We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room that I was given was precisely what I was looking for,convenient location,helpful staff,good complimentary breakfast,some areas need some uplifting,on the whole good place to stay.the pool seemed to be nice and clean but did not get a chance to get in it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japjot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at many BW's and this hotel was not as good as many others my family has stayed in. The pool was warm but you had to bring your bathroom towels with you. I only noticed later a small note in the bathroom telling you to bring towels to the pool. The pool was very dark and not all the lights were on. The jacuzzi was nice. The room itself was ok but the beds could have been better. We had a porch but the outside light didn't work. The halls were old looking and had this sickinly sweet scent that was used to clean with. We had one tiny bottle of shampoo but the hotel front desk gave us more. There was only one person working the front desk and I had to wait for her to get off the phone to check in. But she was very nice and knowledgeable. The next day there was a different person at the front desk and she was nice too. The bathroom faucet didn't work properly either. The corners of the bathroom floor could use some cleaning as well. The breakfast server was great and the breakfast room was very clean. I had some food questions and she answered everything is a polite friendly and professional manor. Even the janitor gave me great directions and was pleasant. Location was great as well. Usually the breakfast area is open 24 hours for juice, coffee or water but this one was closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room close to the breakfast room overlooking the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we stay at best western gananoque it was great staff and very helpful it was milestone weekend. Nice bar and restaurant with deck. our room was very quaint and clean the bed was very comfortable and bathroom had a spacious Jacuzzi tub. indoor pool was very big and hot tub was very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajitpal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Place needs some updating especially in the hallways. Bathroom was not the cleanest and looked like the trim had been painted with the dirt left on it. Just a portable air conditioner that was very noisy to leave on at night and the rooms are not soundproofed at all. $160 per night plus tax is just way too much for a room like this. The bed wasn't too bad for comfortable and the breakfast was great. Would not stay here paying that price again...used my Visa points to pay for it other wise I would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank SUNSANDPLEASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Front desk staff was very welcoming upon arrival. Gave us clear instructions and directions as to where everything was located. Hotel is very easily accessible and located in beautiful Ganonque just minutes from everything you could possibly need. Peaceful spot and very nicely done. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Well woth the stay. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First of all, this hotel is rated as a 2 1/2 star and my review will be based on that level of rating. We rarely use the pool or hot tub or gym so we are more interested in the location, function and cleanliness of the room The room is located in the inner courtyard and feels more like a cottage than a resort. Upon entering the room, you notice that the laminate floor is very soft and bounces when you walk. The furnishings are extremely outdated including the television from the early 90's. The bathroom had black mold around the tub, the towel bar was barely hanging on and several of the tiles were cracked. When you close the front door, the outside light shines in around three sides. Probably not good in the winter. Worst however, is when the people in the unit behind ours run their water, the noise is incredible. When it occurred in the evening, you had to turn the TV up to hear but when it occurred at 6:30 in the morning, we knew our sleep was over. This did allow us to enjoy and average breakfast, with excellent coffee and a wonderfully helpful lady running the breakfast, before the crowd arrived. All in all, we were looking for one night in a clean room. The reason for my 2 rating is because I don't think my room qualifies for any more than that and if the hotel was rated a three star or above instead of 2 1/2, I would have given it a 1. We do not ask for much, but we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 305 or any room in the inner courtyard for that matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

As others have said, this hotel needs a facelift. I think when you see the word "resort" in the name of the place, you expect a little luxury, and that's not here. That being said, our 21-year old son thought the weight room was a really good one (and he works out a lot). I used the "cardio room" with my teenage daughter and while the 4 machines they had were very worn, we were glad to be able to have a treadmill and elliptical to use - along with the heated indoor pool and hot tub. The free breakfast was good - with the usual cereal, yogurt, pastries, fruit and muffins along with a waffle maker, scrambled eggs and sausage. Overall the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#7 of 11 in Gananoque
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing