We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Gananoque
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beware of this hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is very run down, outdated and in desperate need of updates.
Be very careful and watch your step when walking on the decking, you may fall through!
I had a "suite" which had a gigantic whirlpool tub - didn't use it. The shower was so small I could barely turn around in it!
The bed sheets were thread bare, carpets were stained and the windows/patio doors were so old I could barely see through them.
I was very, very disappointed in this Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "good" room anywhere at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    38
    29
    16
See reviews for
57
74
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The room was in bad need of an upgrade. There was mold around the rear patio door. The continental breakfast was a trip to the small office to pick up a coffee & muffin or toast on a tray & carry it back to the room. I don't usually comment on negative stays, but feel that the travelling public should be aware so they can go elseware.

Art & Dorothy J

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ART J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was a 'drop in' at the Comfort Inn in Gananoque. I asked when I checked in if there was Wifi access I was told yes. But the person seemed unsure. I had problems getting into the internet-so I went back to the office several times . Eventually I was told that I could use Holiday Inn's info and access thru that. That seemed to work for awhile. But before I had time to do what i had to do/wanted to do- i could not access the system yet again. Another trip to the office and was told that I could go to the Holiday Inn which was directly in front of my room. The front desk person said that the Holiday Inn had a nice seating area and so on and so forth. I told her that I was not interested in going to the Holiday Inn. I just wish that she had been honest when I first arrived and asked about Wifi. That would have been preferable to what happened. I had said initially that I needed Wifi in order to book my trip which was unbooked and that I was going to be in two locations after Gananoque.
Also, the toilet ran constantly and I had to jiggle the handle. Finally, the jiggling did not work and I had to take the back off. THe 'whatever' had become disconnected.
When I checked out today-I complained about the internet situation and the person on duty said that their website does not state that they have Wifi. But I said that I was a drop in and didn't know that. I wished that I had been more sceptical of the initial front desk person's story about internet.
I will be contacting Comfort Inn.
p.s. When I first got there -she assigned me to a more isolated room. I thought that there maybe construction workers living in that stretch due to hibachis etc. So I asked for another room. I got a larher room with a bed anf couch! lso, a nice touch was a deck on the back of the rooms-it was one long deck without any breaks-but was a good place to sit and enjoy the sun.

Room Tip: It's right off the 1000 Island parkway-but make sure that this is where you want to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The room was spacious and clean but it really needs to be updated. Everything is worn out. The bed was comfortable and it would be a beautiful place if updated. There was a very small place for breakfast but we were sent to the Best Western located directly behind the Comfort Inn for breakfast. It was great with a buffet and hot food. I don't know how long they have been doing this but it was great. The air conditioner in our room sounded like a plane taking off. I asked the manager about it and she said they sounded like that in every room, there was nothing wrong with it and the one she had at home sounded the same way. All I can say is that she needs to get it replaced. There was an old car sitting in front of the place that had been there so long there were spider webs around the tires. I asked one of the cleaning ladies how long it had been there and she said for at least 15 yrs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCarrollConcord_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This Comfort Inn does not live up to its standards. The room definitely needs an update, the carpet and bedding are old. Stayed here only for the points. The breakfast area is quite pathetic, no room to sit with a very limited choice. It is a high price for what you get. The only good thing was you get free $ to try their casino which made us go out and try it since we are not casino people. Gananoque is a very picturesque little town but I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocky1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We came up from home and stayed a night in Watertown on our way to the Thousand Islands. We wanted to go the casino there. We got a great room with a look out on the pool. We then stayed two extra nights. The pool was so nice and so relaxing. We could not have asked for a better stay. We even won a few bucks at the casino. I will go back to this inn the next time I am back in Canada

Room Tip: Go for the rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
567 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Likely a motel converted, some time ago, to a Comfort Inn. Our queen room was not too big, not too small, very clean. Hotel has a wooden deck with chairs along back of all ground floor rooms. Nice pool also with new lounge chairs. Breakfast similar to most other Comfort Inns except there are no waffles. Also, there is no eating area, so you must bring it back to your room. We ate on the deck just outside our room. Management should find another location for staff to smoke as we had to scurry through the short hallway they use between the two buildings a few times during our two-night stay.

Room Tip: Room 115 is the only room in the back and surely most quiet of them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.0 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gananoque

Property: Travelodge Gananoque
Address: 785 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn 1000 Islands)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gananoque 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn 1000 Islands Hotel Gananoque
Comfort Inn Gananoque
Gananoque Comfort Inn
Travelodge Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing