We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place”
Review of Misty Isles Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Misty Isles Lodge
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We loved it here. We were looking for somewhere for 2 nights on the waterfront and found ourselves at Mysty Isles. We hadn't really considered a cottage but were really pleased with our accomodation - a cottage right on the water. The cottage was comfortable with wi-fi (always handy), a good kitchen, a strong shower and comfortable beds. It was a little hot at night with 1000's of midges but the window screens kept them out and the fan kept us cool. The setting was idyllic with plenty of chairs outside to enjoy the view. Just sitting there with a glass of wine made our stay! If we ever returned to the 1000 Isles we'd come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank izt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2009

Not what was expected. Nice location on the water and nice people though. Went in to the town the next night and stayed there.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoeS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We three McGill students visited 1000 Islands region last weekend and had a great time at Misty Isle. Misty Isle Lodge is a fantastic nice family-run little lodge, with kayak, boat and bike rental available. The manager Gayle is such a knowledgable and nice person, she really cares about us, her guests to 1000 islands region. The business is pretty flexable and she really tries to offer us the most. She taught us so detail and patient about kayaking. She and her two daughters are very knowledgable about this region, and being really kind people, offer many important advices, and they have been soooo nice to provide us rides to local cafe and to the Gananoque Train Station when it is late. I absolutely appreciate their kindness and this is also the great advantage of selecting a small company like this.

The location is great, just east of Gananoque, off the parkway, and it is just in front of the Lac/Lake Ontario. Within 30 mins kayaking to the Gordon Island, based on my speed that day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lu_McGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

My husband and I booked an efficiency cabin for 3 nights at Misty Isles Lodge in Lansdowne, Ontario (Gananoque) in August 2006. However, although it was nice to be on the lake, after 2 nights we had to leave as we knew we could not possibly spend another night in that cabin. The reason for this was that the beds were so bad that we both were suffering terrible back pain. The mattresses were so saggy and so soft that it was like sleeping in a hammock, with no support whatsoever. This is the type of thing that normally happens when mattresses are either of poor quality or very old or both. When I told the owner that this was why we were leaving, she adamantly insisted that the beds were very firm and fairly new. In our wide travel experience, I can honestly say that we have never slept on mattresses that were of such poor quality. Nor have we ever had to cut our vacation short because of it.

Of course, we had to pay for the third night as we left after checkout time, which is standard in the hotel industry. We did not have an issue with that. However, an apology for our unpleasant experience would have been nice, rather than insistence that there was nothing wrong with the beds that had caused us such discomfort and ultimately, a shortened vacation.

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank Teresama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
St.Willaims, Ontario
17
Reviewed 11 September 2005

Two couples stayed at Misty Isles Lodge from Aug. 23-30/05. We enjoyed it very much. We had cabin#2, which had two queen size beds and two dressers with a front door and a patio door in the bedroom. The kitchen/livingroom was combined but very roomy, with a fully equipped kitchen with kitchen table and four chairs. A sofa bed and three chairs, one a rocker. A new tv. The bedroom had a bathroom,sink and toilet. The bathroom off the livingroom had a shower. There was also a patio door off the livingroom.. There was a deck at the front and back. The back deck looked over the St. Lawrence. The cabin came equipped with all cooking and eating utensils and a bbq. We enjoyed our stay and we were only minutes from Ganaanque boat lines or Rockport boat lines. Again very enjoyable stay.Very relaxing with bike riding and kayaking offered for the energetic. There was also boats to rent. The only downfall was the beach was not very big.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.5 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Isles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Isles Lodge

Address: 25 River Road, Gananoque, Ontario K0H 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Gananoque
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Misty Isles Lodge Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing