We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My daughter and her two teenage boys and I have travelled to Paris, France, Athens, Greece, and Toronto, Camada during the month of July 2009. On our way home from Toronto, we stopped in Gananoque for a night. We took two rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Suites, and were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the suite and room we were given. The cleaning staff do an excellent job. The bathrooms sparkled and the beds were pristine. The rugs had been vacuumed and the air smelled fresh. The air conditioning worked well, and the amenities are wonderful. It is nice to have a fridge where you can keep a cold drink, and the use of a microwave and coffee machine. I wish all hotels were kept in like manner. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable, clean, and well cared room. Kudos to the cleaning staff. They do a terrific job!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhdwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel.

It's great to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. Satisfaction is always our number one goal and positive comments, such as yours help to further reinforce those goals and encourage us to keep striving for the best.

We do hope that you'll be able to make it back to Gananoque in the future and of couse, we'd love to have you stay with us.

Until then,

Matt,
on behalf of all the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express 1000 Islands/Gananoque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    183
    37
    13
    3
See reviews for
160
198
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Check in:
Was fast, but when I asked for information on the town and where to eat, the clerk told me she didn't know anything about Gananoque because she didn't live there! She went to get the manager, who seemed very put off that I was asking questions about what to see and where to eat. When I asked, where is a great place to eat , she rolled her eyes at me and said anywhere....
Room:
Clean and well equipped.
Location:
Right off the highway, about a five minute drive to the lake.
You have to cross busy street in order to get something to eat nearby, otherwise it is a drive into town.

Service:
The check in clerk was friendly but the manager must hate her job, because she was as rude as they get! I asked her if they had a cork screw she replied "yep" but never gave one to me... I told her that our internet wasn't working and her response was a blank stare and a comment on how she has never had problems with the internet before and it should work... not even an offer to get someone to help us. I am sure if there was another, polite, manager on duty, I would have had a pleasant experience at the hotel.
Amenities:
Pool, laundry facilities, continental breakfast, (very basic and not fresh), free internet access, clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this review, 14 May 2009
I would like to respond to one additional item...regarding the following statement

"continental breakfast, (very basic and not fresh)"

Our continental breakfast is far from basic and is quite expanded in comparison to a traditional continental breakfast.

It includes cereal (4 choices), bagels, english muffins, toast (cream cheese, variety of jams, peanut butter, margerine, butter), oatmeal, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, sausage or bacon (alternates day by day), warm cinnamon buns, coffee, selection of teas, orange juice, apple juice, hot chocolate, milk.

Outside of French Toast, pancakes or Eggs Benedict, what else is there for breakfast? Not to mention that it is FREE with your overnight room.

As for freshness, everything is prepared fresh throughout the morning and our hot items are replaced every 30 minutes to ensure freshness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, ON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This is fantastic hotel.
Great rooms, great amenities and a courteous, helpful staff.
Close to all attractions in the 1000 islands and also to the Casino just down the street.
Rooms have large screen TV's and our room even had a fireplace and jacuzzi.
Great value here -- will definately be staying here next time I am in Gananoque!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysontheroad2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_EX_GAN_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
I thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to being your hosts in the future.

Until then, safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at this motel after reading reviews in TripAdvisor about it and several other motels in Gananoque. This new motel is quite spacious, from the elevator to the halls to the room and the breakfast room. Our room was nicely appointed, the bed comfortably firm and the bathroom spacious. The breaksfast included waffles and scrambled eggs and sausage in addition to cereals and a variety of sweet buns, bagels and breads.

  • Liked — Easy access off-on the 401
  • Disliked — Hard to control the AC
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Stayed 1 summer night at this new hotel in Gananoque, ON. Selected it after seeing it place first on Trip Advisor. No regrets. Very new; room spacious; bed comfy; breakfast decent, free internet (wired); nice help; good parking; etc. Seemed to have a nice pool area and gym although did not use personally. Would have liked a whirlpool / hot tub.

Within 5 minutes of the lakefront and amenities (e.g. boat cruises, Playhouse). Close to fast food joints and conveniences.

Overall quite happy and would consider staying there again, although I might be inclined to find something right on the water if feasible.

  • Liked — Clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Not on the water (lake)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RexT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

This was our jumping off point for our trip down south and we were not disappointed at all. Very new and clean (looked the newest in the area). It is a dog friendly hotel and received us and our pooch very enthusiastically. Great bed and pretty good breakfast. Had dinner at Charlie's next door; not anything too special but it did the trick for supper and service was quick.
But love hotel. I would stay again.

  • Liked — Dog friendly; Very clean and relatively new; Good bed.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Other then the total disregard to the environment (no recycling whatsoever, plastic utensils in breakfast room etc) i would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed in a king suite with double jacuzzi tub and shower and the room and staff were excellent. This is by far the best chain hotel in town. Even the free breakfast was surprisingly good and i rarely if ever eat hotel breakfasts. If you are staying in the area this is the place to stay even though it is a little pricey (we paid $210/night).

  • Liked — The double jacuzzi tub and shower
  • Disliked — Disregard for the environment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
1.0 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Address: 777 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few Hotels in Gananoque Can Match Our Features The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 1000 Islands - Gananoque, one of the newest Gananoque, Ontario hotels, is situated in the heart of the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's location is just off Hwy 2 and close to Hwy 401. Leisure guests enjoy the convenience of our St. Lawrence River hotel's location, which is close to historic Gananoque and the Gananoque Boat Line. Day trips to Boldt Castle, scenic cruises, sport fishing and Fort Henry are easily accessible from here. You can test your luck at the 1000 Islands OLG Casino, just 0.5 km away from us. Few hotels in Gananoque, Ontario offer corporate guests a better location than we do. We're halfway between Ottawa & Syracuse and Montreal & Toronto. There are three meeting rooms that can handle up to 200 guests, with catering, video conferencing and A/V equipment for the perfect business event. Naturally, there is high-speed Internet access to keep you connect during your stay in the Thousand Islands. Our hotel's upscale amenities will delight every guest. You can start your day with a visit to the free hot breakfast buffet and relax at the end of it in the indoor pool or sauna. The bright and airy Fitness Centre offers a large TV to make workouts fly by. Our rooms feature a microwave and fridge for added value. Our award-winning Gananoque hotel's location and amenities will make your 1000 Islands visit just about perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Hotel Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Gananoque
Holiday Inn Gananoque
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing