We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained rooms, but maybe a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well maintained rooms, but maybe a bit pricey”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We are a family of five (3 kids, ages 5-13) who stayed here for one night in August, before leaving on a houseboat rental. For this trip, we had my mother-in-law along, and got two connecting rooms.

The hotel was clean, and the service was for the hotel was excellent. It did seem a bit overpriced. (We paid over $150 per room for two queen. I think $120 or less would have been more reasonable.)

The rooms were a good size and were clean. Each room has a little patio with two chairs. It is an older property, but has been well maintained. There are no fridges or microwaves in the rooms as a standard. By pre-request you can get a fridge, which I did, and there was a fridge for each room on arrival.

They have extensive facilities (outdoor and indoor pool, indoor and outdoor basketball, an indoor squash court. We did not try any of those.

We did have the breakfast, which was a voucher for the buffet in the restaurant. At the time we went we got the last table. Others had to wait, and we needed to be patient for them to handle drinks and buffet refills. Breakfast quality and selection was good.

We had a view of the parking lot, which was Ok as we were only there for one night. If staying longer, I would suggest asking for a view of the pool area.

If in the area again for one night, I might stay there again after reviewing the prices at similar properties.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    157
    141
    60
    45
See reviews for
210
213
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Run down, poor staff attitude, needs a good paint job. Tennis courts are decrepit, pictures they show you on line must have been taken in 1950's last time this place was cared for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Terrible, dirty,smelly, over priced for what you get. A/C didn't work, vented tub didn't work. free movie channels were only good if you speak French or one other language, a couple didn't work at all. Everything was done on the cheap, cheap at sky high prices. We had to ask for our floor to be mopped it was filthy, our feet were black. Breakfast wasn't to bad, avoid the watered down OJ.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justme1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed with my kids for 2 nights. Hotel had all the amenities you could expect including an indoor and outdoor pool. My kids loved it. Found the staff to be very friendly and courteous. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We drove to Gananoque to look around at a couple of places and thought we would grab a place to stay for the night. One of the places we stopped at was the Best Western. We thought about staying here so we asked to see a room and the woman desk clerk suddenly appeared to seem agitated at our request like it was a big hassle. So we actually did not get to view a room. We were told it was to busy and that we should get a room now if we want one. We were very stunned at such a reaction. We first chose just to assume the woman was having a bad day so we thought we would just discuss the price of the room. Without a smile or anything the price was told to us. We asked if this was the best she could do and we were told flatly that it was. We inquired if all the prices in the area were all around the same. We were then really astonished at the answer to our question. She flat out started naming off a couple of other places where we might be able to get cheap rooms. That so much wasnt the problem, the issue was that she actually started running a couple of the places down that are in the immediate area and calling them no good cheap dumps and if that is what we want to stay in we were welcome to sleep in a place like that. That seriously was the most unprofessional experience we have ever encountered and if the woman was having a bad day, we suggest maybe she should get a new line of work and not be working behind the front desk of a hotel. Her response about those other places only peaked our curiousity to go see for ourselves and to our amazement they were not what she was describing. She apparently was angry we may stay in another hotel. The Best Western upon further inspection was not really clean in the office and halls either from what we could tell. We suggest everyone should avoid this disaster of a place. There is much better places to stay all around the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We went to The Best Western Country Squire Hotel recently, and had a great time. Room was clean, as were both pools. The area by the outdoor pool is nice.
Breakfast was held in the restaurant, with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal, etc.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and pleasant.
There is a basketball court inside, which was fun to use. I think there is a tennis court outside as well.
Very close to the Gananoque Boat Line (bring your passport if you are going on the 5 hour cruise - as the island you stop at for 2 hours is American!)
Also very close to the Casino.
Would definitely recommend staying here - try to get a poolside room, otherwise you may be facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTravelgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The great thing about Gananoque is that it is a nice place to get away from the City for a weekend, and has all sorts of things to do for every type of personality (Catch professional live theater, take a world class boat cruise, stay in a cute little bed and breakfast or go all in at the Casino) Unfortunately, the fact that Gan is such a great place for tourists in the Summer means that Hotels know that they can charge three times the price you would pay for comparable lodging in the city. I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and shelled out some extra cash (close to $300 per night) for a room with a Jacuzzi tub, Hardwood floors and a Fireplace. The Jacuzzi tub was amazing, but the room overall was pretty average. Most modern Hotel Chains would have a flat screen TV, for example, and for $300 a night you would think you'd get a Mini Bar and Mini Fridge. Alas, if we'd come in Winter the same room probably would have cost about $170.00 a night, and would have been much more in line with what I would have expected. Regardless, the hotel gave us a great base to do and see all the things we wanted, we were offered a 2 O'Clock PM checkout (Fabulous!) and the staff were super friendly. On day #2, we planned on sightseeing all day and catching the train at 9PM - the staff let us keep our bags at the desk free of charge, and throughout our whole stay were very helpful. Also, all you can eat breakfast buffet was included, and was definitely THE finest all you can eat breakfast buffet I've had to date ( If you like that sort of thing that is!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing