We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and restfull weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This seemed to be one of the nicer hotels in the area that was not a bed and breakfast. We were able to bring our dog with us, which was nice. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very nice nad the room was great. We had a suite with a hot tub, which was very nice and the bed was amazing. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid in advance to get the lower deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just stayed here for a quick overnight stay to check out the Thousand Islands. Decent hotel, clean, beds were very comfortable. Right off major highway, near the casino and restaurants. Lots of parking. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeannca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Clean. Friendly staff. Good breakfast...though the fruits were limited. Great lady looking after the breakfast. Good quality roll-away extra bed. My wife said the beds were heavenly.

I did bring a few things to the attention of the hotel staff because they were annoying. The toilet didn't work properly and started backing up and water flowed all night...and I didn't have my tools to fix it. They never came to fix it before we left -which was a bummer since we have small kids. The door was jamming and had to be pushed open with my shoulder. The tub drain was broken so we had to pry it up with a stir straw for water to go down. (A good cleaning person would have known that.) And the iron did not work properly. Kept shorting out. I waited for a week to write this to see if they would acknowlege any of this, but they didn't. Of course these things wouldn't be true of all the rooms, but that is just our experience.

There are not many restaurants, but sufficient in the area. Gananoque is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ice is on the 1st floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mapersaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your response, I am sorry I didn't respond to your comment card sooner as I explained when speaking with you earlier today there was a slight misunderstanding amongst my staff. However I would like to reassure you that we had the maintenance issues resolved as soon as we saw your comments and if any issues arrive while staying with us in the future if you contact the front desk as soon as it happens we will send our maintenance department to the room immediately. Thank you again.

Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Much better in the winter months than the Summer
You don't feel like your being pushed out the door

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb9088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

In the summer we strive to accommodate our guests needs and requests as best as we can, however it is true that in the winter time Gananoque is a lot quieter and therefore our hotel is less busy making for a more relaxing stay and better enjoyment of our breakfast facilities. Each season has it's pros and cons and it varies depending on what you are looking to do while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Went to Gananoque for the boat cruise and decided to spend the night. Checked out a couple of the other places but they were old. Found this new Holiday Inn Express, it was the only new place on the strip., Paid a little more than the old places were chaging but well worth it. Close to casino and 1000 islands cruise. HIghly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My family stayed for 2 nights and went on the cruise of the islands. I liked this hotel because it includes breakfast and it was really clean. The people all smile and helped us with directions in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Friendly hotel with free parking. The rooms are good size and have 2 double beds. The air conditioning was great and necessary in July. There was free wi-fi internet access which was very handy to plan your trip and to buy tickets. There are numerous restaurants nearby within walking distance.

The thousand Islands cruises start from Gananoque and there was free parking behind the ticket office. We also took the free ferry from Kingston to Wolfe Island and spent a fabulous day cycling around the island's beautiful scenerey and wildlife. Ask at the tourist office on Wolfe island, you will be directed to a private home on the main street where a man rents out bicycles by the day or hald day. The bicycles are all just about functional and will get you around. There is a buffalo farm on Wolfe Island, which we visited but the animals were i the distant field and not nearby to view adequately. In the evening a "Ghost Tour" of Fort Henry which also featured on the Ghost Hunters on TV is about 10 miles away from Gananoque which was good fun and gives insight into the history of the area.

This Hotel provides complimentary breakfast too, which was nice. We also used the indoor salt water swimming pool one afternoon, it was lovely and refreshing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BJDorani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for staying at our hotel we are very happy that you had such a great experience while staying at our hotel. I would like to make note that we use Bromine in our pool not salt water, I only mention this so that people are not confused when staying with us in the future. We look forward to you staying with us when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 11 in Gananoque
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing