We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great casual lunch food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Socialist Pig

The Socialist Pig
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great casual lunch food!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Recently enjoyed a wonderful lunch on a perfect day on the patio. We enjoyed the fish tacos and the brisket quesadilla. Both were really wonderful and the service was great. I really loved the yams in the quesadilla--unique and delicious!!!!

The only reason I didn't give it a five star for a casual lunch is that the deck atmosphere is just blah. We were there on a perfect June day but there wasn't a flower, or art or sculpture of any kind, just lots of lumber with no other view to delight the eye and help to prepare for the wonderful meal that awaits.

My husband loves the coffee house beside the restaurant. Great coffee and really fun vibe and a great spot to use the wifi when in from the islands on a rainy day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    94
    27
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just espresso coffee stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did not eat in this place,but if you like espresso coffee,this place for you in Gananoque
Good coffee,relaxing atmosphere and unusual but nice decoration.

.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, but frugal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfect place to have lunch after the Gananoque boatline cruise (the one that starts at 10 am and lasts 2h30), especially if you spend much of the 10 000 islands visit on the upper deck, under a cloudy sky and with temperatures close to 10°C ! My wife and I took respectively : the tofu + homemade Coke, the Shoal burger + tea, for about 30 CAD. Very good food made with local farm fresh ingredients, nice service... in a restaurant called "The Socialist Pig" in Gananoque (!) : walls are covered with texts and pictures talking about "revolution" and "communities" in South America. Such a baroque place !!! One drawback though : plates are quite frugal ; if you're very hungry, maybe you should go somewhere else...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medemeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“So cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Cool vibe and the delicious food. I absolutely fish tacos and Memphis chilled cheese sandwich!!!!! Check out the antics store as well...

Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheworld2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Good coffee. Interesting place to grab brunch, lunch or breakfast. Food is eclectic and tasty. Good variety of choices. Service us friendly. Get the eggs bene! And a Bodum of coffee.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tulips65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Socialist Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing