We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good (and almost excellent)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very good (and almost excellent)”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We're veterans of many B&Bs. Turtle Island is very good with the potential to be excellent. Very good location, very comfortable beds, very good breakfasts, and very helpful owners. What keeps this from an excellent rating? In our eyes, it's the little and value added items. It would be a complimentary cheese tray for the guests at 5 pm or a plateful of cookies at 8 pm. It would be a bedside table or reading chair in the bedroom. It would be fluffy towels (vs. standard issue) and higher end (I.e. Aveda) toiletries vs. Dove products. Kudos to TurtleInn for being a very good B&B. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
85
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Being regular visitors to the theatre in Gananoque we decided to give this B & B a try as it was advertised in the theatre brochure, and the website convinced us! A good decision! A lovely heritage house, terrific hosts, easy walk to the theatre, comfortable room and common areas, and a magnificent breakfast with interesting people also staying there. Check out the B & B way to travel.............our recommendation is it is the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is a super clean, cosy B and B with a terrific breakfast menu. Steps from the Ganonoque Playhouse.
Wonderful hosts, lovely sitting room, quiet street. I had the front bedroom with ensuite BR and slept like a baby.
You can trust the photos - it's a great little find in a quaint and pretty neighborhood.

Room Tip: Front bedroom has ensuite bathroom, but I'm not sure if the other rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottheTshirt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B and it was an excellent experience.
Chris, the owner was very nice and gave us good advice about activities and things to see in Gananoque and Kingston.
The breakfast was delicious and generous made with fresh products. The room was also spacious, clean and quiet ... Perfect B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanaille25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Subject: Trip adviser TurtleIsland Bed and Breakfast Gananoque,Ontario

Having resisted the "Bed and Breakfast" experience for many years,we were pleasantly surprised with our first visit .

We stayed at the very tastefully decorated Turtle Island B+B in Gananoque ,Ontario for one night

Being a bit of a germaphobic,we were so impressed at the cleanliness of the entire home.

Chris was the perfect host,very welcoming,and what a wonderful cook.

I would highly recommend staying there.
Ken and Pearl May,2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedofroses155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

the place is beautiful. our room with insuite bathroom too. Chris was extremely helpfull. great breakfast. location is perfect too.take the 2.5 hours tour around the islands.
I definetely recommand this b&b. thank you. marwan & darine

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Our host, Chris was welcoming, informative, funny and very busy. He kindly accommodated my husbands cow dairy intolerance, and found him both sheeps yogurt and cheese. The breakfast, from the coffee through the "appetizer" fruit and yogurt and the main course, were both visually beautiful and delicious. Our room was comfy, and we also took advantage of the small sitting room upstairs, and the living room on the main floor. No complaints....if we come through this area again, this is where we would stay. Thanks for everything, Roz and Rob.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rozst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.4 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Property: Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Stone St S, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing