We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

the place is beautiful. our room with insuite bathroom too. Chris was extremely helpfull. great breakfast. location is perfect too.take the 2.5 hours tour around the islands.
I definetely recommand this b&b. thank you. marwan & darine

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Our host, Chris was welcoming, informative, funny and very busy. He kindly accommodated my husbands cow dairy intolerance, and found him both sheeps yogurt and cheese. The breakfast, from the coffee through the "appetizer" fruit and yogurt and the main course, were both visually beautiful and delicious. Our room was comfy, and we also took advantage of the small sitting room upstairs, and the living room on the main floor. No complaints....if we come through this area again, this is where we would stay. Thanks for everything, Roz and Rob.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rozst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in May. We arrived at Gananoque train station at 9.30pm. This is a tiny place in the middle of nowhere. No phone box or taxis. However, our host Chris met us at the train and drove us back to the B&B. The breakfast was delicious and ample. After our lovely 1000 Islands cruise, a short walk from the B&B, Chris drove us to Kingston, 30 minutes away, and would accept no payment. A great, if brief, stay. He also has the best towels of anywhere I have stayed, ever.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank streblig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Turtle Island B&B is a gem! From the moment we walked in we felt at home in this big, beautiful Victorian property. Our room (the Algonquin room at the front of the house) was large and immaculately cleaned. Apart from the room we also enjoyed spending time on the main floor where Chris and Ted, our hosts, have set up a large, cosy sitting room (plus dining room) exclusively for their guests. Chris and Ted are very welcoming and had great recommendations as far as where to eat and what to see. We particularly appreciated the time they spent with us at breakfast to ensure we knew the best places to go for walks/snowshoeing and provided brochures on everything we could possibly imagine doing. Breakfast itself was fantastic as well, freshly prepared by our hosts.
Overall we had a fantastic time and can not recommend this B&B more highly. Thanks again Ted and Chris for making this such a special visit for us!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegHimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent a night on October 3rd,2012 at Turtle Island B & B. A wonderful old home, tastefully decorated with nice comfy furniture. We stayed in the Algonquin room which was on the second floor at the front of the house, it was clean and comfortable with private bath. Chris was a charming host and very accommodating. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the baked lemon raspberry and blueberry pancakes with local maple syrup accompanied by bacon and fruit was scrumptious. A short walk down the street will bring you to the waterfront one way or downtown the other. This B & B is a newcomer on the scene and it looks like they are off to an amazing start. Thanks again Chris! We know where we will be staying the next time we are in your area!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinyttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Spent a great weekend in Gananoque.

Nice place- super clean, comfy bed.

Great location- easy walk to main st and to the boat.

Amazing breakfast- baked lemon raspberry pancakes are incredible!

I highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank jspence81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Comfortable, clean and Chris our host was congenial and a great chef serving a hot and tasty breakfast with locally grown products. As others have already stated, the location is perfect and in easy walking distance to the water, King Street (the main street) and the Thousand Island Playhouse. The house is decorated with Native American Art and it was fascinating to speak with Chris about the different pieces. Our room was inviting and we slept very well but as I told Chris, another light would be helpful as it was a bit dark with only the two lights that were available. The private bathroom down the hall was fine but unless I missed it, there did not seem to be an exhaust vent with no place for the water vapor to go. Chris was extremely accommodating but very busy and on his own as his B & B partner Ted was out of the country when we stayed on 8/31/12. But make no mistake, we enjoyed our stay, it was a great value and would definitely stay again and maybe get a chance to meet Ted!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.5 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#2 of 12 in Gananoque
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Stone St S, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: £80 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing