We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Night Stay and a Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Ok, For the money we all know that this is not the Ritz. We stopped on the way back from Kingston bacause it had a pool and the weather wwas hot. To our surpise it had a spa and an opening for my wife to get a massage.

The rooms were average. The hot water was a bit of an issue for showers. However, for the price it is wahat you would expect.

The pool was clean and enjoyable, the breakfast was a buffet and included with the room. They had a cute tranquility room and an indoor pool as well. My wife's massage was great!

Over all, it is to be recommended for the cost. We had just spent a fortune at the Waring House and this was the perfect last day of our trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. We took the king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Very old rooms. Bed is so hard, you cant sleep whole night on it, you need to stretch half way the night. Realy need to change the matrasses.
Friendly staff.
The mentioned WiFi in every room, its NOT true. No connection in your room, and poor WiFi quality in the main building.
Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irma_en_edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I came here to go on the 1000 Island Bost cruise and ended up at this old motel because all other Corporate Chain hotels here and in Kingston had been fully booked as a result of it being a long- weekend. I am sitting in the room as we write this and we do agree with all the others on the negativity of this place. It is very old, moldy, and sketcy. Cant believe we r in Canada with places like this that they call "resorts" which is by all means no where near near that. The thing that got us through the night was the fact that we r only here for the night. We payed 130.00 for this grungy motel. This place is ok for a quick sleep but we too contmplated on sleeping in the suv instrad. I hope we didnt catch any bed bugs. This place is not for people under the age of 50 or kids. Spend ur $$$ elsewhere. This is a 2.5 star in Toronto.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessPT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Hotel is just out Gananoque, on an highway. It's like a motel and the position is not very good.
Outside pool is little and very near the street, not very clean. The indoor pool... terrible.
Staff is kindly and available.
Rooms are not very clean, but big, and furnishing is old or not nice.
Breakfast is really poor and not very good.
Expensive for what they offer, very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeopleTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Every year for the past eight years, I have travelled with a group of lucky Toronto seniors who have had the good fortune of spending five or six days each summer at the Colonial Resort & Spa in Gananoque, Ontario. I can't say how highly I recommend this resort.

From the time you arrive and are greeted by your genial hosts, Jean and Michelle, at their welcoming punch orientation, you are treated with much consideration and respect by all of the staff members.

The accommodations are well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The grounds of the property are also well-maintained and attractive.

Breakfast and dinner are included each day. For dinner, you usually have about four selections to choose from -- in advance. The meals are well prepared and delicious!!

They have a beautiful outdoor swimming pool (my favourite), as well as a smaller swimming pool and whirlpool inside the spa area. Excellent day trips are also included to take you outside the resort each day. There are plenty of activities at the resort itself to keep you busy, if you decide not to go on the day trips. They also have entertainment each evening, starting at 8 p.m.

You would have to go a long way to beat the value received at the Colonial Resort. The group I travel with have already booked us a spot for next year. I have already signed myself up (as have many others in our group), and am eagerly looking forward to vacationing there again next year in 2013.

TRULY, FUN IN THE SUN!!

Pat O --- Toronto, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a number of pleasant trips to the Colonial Resort and Spa in Gananoque my wife and I were leaders of a group of 39 seniors, which included three with walkers and one on oxygen, in July of this year. To say we were well treated by Michelle, Jean and the rest of the staff would be an understatement. They all did all that they could to make us comfortable and feel at home. In fact after all these years they feel like an extended family to us.

The food was well prepared with choices offered for each sitting.
The cruise to Wolfe Island was a first for us and was enjoyed by all. Also the hour cruise around Bolte Castle ws very popular.

Gananoque offered a lot of pleasant shops and great restaurants whenever we were in town.
The indoor and outdoor pools were put to good use by most of us.
There was a good variety of entertainment offered as well.

Our group ws so happy with the way that we were treated that we have booked out dates for next year. Already we have received requests from new people to be included in next years trip. That in it'self says a lot.
Comfortable rooms, good food, and great staff. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was my first time traveling with a large group of people. It was an organized trip. Michelle and Jean were both welcoming and very helpful. Since I work in the hospitality field I was pleased to find the cleanliness of not just my room but the whole place to be first rate. I would like to steal their cook as the meals were amazing. Not only would I return but I will definiately recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.9 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.8 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: 780 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £54 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Resort & Spa is a full service property situation on 10 relaxing acres. We are seasonal (May 1 to October 25). We have 54 guests rooms including some rooms with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. We have a gift shop, bar, spa, indoor heated pool, steam room, sauna, hot tub as well as an outdoor pool, shuffleboard, horseshoes, bocce ball, and walking path. We are close to the 1000 Islands Cruise, helicopter rides, theatre, casino, Fort Henry and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gananoque
Colonial Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing