We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Homeless with Absolute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites
Ranked #11 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Having sold our home we needed a short term rental with plenty of space, sunshine, character, incredible hosts, and plenty of charm. We found all of that and more here at Absolute 1000 Islands Suites. Phil and Petra are awesome hosts. As an added bonus, we had a month long vacation during our stay by exploring Gananoque in our running shoes. There's a beautiful waterfront pathway. Wooded trails surround the town. I felt like a kid again running through the pine forests and rocky outcroppings. Downtown we found the perfect floor lamp from Indonesia for our new home, and we enjoyed the Socialist Pig for lunch every weekend.
So don't be homeless ever again. Have some fun at Absolute, even in November.

Room Tip: They are all very nice. We stayed on the second floor, south facing suite. Great river view and ston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiceGuyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed there for 2 weeks with my husband and daughter. The suite is very tastefully decorated and was very sunny and bright. It was very clean and had gorgeous hardwood flooring- a pleasure to look at. The living room window had a stunning view of the lake and sun rise every morning. We were amazed how happy we were as it felt just like home away from home. The full kitchen is so thoughtfully equipped that for a person like me who cooks from scratch every day there wasn't even a single item that I missed to prepare a perfect meal for my family. My daughter had an extremely busy schedule training as a doctor, and she looked forward to coming home and relax in the beautiful living room. The hosts are extremely nice, very helpful and professional.

We would not stay anywhere else when we are in that area again. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a beautiful place to stay and yet want to get the biggest bang for their buck.

The overall experience exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peaceloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, but would have liked it to be much longer. Apartment was full of character and a very relaxing place to return to after the excellent sightseeing in Gananoque. We found Philip and Petra wonderful hosts. They provided us with lots of tips, anecdotes, jokes and tales and other useful advice. All in all, a great place to stay. Thoroughly recommendable.

Room Tip: The loft was lovely with stairs leading up to an interesting little tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The photos do not capture this lovely place on the inside. The exterior is as foto´d -- indeed quite remarkable period style. The apartments are very larger and brighter, more stylish than appear in the fotos. Peter and Philipa are perfect hosts, not intrusive but very welcoming and helpful. The setting is ideal for an off-the-beaten-path visit to this part of the world - away from the bustle of the main street and waterside. Yet everything is within easy walking distance, including the ferry, the main street, parks, etc. No big tourist draws, so no big crowds. The kitchen was well-stocked with pots and dishes etc, and our hosts had included some fresh sweet bread, berries and yoghurt in the fridge, as well as butter and cream. Enjoyed sleeping in the fresh air, and the sounds of birds and churchbells on Sunday morning. Nice place to escape and rest.

Room Tip: Maple room was wonderful. Futon bed in the living room was comfortable too. Bathroom is much larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family group of eight people took four of these rooms (suites) which was really all of the house - apart from the Cottage. We had travelled to Canada to attend a family wedding in Toronto and came to Gananoque to relax for a few days afterwards. This accommodation lived up to all our expectations - reasonably priced, but wonderfully spacious and with all amenities we could want. Petra and Philip were on hand throughout our five night stay, although everyhting we needed was already provided. We loved Gananoque - very quaint and relaxing. We did some kayaking, went to a play at the Playhouse, went on one of the boat trips round the islands - and did a lot of walking! We had a great time...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have vacationed in Gananoque for many years and tried a cottage, resort and staying on a family sailboat, but here I think we found our spot for years to come. We stayed for four nights. We have two small boys and the Sunshine suite on the second floor was perfect. Spacious, with lots of room for them to play and sleep. Suite was clean and unique. The location was great, within walking distance to shopping, the beach and restaurants.

We did have a little issue trying to keep our boys quiet in the early morning, but that's just the charm of Victorian house. I think we would look to the first floor suites next time. Surprisingly, we didn't hear much noise from other suites.

Phillip and Petra were very helpful and welcoming, helping with any requests and we could ask for whatever we needed done to clean the suite each day. The only suggestion I would have is a better lock on the suite doors but that was pretty much it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent just one night here on our long road trip. The place was very nice - we got the loft suite, with great views and spacious rooms. The suite was nicely furnished, and clean. The location was ideal, within walking distance to the wharf to catch the cruise, and also to the small downtown shopping area. We went to Kingston in the evening to walk around Queen's and downtown... And had a great Italian dinner.

A nice breakfast would have been nice to round off the experience ... We had trouble finding a decent place to the eat the next morning (Sunday).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006svk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
0.4 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
526 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
7.0 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#4 of 12 in Gananoque
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaway Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute 1000 Islands Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute 1000 Islands Suites

Address: 22 Church St, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2M8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: £84 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute 1000 Islands Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the great location and affordable elegance of our historic mansion to make your stay as unique as the 1000 islands. Our condo-suites combine heritage with contemporary design where you can enjoy modern convenience at the most reasonable rates.Each 700 sqft suite offers a living room, Queen size bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and dining area, free wifi, HDTV and free parking for up to 4 guests. We are steps away from the marina, beach, cruises restaurants and shopping. We also speak German and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Absolute 1000 Islands Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing