We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, New Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, New Facilities”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked this hotel as an in-between for many of the places that we wanted to visit while in the 1000 Islands on the Canadian side. It had free breakfast, a pool, gym and Wi-fi, all of which were all important to us. An added bonus was the sauna in the pool area and the outdoor deck in the back. We found the breakfast to be well stocked each morning with a very friendly attendant, but we never saw the token pancake machine and cinnamon rolls that Holiday Inn Express advertises. Even the hotel lobby has a sign noting the pancakes?!? Having stayed at this chain many times, these are just items that you come to look forward too. The initial room that we were placed in would not cool down and sounded as though there were coins rattling around in the AC unit. On the second morning, we went to the front desk to discuss this and got the impression that we just did not know how to use an AC unit. We did not appreciate this at all! We were offered an upgrade and room move for the remainder of our stay. Both rooms were very nice and offered comfortable beds. The second room clearly had a working AC unit that kept temperature as set without making noises or turning on/off constantly. This is definitely a convenient location for many attractions! We would choose this property again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, you will want a room near the elevator as the halls are long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHMR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    183
    37
    13
    3
See reviews for
160
198
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a night. It's a basic Holiday Inn hotel, closer to the casino than the waterfront. There are bars and restaurants in the area.
When entering the hotel for the first time, there was a really strong odor. The odor vanished the next day. The rooms are allright, even though our bathroom wasn't very clean as there were hairs in the bathtub. The TV is a bit of a hassle to figure out at first, the wifi works intermittently. It was down for several hours in the morning.
The breakfast room is ok, but one would hope for Holiday Inn to be more ecological. They were using paper plates, styrofoam cups and plastic cutlery. This is fine for a picnic, but at a hotel one would expect that proper plates and cutlery would be in use.
The most negative aspect, is the poor sound insulation in the hotel. The room doors SLAM shut, and this is very annoying as every door being shut can be heard in your room. Also, someone was smoking in their room, and the cigarette smoke smelled in the hallway for hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear alo6,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked your room accommodations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed there one night. While I don't normally mind the noise of fans, the cooling unit was quite loud. The TV remote is not user friendly but I am told they are looking at alternatives. Room was clean and the backside view was more pleasant than the front parking lot. Upon check-in, we were given keys to the wrong room and that could have proven embarrassing if someone had been there. Overall, still a good place to stay and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We came for the weekend to take a cruise of the 1000 islands from Gananoque.
The hotel, room, and morning buffet were exactly what we have learned to enjoy at the Holiday Inn hotels. Large rooms, comfortable beds, and reasonably priced. Located only a short distance from the waterfront and easily accessible to restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjoek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Went back to this hotel last weekend after a good visit last year. Thousand Islands are a cool little tourist stop with the cruises and the neat islands so we decided to go for a weekend.

Went back to the Holiday Inn as it was easily accessible from the highway and is clean and affordable. You know what you are going to get when you stay here which is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We just stayed here June 10 and really enjoyed ourselves. The front desk staff were helpful, the room was clean and spacious and the pool was warm enough that I actually went for a swim. The room itself was very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Our room had a flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. Morning breakfast was great and check out was easy. I will definitely stay again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: We had room 153 and found it quiet and close to the side parking lot and door for easy loading and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Lazare-de-Bellechasse, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel a couple of month ago and can only recommended it. The front desk staff was polite and efficient. We felt welcomed.The room was surprisingly large with two double beds and well appointed with a large flat screen TV, a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker. Bedroom and bathroom were spotless. Beds were comfortable with good linen and lots of towels were available in the bathroom. Water pressure was great, hairdryer was supplied.
Breakfast was included and there were many choices, something for everyone. The indoor pool was an added bonus. The location is great, close to everything. We definitely plan to stay there again.
Pierre & Heidi Courtois, St. Lazare, Que.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidemarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing