We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Other then the total disregard to the environment (no recycling whatsoever, plastic utensils in breakfast room etc) i would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed in a king suite with double jacuzzi tub and shower and the room and staff were excellent. This is by far the best chain hotel in town. Even the free breakfast was surprisingly good and i rarely if ever eat hotel breakfasts. If you are staying in the area this is the place to stay even though it is a little pricey (we paid $210/night).

  • Liked — The double jacuzzi tub and shower
  • Disliked — Disregard for the environment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    177
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
147
190
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Perfect, solid,clean, easy to find, with good breakfast,nice front desk staff hotel. Also, a as plus, the hotel offers a casino package.

The only 3 things that bothered us were as follows:
- in the breakfast area they have a waffle maker, which, as one might guess, no everyone knows how to operate. Instructions were not so much provided, so one had to figure it out for himself how to use it. As a consequence, things did not come out as planned and the breakfast staff that appeared on site only when the issues arrived, was rather rude. After making us feel like dirt with her attitude, she sarcastically said that she would make the waffle, so we had no option but to sit at a table and wait for the waffle. While we were waiting, my partner got up to bring some forks when he heard the lady lady badmouthing us to another lady that was sitting at another table. We decided to ignore her comment and not allow her to ruin our day.
- the room's main window seemed to have had the property to be opened by the people in the room, if so desired, yet, not only was it extremely tall and unreachable, it was also impossible to open
- the bathroom door had an incredibly weird smell, that seemed to persist during our entire stay. We think it might have been an agent used to paint the door as to protect it in case of fire.

We cannot say anything about the pool, as he had not used it. Outside, at the same level with the pool, there was a nice little terrace with a nice view.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Breakfast staff, windows that did not work, interesting bathroom door smell
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mira_que_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This hotel seems to be the newest in the area, and was certainly much nicer than all the other budget hotels (they are all located in the same area).

The room was all new and clean, although not very big.

The pool was very small, it can't really accomodate more than 3/4 people, and was quite busy so we never got to use it.

The laundry was very useful, although at the sister chain Candlewood the laundry is free - they should extend this to HI Express too.

The location is good for access to the boat trips, restaurants, bars and the casino (where I got quite lucky and won enough money to pay for surf & turf at the lobster trap!).

  • Liked — it was new
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

This is a stellar hotel, far superior to many Holiday Inns. The room was large, sparkling clean, and the amenities of the hotel far exceeded the modest rate ($126/night in April). The staff were consistently helpful and the complementary breakfast was a nice touch. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spacious room
  • Disliked — Sauna and pool closed at 10 pm
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank veracityCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Great location for 1000 islands, I booked a suite with whirlpool bath for my 2 night stay out of season. Loved the room, enormous 42" plasma, fireplace, whilrpool batch great shower - worth the extra $40.No bar but Charlies nextdoor is OK and Casino is 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We Have Just Returned From Another Great Stay At The Holiday Inn Express In Gananoque. We Decided To Stay There When They First Opened And Have Never Been Disappointed . The Service Is Excellent And The Friendly Staff Goes Above Their Duties To Make Your Stay Exceptional. The Breakfast Is Great, And The Dining Area Is Extremely Clean. (And So Are The Rooms) I Have Never Stayed Anywhere That I Have Enjoyed More Then This Holiday Inn Express. The Entire Staff Is Customer Service Oriented And I Look Forward To Our Next Stay.
Thanks To All The Staff At The Holiday Inn Express.
BUFFALO, NY

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly and Service
  • Disliked — There is nothing I don't like about this place!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBuffaloUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Our party of 6 stopped here late in the evening on our way to Ottawa. Due to an impending snow storm we stayed here for the night. We were walk in's and were given a very competitive rate as we knew in advance what some of the competitors were charging. Room was large and clean with high ceilings. Temperature controls were easy to use. Washroom was clean. Room had a microwave oven and mini fridge. Location was great, just off of Hwy. 401. Breakfast, included in the cost consisted of a buffet, was continental with some additional items. Very clean and restocked often. There was also an indoor pool, which we did not have the opportunity to use. A pleasant surprise as we did not plan this visit in advance. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean, reasonable price, very nice breakfast buffet, large room.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
7.2 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing