We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the resort :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the resort :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I simply loved the ambiente there! The pool was great - although they close it at night. Breakfast was good as well. The rooms are nice too, a bit dark, but still okay. Unfortunatelly they turn off the wifi at night, but during the day the wifi was great! :) I will come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViktoriaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    68
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
47
78
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Small room, pool was not clean. Wifi didn't work. Felt it was not worth the money. Would have been okay if cheaper.
We did get breakfast. Rooms were clean. The layout was nice and it was quiet and in the quieter part of town (about 3kms on road out of town)

Not sure if we'd stay here again at this price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Current, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I went on a bus trip with Sookram bus tours from Sudbury Ontario, with a friend to the 1000 Islands and we stayed at the Colonial Resort and Spa in Gananoque Ontario. The resort was very nice and all breakfasts and suppers were included as well as the day excursions on this 5 day trip. The grounds were lovely and the meals were excellent. they had aheated indoor pool and a spa there as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. we also had nightly entertainment who were very good. The only drawback was that they didn't have elevators and my friend used a walker.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yvonnesellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I went on holidays with my family, spent 2 nights.
This is a road motel, very close to Gananoque (15 minutes walk).
General facilities and environment are very good and nice: one outdoor swimming pool, and indoor swimming pool with sauna and massage room.
Nice dinning room and average breakfast.
Staff very attentive and nice.
The room was not very nice, though, beds big but not very comfortable, little light.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaDiGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I guess when you return to a certain place year after year, there must be something special when you get there. The owners and workers are so nice, and make sure we are well looked after. What more would you want than a comfortable room, great food, entertainment every
night and lots of things to do on site. Then there are trips you can choose to go on, or do
nothing but relax. Every year we have a full coach, 47 people having a super time. Thanks
Colonial Inn for a great holiday.

Rosemary Craig
Lindsay Seniors Assoc.
Lindsay, Ontario.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We just returned today from a great experience staying there for 2 nights. Staff are amazing and more then accommodating. We rented the deluxe King room with fireplace and double jacuzzi - was our mini honeymoon. This resort was right up our alley - outdoor shuffleboard, bocce area, gazebos to enjoy lunch or a snack, inside games room yay more games pool table, checkers, cribbage, darts, fun guests. A tour bus travelling from France was a lot of fun. Lovely 10 acreage of property - all on one level. Indoor heated pool and hot tub were very clean, loved both the sauna and steam room. Massage services is a must. Definately going back next year. If your a snotty traveller that snivels and needs constant attention not recommended for you. We loved every minute of our time and enjoyed our surroundings - so relaxed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D'Arcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I traveled with a seniors group and was very pleased with our experience. We were greeted by the managers, had all the amenities explained to us when we arrived including easy access routes. Our group was placed in rooms next to each other which made for great socializing. Within an hour, one of the managers arrived to check out a stain on the counter that the cleaning staff had noticed and made sure it was removed (and gave us the tip) by dinner hour. I really enjoyed the indoor pool, the hot tub and the outdoor activities that were provided. Our package included tours to Kingston, an hour cruise on the St. Lawrence and the casino, all transportation included. If you are looking for a high class, expensive place, this may not be for you, but it is terrific as a resort centre for family excursion to the area and lots for your group to do onsite. We spoke to many that use this location as a yearly holiday resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litlolme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: 780 King St W, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Resort & Spa is a full service property situation on 10 relaxing acres. We are seasonal (May 1 to October 25). We have 54 guests rooms including some rooms with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. We have a gift shop, bar, spa, indoor heated pool, steam room, sauna, hot tub as well as an outdoor pool, shuffleboard, horseshoes, bocce ball, and walking path. We are close to the 1000 Islands Cruise, helicopter rides, theatre, casino, Fort Henry and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Gananoque
Colonial Resort & Spa Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing