We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gananoque Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Kitchener
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gananoque Best Western”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had travelled just over 1100 km when we arrived at our hotel. It was very comforting to find our room was very clean , quiet, and very comfortable. The staff were most welcoming, particularly Carol the receptionist when we checked in In the morning both the owner and her daughter (independently of each other) enquired about our stay. Very caring people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Office Supervisor at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear James B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I was pleased to read your review and your wonderful comments regarding the hotel and the service you received. Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated as it allows us to improve and provide the best experience for our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Country Squire Resort, we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Front Desk Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    159
    146
    62
    48
See reviews for
215
220
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This Hotel has all the qualities of a modern hotel with the history of a late 70s to 80s resort feeling. The hotel is very clean, has an inside and outside pool including an indoor hot tub. Modern workout facility with squash courts. The breakfast area is clearn, roomy, bright and the breakfast is excellent both hot and cold including, cereal, waffles, eggs, sausages, toast, coffee and real orange juice. Excellent experience at an excellent price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel had a nice country feel despite being located off a busy street. Rooms were private, enjoyed the porch. Room was average, bed was uncomfortable. Hot complimentary breakfast was not worth the price. Nice pool, hot tub and indoor basketball courts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mandala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great value, clean, good brakefast. close to JFK, close to Manhattan, eventhough the sourounding area is poor, we went to eat dinner after arrival from JFK. We were too tired to go into Manhattan. The front desk clerk recomandeded a restaurnt near by "Crescent Grill" 38-40 Crescent St Long Island City, NY 11101 It was a wonderfull experience. Me and my son had one of the best stakes in our life. the rest of the family enjoyed the food and the ambience as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 451124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had a best time at best western. It added a memorable memories to my trip to gananoque. It has a clean rooms, best services and a variety breakfast that added value to it. The service is good and the staff is very cooperative.

Amanda

Room Tip: The rooms on the outer sides are at very reasonable price and have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph,On
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Okay, I'm a city slicker and was dismayed that over the weekend when the hotel was full, anyone could enter the hotel without a key. The outside doors were not locked.

Room 124 - The bathroom taps were installed in reverse - by turning the tap right, hot water was dispensed, cold water by turning the tap to the left - a definite safety hazard!! Located at the front of the hotel the room was clean, had a nice jacuzzi tub, and a fireplace that never did shoot out any heat. The room shook every time neighbouring or outside doors were closed. Far from quiet, it provided many opportunities to eavesdrop on our neighbours - whether we wanted to or NOT! Bring your own tissue - none provided.

Having walked throughout this property, I'm sure it once started as a strip motel. Over the years, they have expanded by adding bits and pieces. I could not find a way to get from the front to the breakfast room without going outside, nor could you walk from the back, without detouring through the restaurant. In summation, very poorly designed, resulting in many uneven walkways that provided many tripping hazards.

Standard freebie breakfast included many mouldy oranges to choose from ... YICK!!!

Room Tip: I'd try the Ramada across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Office Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize for your recent experience at the Best Western Country Squire. Here at the Best Western Country Squire we strive to ensure that our guets are happy and satisfied with each and every stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations . Upon further researching your comments we have informed maintenance and housekeeping depts. regarding the bathroom taps. In regard to your fireplace it is called a
4 - Season fireplace which is for ambiance only. You also mentioned the tripping hazards on our walkways, those walkways will be replaced during the fall of 2013. This property was
brought over less than an year ago, and the new owners will commence renovations in fall
2013, all contracts are signed. Missing amenities, just a quick phone call to the Front Desk,
and tissues would have been delivered to your room. We would like to extend to you and your family
an invitation to stay with us in the future , and we will make sure that we exceed your expectations. I look forward to hearing from you and having you back as a future guest.
Arlene, Front Desk Sup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed overnight while going on the 1000 Island cruise. Hotel ressembles a maze - additions to the original buildings resulted in convoluted passages hard to navigate. It seems no matter where you go, you end up at the restaurant. Rooms and bathrooms were large, comfortable and very clean. Not very quiet - slamming of the doors would wake up the dead. Hotel staff was nice and accommodating, plenty of parking and free internet. The breakfast was... included. It consisted on eggs, suassages, muffins, waffles, cereals, some fruits and hot beverages and drinks. It was OK, but nothing special. Indoor pool was very cloudy with too much chemicals in it and the following morning was closed for maintenance. It was too late in the season for outdoor pool. Don't bother with rooms with the view - the view is overrated and the price difference is not worth it. I would still recommend it for an overnighter, but don't expect miracles like we did after reading some glowing reviews - it is a little hotel in a little town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing