We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Southern 'HOWE'spitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Better than Southern 'HOWE'spitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

After a short ferry ride to the island, we arrived at Howe Island Winery B&B only to be greeted by our hosts, the enthusiastic Canadian/Aussie David and his lovely wife Wendy. Immediately, we knew we had made the right choice to stay at this B&B. David and Wendy were the most gracious hosts and made our family feel at home. Lawton Lodge was reminiscent of staying at a charming lake house but as David frequently emphasized the B&B is on a river. We enjoyed breathtaking views of the St. Lawrence from the dock, the hammock and the adirondack chairs on the lawn. The grounds and gardens were immaculate. Wendy's breakfasts and David's culinary morning fruit were outstanding and kept us going well into the afternoon. To really appreciate the beauty and charm of Howe Island Winery B&B, arrive early to enjoy a sunset and stay more than one night. We thoroughly enjoyed David and Wendy's Southern 'Howe'spitality and would highly recommend a stay here. We are already planning to return. Thanks for the unforgettable visit ~Brett and Debbie K.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Staying with Wendy and Dave on their picture perfect property was amazing. I was waking up early in the morning (I'm not a morning person at all) just to enjoy my morning coffee and relax on the terrace with a fantastic view of St. Lawrence river was exceptional. Wendy and Dave are very friendly hosts and they are treating guests as family. When we were leaving it really felt like leaving a close family. I don't want to repeat posts below, and everything is absolutely true what was said, just I will gladly recommend this property to everybody to stop for at least one night!
Thank you Wendy and Dave for giving us opportunity to stay at your home and make our long weekend in Gananoque area more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLN968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

what can we say about howe island winery and b and b? David and Wendy are great hosts, and the breakfasts were some of the best we have ever had....we stayed at the Lawton lodge, very quiet and peaceful, great to relax....we enjoyed everything about our stay, including the scary ferry......and David was able to get us tickets to a show in the Gan at the last minute too.....and the cd of driving music was the perfect finishing touch to the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

After a month of touring Canada, the Howe Island B&B was a welcome piece of paradise.
The hospitality offered by Wendy and David was exceptional with the breakfasts enough to carry us well through the day.
And what a location, nothing better than relaxing on the deck, after a days travelling, with a wine in hand and your eyes drinking in the view over the lake.
This is a real gem and don't miss the hammock for some serious relaxation.
We can truly recommend the Howe Island B&B for a relaxing stay.
Mark & Rita

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiefMeknowhowe, Owner at Howe Island B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
It was our great pleasure having a couple of Aussies in the house! And for the record...it's a RIVER not a "lake" ! LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted by David and Wendy who graciously welcomed us...with great conversation ...including info that was helpful with our journey throughout the surronding areas. The vineyard, lodge, breakfast, all presented with flare and taste.
The view of the river and the grounds are outstanding ...your troubles will slip away with the ever passing current.
Mar&Moe

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Wow! What a terrific B & B. David & Wendy made us feel very welcome. The memories we have of our 3-night stay are special: spectacular views of the river, delicious breakfasts, lovely grounds with the vinyard & garden flowers, peaceful & quiet days on the island. As I write these words I can smell the fragrant flowers of the garden & see in awe the beauty of the spectacular view of the river. We came as strangers & left as friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 807nativetexan807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My partner and I enjoyed our weekend stay at this property. We were greeted warmly by the owner, Wendy. It wasn't long before we were in relaxation mode. We enjoyed coffee and tea on the deck, taking in the picturesque scenery. The breakfasts were amazing and both of us were very satisfied. Wendy is a kind and friendly host. After talking for a few minutes, we felt right at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing getaway. It's very nice to be situated on an island, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TypicalMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
6.3 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
8.4 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
11.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
6.0 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Property: Howe Island B&B
Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing