We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...Price is right!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Squire Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location...Price is right!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked one night at that place...Room 210. Nice room, comfortable and spacious. Great value with Groupon including a bottle of wine , coupon for spa and casino. Breakfast was good, not too many choices but served with a smile.. Special waffles can also be ordered.and they are very good.

Great service at the reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissi054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sissi054,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We are pleased to read you kind comments and glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve and provide the best service possible for each guest.

We hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    155
    140
    60
    45
See reviews for
209
212
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Pros: Room was fine for what we paid - ground level, spacious, and clean (it also had a single person jet bath which we did not try). The hotel is quite close to the casino - we were able to walk there in about 15-20 minutes. My wife also seemed to really enjoy her time at the spa, which was very reasonably priced.

Cons: We found the common areas - halls, lobby, etc - were, at best, cold and bare, and in places did not look very clean. The hotel also a bit of a funny layout - to get to the front desk from our room we had to go through the pool deck! Further, we found the front desk staff to not be the most helpful; they were unable to give us a recommendation for a nearby restaurant or tell me how much a cab would cost (despite cabs in Gananoque charging a flat rate) and just generally didn't seem to know the area very well. Finally, the "hot breakfast" was cereal, muffins, watered-down coffee, and some scrambled eggs. It wasn't terrible, but - like the rest of the hotel - it was just barely "OK".

Summary: If you're just looking for a cheap night's stay and don't need any luxury, this is a fine place to stay. If you want something a little nicer, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear David F,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort! As your feedback provides us the opportunity to provide the best experience possible for each guest, we value your feedback. You comments have been given to staff and management at the hotel, and as spring is approaching we are working on updating and upgrading the areas of the hotel. We hope to see you in the future!

Thank you,

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Place was not that busy .Buildings were clean and warm. Their pool and jacuzzi a great treat after a winter drive.The breakfast selection was limited -- ( probably to be expected at quieter
times). The waffles are good and made to order served with a smile.
This hotel is decent base for travellers going to or from Ottawa Montreal and Toronto,touring the Thousand Islands sights or just going to the Casino.
Caseys bar is independently owned is attached to hotel. Food is good basic selection and good enough to
save time and trouble of more driving searching for a local eatery.

Room Tip: The grounds look enchanting even if most everything is under a meter of snow. It must be relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Norm L,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we strive to continuously provide and improve our service, you feedback is greatly appreciated and valued. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great Location, close to Hwy 401. Room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Breakfast next morning was satisfying.Great value. Package included a bottle of wine,coupon for spa and also for Casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Respresentative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Ron D,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Best Western Country Squire Resort! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously provide and improve each and every guests experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for one night in July/2013 because we wanted to visit the nearby Gananoque Casino. Room was clean but beds were like sleeping on flat rocks! They need better outdoor lighting esp. in alleyways. Breakfast was okay - do it yourself waffles were delicious... Tim Horton's right next door for coffee runs!

Room Tip: Main Building rooms look nicer than outdoor ones were. Indoor Pool was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear LeaonardLi,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve the hotel and provide the best possible experience for each guest. I have informed staff and management of your comments, and throughout the winter months we have been updating and upgrading the hotel. I hope to see you again in the future, so we can show you how we have improved!

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We decided to stay in Gananoque rather than Kingston to visit the thousand islands. We were not disappointed. Gananoque is a very nive small town, probably less touristy than Kingstone. We went at the end of September so was pretty quite.
We stayed at the Best Western hotel for 2 nights and were very happy with it. They have great facilities including a swimming pool, jacuzzi and hot breakfast. The staff was nice and helpful, advised us of the best boat tour to purchase, etc. It wasn't expensive either so good value for money.
It is only 5 minutes drive from town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjo1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Marjo1609,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Best Western Country Squire Resort. I was pleased to read your kind comments, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As your feedback allows us to continuously improve our services and provide the best experience possible for each guest, we value your comments. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed there at the beginning of December. I was surprised by the huge property the hotel owned. It is probably a very fun place to stay in the summer with a lot of outdoor activities. The hotel was a bit out dated, but the rooms were clean and big with no complaints. We stayed in the same hallway as the breakfast room which was nice to have a short walk in the morning. Breakfast was what I expected, all carbs. Waffles, toast, oatmeal were available. The front desk was very nice and allowed us to check in early and check out late. Parking was easy, and we went to the restaurant attached to the hotel which had good food. I paid about $75 a night, but I wouldn't stay here for $100/night.

Room Tip: Inside hotel is not very well labelled, so just start opening unlabelled doors if you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Front Desk Representative at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear travellor5,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Throughout the winter months we have been upgrading and updating the hotel, as we are much busier in the summer. We hope to see you again in the future, so we can show you how we have improved!

Sincerely,

Bridgit Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.7 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Squire Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Squire Resort & Spa

Property: Country Squire Resort & Spa
Address: 715 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada (Formerly Best Western Country Squire Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Squire Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Gananoque hotel and enjoy a host of convenient amenities while traveling in Ontario, Canada. Country Squire Resort & Spa is conveniently located to Highway 401, Highway 2, and Thousand Islands Parkway with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Visitors will be just a short drive from OLG 1000 Islands Casino, Thousand Islands Playhouse, Boldt Castle and scenic boat tours of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Squire Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Country Squire Hotel Gananoque
Best Western Gananoque
Gananoque Best Western
Country Squire Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing