We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this little gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved this little gem of a B&B”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked this little B&B for a road trip across NE America after looking at many others in the area. We read some reviews before confirming the reservation so we had a pretty good idea what it would be like.
The B&B is situated not far from the centre and a stone throw away from a few good places to eat and drink. The room was very cosy and the bed comfortable. What surprised us was the kindness and the knowledge of the owner; he knew everything about the area's history and suggested where we should dine that evening.
Apart from the very good hospitality and the impeccable condition of the room, breakfast was a work of art! We still talk about breakfast at Turtle Island even though we were there nearly a year ago! You can tell that alot of detail, passion and love was put into preparing it and I guess that is what makes this little gem a place we highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Breakfast is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianOldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a great stay. A large and warm Victorian era home appointed very nicely every where.
We stayed here (my wife and I) with her parents in the Fall of 2013. There were 3 bedrooms in the home, we stayed at the back of the house and her parents at the front. We had one night where the middle bedroom was occupied.
The area in Gananoque where this house was located was a really quiet street, the house itself was warm and comfortable with a large and spacious lounge area on the main floor separate from the breakfast area.
Our host(s) were fantastic, the also manage another B&B just down the street.
We stayed for 2 nights and both breakfasts we had were superb, from homemade pancakes with edible flowers and to sausage and eggs. One member of our party was vegetarian and another no pork and our hosts were VERY accommodating. Our hosts took the time to give restaurant suggestions and bit of info about the town and just made us feel at home.

This B&B is fantastic. I (we) highly recommend staying here when in Ganonoque.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We decided to go to Turtle Island on the basis of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Beautiful rooms (we had the blue room and the back), lovely atmospheric main lounge and dining room and a great breakfast. The welcome from Olga was warm as she showed us the rooms and we decided which we would prefer. The location is about perfect being close to the jetty and a short walk to the town centre. The collection of heads/faces on the stairway and in the small upstairs lounge are unique, never seen anything like before. We will go back for sure. It is a very quiet location and the bed was wonderful, such a great sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiths falls
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Excellent service, friendly and accommodating owners, clean rooms, and amazing breakfast. We came here for my wife's birthday and the owner's were not only accommodating in helping me surprise her with a room full of balloons and wine (which they blew up and purchased on their own time), but they also set everything up in a larger room. Thanks Chris and Ted! We'll be staying at Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast whenever we're spending the night in Gananoque!

Turtle Island is also perfectly situated to major attractions, including the Thousand Islands Playhouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookssmithsfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We came here just for one night on Labour Day 2012, and can't wait till we have a chance to come back!
We were welcomed by Chris who is the perfect host. He made us feel at home right away, and helped us decide on our plans for exploring the 1,000 Islands.

The house is beautiful, and it's very close to boat tour departures and to restaurants.

Breakfast was wonderful. Everything was fresh, local, and high quality. And the atmosphere was just so pleasant. We really regretted not spending another night (and another morning!) there.

The room was very comfortable. No TV or any special features, but just a really nice room, clean, beautiful, a good place to relax. It had everything we needed. And the house has a real character.

Over all our experience was great. We'll be back for more of that friendly hospitality and excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: We got the room with the washroom down the hall - but it was private, used only by us (other rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My girlfriend and I came upon Turtle Island B&B last summer and loved our stay so much that we decided to go back this year for a weekend getaway in Gananoque. We arrived Saturday morning and were greeted by Ted, who took took us to our room and welcomed us back! This time we were given the middle room which was beautifully set up and the bed was a king size cloud of joy! We slept like babies!!! The rooms and house in general are spotless. The bathroom was very comfortable and clean.

We spent our time in Gan walking through the small downtown and enjoying the local people. These folks are very friendly! We had dinner at the Stone Water, on the recommendation of both Ted and Chris. Food there is amazing and the beer is great too.

In the morning we walked downstairs and breakfast was waiting for us. We had amazing yoghurt parfaits and we both ordered the pancakes with maple cream poured overtop. WOW were these amazing. Both Ted and Chris are SUCH talented cooks and their breakfast was consistently on par with what I remember from our first visit.

I definitely will return to Turtle Island as this place is an amazing getaway for a great price. For those who want to escape the big city to a small, tranquil town then this place is for you. Bring a book, enjoy the upstairs library room and relax the night away. Thanks for an amazing time guys!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed there for a night earlier this year. We had the place to ourselves since it was a thursday night. We were welcomed by Ted. He made sure that I was able to use the wifi. We had a bedroom with the attached bathroom. There is no TV or phone in the room but there is a big TV in the living room downstairs. On the top floor there are 3 bedrooms and a cozy living room with an aquarium, tons of books and a large balcony off that room where you can sit out if the weather is good. There is a large dining room and living room on the ground floor. The dining room has a small fridge that is stocked with juice and water. The breakfast in the morning was made by Ted. We had a nice yogurt with fruit and granola and eggs of our choice with bacon, toast, coffee, juice, etc. Very well done. We shall be back.

Room Tip: There are 3 bedrooms, 2 have an attached bathroom and the middle bedroom does not have the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vahishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.5 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast

Property: Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast
Address: 415 Stone St S, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Year Round. Charming 1884 red brick Victorian home ideally located near the waterfront, playhouse and local attractions. The Bed and Breakfast is cozy, intimate and relaxing with only 3 guest rooms. The guest rooms and living room/dining room are separate from the owner's living quarters to allow for guest privacy. Delicious hot breakfast made from locally-sourced ingredients. Air conditioned rooms. Parking included (on site). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Island Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Bed And Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing