time for a couples getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Background: My girlfriend and I (in our 20’s) were looking to get away for a few days during the Christmas break. We came across the website for the Gananoque Inn via a travel Ontario site. We checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor and figured this would be a good place to stay for 3 days/2 nights. We used the Gananoque Inn’s website to book our room. We went with two different packages because there was a special on the dinner package for the one night. The package for the second night included a bottle of sparkling wine along with the dinner.

The Inn: The Gananoque Inn is a very nice Inn. It is located right beside the river. The main lobby was nicely decorated for Christmas when we were there. There is a spa if you want to book a massage or whatnot. We did not use the spa. There are two restaurants. Only the main restaurant is open during the off-season. It is a pub style restaurant. The food was great! Our package included dinner, which was a full dinner with soft drinks, appetizers, main course and desert. They make sure you don’t leave hungry! Be sure to make reservations though.

The Room: We booked room #114. Our room was right at the water in a 6 unit building. Our room had a slight view (because of the angle of the window) of the river. It had a king size bed and a very nice Jacuzzi tub in the room. If we go back I’d book room #115, an end unit, which had two windows, one directly looking over the river. This room, however, had two double beds. All rooms in “Waterfront” building looked amazing! With these rooms you get prime parking (regular parking is another few metres across the street).

Off-Season: If you are looking to go in the off-season, like we did, look for package specials, I feel like we got an excellent deal for the two nights with dinner. There is not as much to do there in the off-season, but that was ok with us. There is shopping in the downtown area, which is a 5min walk from the Inn. You can also drive along the Parkway and stop along the way to enjoy some scenic points. Other than that, there is not much else to do in the immediate area. Kingston and Brockville are near-by as well as the US.

Overall: Nice Inn with great Jacuzzi rooms, tasty pub restaurant and an excellent location. The employees were very accommodating. Thanks to the receptionists and especially to the bartender/host/receptionist guy. So, if you are looking for a lazy slow-paced romantic winter getaway, why not try the Gananoque Inn?!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_em1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for The Gananoque Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2008

We have just returned from the Gananoque Inn. This is our sixth visit and possibly our last. A group of friends have been meeting at the Inn in late November for several years. The location is convenient and quite central for people from Toronto, Ottawa and Montreal to meet up. We were on the overnight package which included dinner and breakfast. In past years we were impressed with the service and atmosphere. Dinner was a gastronomic experience, and the dining room often employed a pianist. Breakfast was an elegant buffet with lots of choices and plenty of food. Perhaps because of the looming recession, this hotel was less than half full. The dinner was disappointing to many, and though it is included in the package, the dining room provides inflated invoices to influence the gratuities to the wait staff. The breakfast was a choice of four simple breakfasts with tea or coffee. Even juice was supplementary. Given our expectations based on past experiences, this year was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My husband and I spent a weekend at the inn for our first anniversary. Our accommodations were a small 1 bedroom cottage detached from the main building.

We enjoyed everything about this little get-away. The food was wonderful, the town quaint and everything within walking distance of the inn. We purchased a package that included our meals, a play at the local theatre and the 1000 Islands boat cruise.

We enjoyed the fact that we could walk everywhere, had private accommodations and love the friendliness of the locals at both the inn and the nearby pub.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToGetAway-TOGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

As the header states - we experienced an uneven stay at the Gananoque Inn. Check-in was brusque and rude - the person on the desk (Sally) was unfriendly, unhelpful, disinterested. We were later told she was new - but she should not be working on the front desk ( creating first impressions) without further training. The Inn itself is beautiful, clean and well located. We enjoyed the restaurant very much and the couples massage was above average. However - and this is a big however - this weekend was a wedding gift and our room on the 2nd floor was located right beside the restaurant exhaust fan. Our room smelled like grease and bacon cooking the whole time we were there and the air conditioner did not work. We were told ( by the rude concierge) that there were no other rooms to move to ..... but there were several at a higher standard we learned later. Quite frankly, our room should have been the last to be given out, and certainly was not very nice under the circumstances. We could have gone any weekend - and wished we had been advised that the only room available for our wedding present weekend was directly in front of the exhaust fan! Even with the gift certificate, it was quite pricey - and we would have booked another time. This was brought up and ignored twice .... if I was the Innkeeper I would not have allowed this. Our impression? Lovely but very poorly run in some areas. We were promised a follow up call or e-mail the next day and have heard nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DeborahToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Quaint lake side Inn in superb location. We stayed in a Waterfront room with a Jacuzzi bath and great view over lake. We ate in the on site pub twice which was good and should have had dinner in the fine dining restaurant but instead chose the Lobster Trap in downtown Gananoque….. big mistake it is a plastic place selling rubber food!!!!
On the Saturday we stayed in the Inn there was a wedding being held there which in any other place would be irritating, but in the Gananoque Inn it just added to the charm

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dss321ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Beautiful spot. Right by the water. Restaurant serves up good meals.Rooms are quaint in the main building. I would go again!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jewel_leaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

We stayed on a 2 night package for the second time this winter this past weekend. We were lucky to be able to book the Honeymoon Suite and what a lovely room this is in the main Inn. The view from the balcony was beautiful-I can only imagine what it's like in the summer! Dinner and breakfast were delicious, but it's the atmoshere of the Inn that transports you the minute you walk in the door. Relaxing and romantic with a fabulous spa, and staff from the front desk to dining room are friendly and helpful. We've already planned our third trip for the year in May, but don't be afraid to take advantage of this gem during the winter.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank family1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Gananoque
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gananoque Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gananoque Inn and Spa

Address: 550 Stone St S | Ontario, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £65 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gananoque Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. Lawrence River, the Gananoque Inn & Spa occupies the original the Gananoque Carriage Works factory. Converted to a hotel in 1896, the historic and charming Inn provides two river front restaurants, private docking, waterfront accommodation, and fireplace and Jacuzzi suites. The Inn is the perfect location from which to explore the 1000 Islands, the nearby UNESCO designated Rideau Canal and Kingston Fortifications. Golf, fishing, island tours, kayaking, cycling, summer theatre and shopping are just a few of the nearby activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Gananoque Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Gananoque Bed Breakfast
The Gananoque Inn And Spa Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing