We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great room”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Great to, great staff, awful breakfast just go next door to tim hortons .
Very clean room, quiet and well appointed.
Really could not fault anything except breakfast, poor choice, no where to sit, and the food was not cooked well. But, I would still stay here again and probably will.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vapochilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    179
    34
    13
    1
See reviews for
151
193
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The staff of this very beautiful clean hotel went 'beyond the call of duty'. Very courteous, helpful, willing to serve to ensure complete satisfaction and did all they could to bring customers back over and over. Well done Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express - primarily based on the other reviews listed here. The hotel is certainly a lot nicer than the named brand ones in the area. The rooms are very clean, comfortable - and even though the hotel was full - quiet. Breakfast was a nice variety of hot and cold options - including an automatic pancake maker! There's miniature golf next door that also serves ice cream - and a Tim Hortons and McDonalds within walking distance. All in all, a great option when visiting that part of the 1000 Islands.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I made a return visit to this hotel because our previous visit (August/12) was so positive. Hotel is on main street but set back from the busy road. Booked this room on-line and were pleased with the rate. Staff were efficient and friendly. We found our room clean, the bed firm but very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. Continental breakfast was good with an attendant re-filling coffee pots, etc. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born2Fly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff are friendly. The location is not the best, it is not that close to the boat cruises or the main area of town. It is walkable but it isn't a short walk. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was very unappealing.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justatravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed one night (Friday July 12) on the way to Lake Placid. Considering the room was about $250, I expected a half decent breakfast. What a disappointment. The only eggs were rubbery round shape blobs, the only meat I saw was sausage in similar shape that looked like greasy hamburgers, and what I assume were 'mufffins' were slightly larger than a thimble and sugary. Orange juice was nowhere to be found, nor hot water, as only one overworked woman seemed to be working the entire breakfast area, and could not keep up with restocking things and cleaning. On checkout, I mentioned my concerns, and was offered $30 off the room, but I will not return here. The location is just off the 401 in non descript area near casino, but nowhere near the water. I will book earlier next time and stay at Gananoque Inn, which is far superior to this place in almost every way.

Frank

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank frankd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear frankd53,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. It was good to hear that the issues you encountered was rectified appropriately. Our goal is to provide superior customer service and a unique stay to all of our guests. We are sorry your stay was negatively affected by the breakfast choices you received which did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will be addressed with the appropriate department to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Modern hotel in a quaint little town. Certainly priced high compared to other Holiday Inn Express's. Staff were friendly and there were some Casino coupons available at check-in. Even priority points requirements were extremely high, I avoid using this place if it were for loyalty points only.

Room Tip: Not within walking distance to local tourist attractions except casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd_031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
7.2 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing