We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed overnight while going on the 1000 Island cruise. Hotel ressembles a maze - additions to the original buildings resulted in convoluted passages hard to navigate. It seems no matter where you go, you end up at the restaurant. Rooms and bathrooms were large, comfortable and very clean. Not very quiet - slamming of the doors would wake up the dead. Hotel staff was nice and accommodating, plenty of parking and free internet. The breakfast was... included. It consisted on eggs, suassages, muffins, waffles, cereals, some fruits and hot beverages and drinks. It was OK, but nothing special. Indoor pool was very cloudy with too much chemicals in it and the following morning was closed for maintenance. It was too late in the season for outdoor pool. Don't bother with rooms with the view - the view is overrated and the price difference is not worth it. I would still recommend it for an overnighter, but don't expect miracles like we did after reading some glowing reviews - it is a little hotel in a little town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is dated but our king room was very nice with it's own private screend in deck. We got lost trying to find the lobby very poor signage and it felt like we were in a corn maze trying to find our way out. The pool was rather cold. I guess they just filled it up after a busy weekend so that is understandable the hot tub was very nice after a long drive.
The breakfast was one of the worst we have encountered while vacationing. The coffee from the machine seemed to taste like instant coffee YUKK go thing there was a tim hortons next door.
Overall a good place to crash for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brantford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel now every summer for the past 5 years. The staff are very courteous and the rooms are very well equipped. Swimming pool inside and outside is greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to next year Janet Dawson Brock

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was a little dated with a window box air conditioner, a stale and chlorine smell in hallways-- like they needed to be aired, and the mini fridge was cool-- not cold. But the beds were clean and comfortable and had a great sleep. It was just ok-- but truly it was the customer service of the staff that made an average stay above average , making me want to say they were amazing. Kind, agreeable, friendly and professional. Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is by chance that we stopped in Gananoque as we found the road from Quebec to Niagara too long for a one day trip. the hotel has a nice location and the rooms are fine and big enough for a family of 4. Breakfast is not that big and choice very limited. The attraction of the hotel is just the neighborhood with the 1000 islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardschindelholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very nice resort clean rooms friendly staff very helpful bigger rooms then other hotels in town big pool ,gym area and spa very good service and free hot breakfast with sausages and all kind of cereal waffles. enjoy our stay will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although this Best Western is dated, the choice between an outdoor pool and an indoor pool is a bonus. The landscaping is beautiful offering a fountain, pond and lots of green space. The staff friendly. There is a restaurant on the premise offering delicious fare. A lovely spot!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.1 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing