We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Country style says it all. Private back porches. Indoor and outdoor pool. Great place to stay. TV was really old but who cares?

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Country Squire Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Everytime I come to this place, they never let me down .....
RRR Totally and at times, that's all you can ask for!
Thank you again for your hospitality

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Took our two children to this hotel for the weekend. We had an "exterior" two double bed room, a bit tight for space, but were quite pleased with the room over all, especially since the price we paid was extremely attractive.
The breakfast buffet was tasty, with cold items like muffins, cereal, fruit salad, and hot item like toast, sausages, s.eggs, home fries, and big waffles. (waffles were already made, which does save time and avoid line ups, in comparison to hotels with waffle makers)
The service was excellent. I overheard the front desk staff arranging a custom breakfast for a guest who had misunderstood the breakfast buffet hours, while at the same time arranging a room swap for a guest who wished to upgrade to a jacuzzi room, even though the hotel was booked solid. They appeared to be ready to please!
We experienced the same excellent service, and it made our stay memorable.
Kids enjoyed the indoor basketball court (as did my wife and I) and we all got to experience squash with the Hotel's complimentary rackets and balls in their squash courts. Tons of fun!!
Bring your skates as there is public skating at the rink one block away from time to time.
The salt water pool is large and clean, the hot tub worked well and had a great view of the pool so we could keep an eye on the kids while relaxing
Remember to Use the huge downstairs change rooms next to the weight room, they are not co-ed or cramped like the small upstairs room.
The restaurant's new manager/chef is introducing a new sea-food based menu that sounds great. This new manager was very kind and helpful, and his attention to detail was clear as I noticed him running around helping the serving staff during breakfast. There is "pride of ownership" in the staff.
I would love to visit this hotel again in the summer as the patio looks like a blast, and the grounds must be beautiful, as would be the closely located marina and waterfront.
The Gananoque Casino is very close, and lots of fun for the adults.
The spa looks nice, but we didn't get a chance to try.
Note that the treadmills are separate from the weight room, just off the pool, located in the Cardio Room.

Remember, this is more like a bed and breakfast/nice clean motel feel, so don't expect the typical "clinical" feel that comes with a brand new chain hotel. (in that "clinical" sense that can be good.....and bad) No spiral stair case from the 800 square foot lobby to the second floor elevator.....It's easy to tell that it's family owned and operated, and that's refreshing to me, so the imperfect tile work on the bathroom floor is not an issue, in fact it's comforting, if you know what I mean....as it was likely done by the owners themselves, or a local worker.

A warm feeling for great value with lots to do in a small town. Go during the off season and help them out, and have much of the place to yourself!

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are handy as they are close to the car....but you must go outside, then in front door...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FourFenwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpfull, Large salt water indoor pool warm and very clean. Also had hot tub,exercise room including sana. Food good and reasonably priced. We would recommend this hotel and have booked 3 more stays..
Enjoyed the free $15 vouchers to the near buy Casino 10 minutes away.
Complimentary hot/cold breakfast and dinner was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I had decided to get away for our monthly winter night. We usually stay at another local establishment, however, we thought we would try the Best Western to see what their off season rates would be. We knew nothing of the hotel and it's facilities at that time. When we arrived we were advised that there were no rooms available at the off season rate due to a conference being held there, however, just when my husband said his thank you and was about to leave, the owner offered him an upgraded room for the same price. We were delighted to say the least. The room had a four poster bed, queen sized bed, large romantic jacuzzi bath and a fireplace. The owner also gave us complimentary breakfast vouchers. We thought we were in heaven. The room was beautiful, clean and one of the nicest we've ever had. Breakfast was excellent and came to find out that they had an indoor pool with hot tub. We were very pleased with the excellent customer service and will be returning time and time again for our little "get away". We will also be recommending to all of our friends and family about this little "gem".

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Plus points - Room reasonably comfortable, bed was ok. Nice and clean.
Minus points - No refrigerator in room. Bw insist that departing guests turn off the a/c unit, so when new guests arrive at 5pm on a sunny day, the room is nice and hot and stuffy and the a/c unit in our room struggled to control the temperature. We had to leave it on all night and the noise it made gave us a disturbed night. We were at the rear of the hotel well away from the road, but at 9pm some of our neighbours, a group of Harley Davidson owners, thought it would be a good idea to turn their sound system up to level audible in the next province. Between that and the a/c unit, listening to the tv was impossible. Had the noise continued, I would have complained, but at 10.50pm it went quiet, so whether somebody else had complained or the perpetrators took pity on the other guests we don't know. Obviously, this was not a direct fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Got a free stay with the BW chain and chose a place a couple hours from home at Gan.
Was cheerfully greeted upon arrival and offered free vouchers for $15 play at the casino which was a nice bonus!
Rooms are tidy and updated with tile/laminate floors which are great for us as the carpet trapped allergens at most hotels make the stay uncomfortable.
The room was chilly upon arrival and it would be a goos peractice for them to turn up the heat a bit before arrival time for booked rooms.
Hotel has a separate spa of which I was not aware or I'd have made a booking for my wife.
Also, as always seems to be the case when I visit somewhere: the ice machine was out of order and the hot tub was closed for maintenance!!! :(
The pool is big and inviting and the restaurant Good Time Charly's has great service and sumptious food at reasonable prices!
The complimentary hot breakfast featured; sausage, eggs, waffles, toast, cereal, mixed fruit and choice of bevvies.
I think its a good value hotel even at the rack rate. And having stayed next door, I would much prefer to visit thw Bw in Gan and will do again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronzodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Gananoque
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing