We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent service, friendly and accommodating owners, clean rooms, and amazing breakfast. We came here for my wife's birthday and the owner's were not only accommodating in helping me surprise her with a room full of balloons and wine (which they blew up and purchased on their own time), but they also set everything up in a larger room. Thanks Chris and Ted! We'll be staying at Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast whenever we're spending the night in Gananoque!

Turtle Island is also perfectly situated to major attractions, including the Thousand Islands Playhouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bookssmithsfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We came here just for one night on Labour Day 2012, and can't wait till we have a chance to come back!
We were welcomed by Chris who is the perfect host. He made us feel at home right away, and helped us decide on our plans for exploring the 1,000 Islands.

The house is beautiful, and it's very close to boat tour departures and to restaurants.

Breakfast was wonderful. Everything was fresh, local, and high quality. And the atmosphere was just so pleasant. We really regretted not spending another night (and another morning!) there.

The room was very comfortable. No TV or any special features, but just a really nice room, clean, beautiful, a good place to relax. It had everything we needed. And the house has a real character.

Over all our experience was great. We'll be back for more of that friendly hospitality and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: We got the room with the washroom down the hall - but it was private, used only by us (other rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oded H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My girlfriend and I came upon Turtle Island B&B last summer and loved our stay so much that we decided to go back this year for a weekend getaway in Gananoque. We arrived Saturday morning and were greeted by Ted, who took took us to our room and welcomed us back! This time we were given the middle room which was beautifully set up and the bed was a king size cloud of joy! We slept like babies!!! The rooms and house in general are spotless. The bathroom was very comfortable and clean.

We spent our time in Gan walking through the small downtown and enjoying the local people. These folks are very friendly! We had dinner at the Stone Water, on the recommendation of both Ted and Chris. Food there is amazing and the beer is great too.

In the morning we walked downstairs and breakfast was waiting for us. We had amazing yoghurt parfaits and we both ordered the pancakes with maple cream poured overtop. WOW were these amazing. Both Ted and Chris are SUCH talented cooks and their breakfast was consistently on par with what I remember from our first visit.

I definitely will return to Turtle Island as this place is an amazing getaway for a great price. For those who want to escape the big city to a small, tranquil town then this place is for you. Bring a book, enjoy the upstairs library room and relax the night away. Thanks for an amazing time guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed there for a night earlier this year. We had the place to ourselves since it was a thursday night. We were welcomed by Ted. He made sure that I was able to use the wifi. We had a bedroom with the attached bathroom. There is no TV or phone in the room but there is a big TV in the living room downstairs. On the top floor there are 3 bedrooms and a cozy living room with an aquarium, tons of books and a large balcony off that room where you can sit out if the weather is good. There is a large dining room and living room on the ground floor. The dining room has a small fridge that is stocked with juice and water. The breakfast in the morning was made by Ted. We had a nice yogurt with fruit and granola and eggs of our choice with bacon, toast, coffee, juice, etc. Very well done. We shall be back.

Room Tip: There are 3 bedrooms, 2 have an attached bathroom and the middle bedroom does not have the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vahishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Ted and Chris were as hospitable and helpful as the day is long. Our room was fine, and the location is outstanding--close to the boat tour departure area and not far from King Street. (Direct access to the tour boat area was temporarily impeded by construction on the Water Street bridge while we were there.) Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for a few days with my family (husband, 2 children, and the in-laws). All happy campers in my party. The property was beautiful and really clean. The rooms were gorgeously decorated and very spacious. Perfect location and easy to find, just a short walk to the center of town and to the water with is stunning. The breakfast was absolutely spectacular and made to order, everything was so fresh! Above and beyond what you typically get at an bed and breakfast. I am kicking myself for not asking for the recipes! Chris and Ted were very friendly, made us feel right at home and were very helpful with suggestions of ideas for things to do, see, and near-by events that are going on. I would definitely stay hear again and would definitely recommend this place for your next vacation! Very relaxing! Great for families! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I and my two grade school friends and their husbands, occupied all 3 bedrooms in this B&B. It was perfect for relaxing and re-connecting. We knew Ted was available if we needed anything but he was never intrusive.

The whole house was comfortable. The artworks was stunning and the bedrooms were great. Two of them had en-suites and one had a bathroom off the hallway. Since it was just our group, I didn't mind using that bathroom.

Breakfast was good and we never left the table feeling hungry.

i would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: the bedroom without en-suite has to go down a couple of steps and then up a few steps. if you are c...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank PauletteRazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
0.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
528 reviews
6.9 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
70 reviews
0 mi away
Seaway Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 Stone St S, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: £67 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing