We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing experience”
Review of Trinity House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity House Inn
Ranked #10 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Booked the suite "Prince Regent" on Sept 15 for a night for my friends: a couple, and my wife and I. Jacques, the owner, knew I was treating my friends for their anniversary and suggested it would be fine for 4 adults. We paid $225 for the room plus $50 for the additional 2 adults, plus an extra $5 each for breakfast. It's almost difficult to know where to start in discussing what was wrong in our misadventure at the Trinity Inn. I've had to wait several days to write this review because I was so upset, yet wanted to be fair to Jacques, the owner.

The Inn is basically quite nice with a beautiful sitting area on the main floor with fireplace. The other rooms in the hotel may be just fine, we didn't see them or hear comments from others, but I trust they are probably fine. The dining was adequate but nothing to write home about. The buns were terrible: they seemed like they must have been at least a day old. Of the four of us, I had the nicest meal: shank of lamb which seemed reasonable at $19. The soup was excellent and the scallops were delicious. The turkey in the pasta roll: OMG and my friends seemed less than enthusiastic about their meals, salmon, and I forget the other meal. The vegetables on the side were bland and a little overcooked. The dessert was good, the coffee okay. Overall, very little to get excited about. Fine dining? Hmmm. Personally, I'd say that's a stretch. The waitress, on the other hand, was just what I'd expect at a top rated Inn: charming and attentive. The dining area itself is quite nice.

The room, which is advertised as being on the lower level, is in the basement. It has a drop down ceiling like you'd find in a cheap office. and track lighting from the 80's . There is mold on the limestone walls by the jacuzzi. Entering into the basement, there is a definite musty odour, though it is not as strong in the room itself. The rugs look old, and I'm sure this doesn't help. Dehumidifiers are working overtime, one right by your head if you are unlucky enough to need the pull out couch. Overall, this suite is rather small, and totally inadequate for 4 adults when it comes to sleeping. The pull out couch Jacques claims is 4 years old. It has a mattress that is about 4 inches thick. You can get pull out couches now with nice mattresses. Why is a room in a suite that is going for top dollar have this piece of junk posing as a bed in it?
As soon as we saw the room I immediately told Jacques I was unhappy. He said there was nothing he could do at this point. Fine, we're still going to have a good time with our friends which we did, despite the room. Luckily the play "The Number 14" was excellent at the Springer theatre which is a good 15 minute walk from the Inn.
The next morning we came up stairs for breakfast, me praying it would be nice for my friends. It was a huge disappointment. It's a continental breakfast. I told Jacques I've seen better at Hotel 6's. Well, I was upset. It would have been good for a hotel 6. But that's about it. The first thing that jumped out at me were the huge plastic containers filled with cereal. The one staff member trying to take care of the table didn't know how to operate the one thing that may have made the breakfast bearable: the cappuccino machine-so much for that. Had to ask her for more Frittatas: the only thing that was warm and again to let her know they were out of coffee. Not a single trip to our table to ask how things were, to refresh our coffees or juices, not a single smile. But that was okay, as I was no longer in the mood for smiles.

I slipped away from our table to talk to Jacques for the second time. He was defensive, and not about to give an inch. He again said there was nothing he could do for us. I brought my friend into the discussion as he passed by us. I told Jacques that I wanted $50 off our room, and the breakfast for no additional charge. He eventually relented and gave this to us. Afterward Jacques apologized and said he was going to implement some changes based on what we had discussed.

Jacques knows what he's doing. He's been in the industry forever and a leader in it. The Trinity Inn was rated a top Inn only a few years back. Jacques and I chatted about some of the problems facing the industry and it sounds challenging. Apparently he can get the price he asks for the basement suite and few seem to complain. My standards are not all that high and I find this incredible. At this point I wouldn't recommend the Trinity Inn and truly hope that Jacques can make some changes, find some more enthusiastic staff, get the breakfast up to par, and do something about the basement suite.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Cdnmarcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2007

We enjoyed a weekend stay and found the owner, Jacques, and his entire staff to be very friendly and welcoming. The Inn was beautifully decorated, clean, quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious. We found the Get Away package to be a great value and a nice introduction to the Gananoque area.
- Travellers from Rochester, NY

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

The property's marketing materials promise a completely restored inn with elegant dining and their website seems to support this premise so I give them full marks for a good marketing campaign. However, we stayed in one of the more expensive suites and the quality of the restoration as well as the furnishings was poor. Exposed pipes and electrical switches, cheap melamine furniture combined with rickety "antique" pieces and overall questionable cleanliness.
Ironically, upon checkout a 10% "hotel service charge" was added to our bill which I was told was to cover items such as building maintenance. We definitely felt ripped-off. Considering the prices they charge, you can do much better in Gananoque.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

we stayed in the little appartment that is above the ice cream shop. It had a small kitchen who was so dirty you did'nt feel like touching anything... if you use any dishes you have to wash them yourself (even you pay almost 300$ for the night !).... the small carpet on the floor of the main bedroom was so smelly and humid I removed it...
When we inquired about the evening meal we gently told to go to another place in town as the inn had a group coming and they had no place for us (but we were the ones staying at the inn not the group..)...
Anyway, for 300$ box a night it is really not worth to stay at he place...\
One good thing the food for the breakfast was good .

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank timelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

We were two days there and it's fantastic. The house is so beautiful, full of antiques, and the owner is such a nice person, taking care of all the details.
We were lucky, becouse we went in low season and it's was cheaper than usual. I don't know how much can it be in high season.
There is a room with the bath outside, wich is cheaper than the others, and it's quite nice, becouse the bath is only for that room, so you don't have to share it.
They give very good breakfast.
They have a restaurant also, but it's a little expensive.
They have a living room and a very nice garden in wich you can stay resting.
Delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank volador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank leo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques O, Owner at Trinity House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bianca832014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacques O, Owner at Trinity House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#2 of 12 in Gananoque
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites
#11 of 12 in Gananoque
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity House Inn

Address: 90 Stone Street South, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trinity House Inn offers superior accommodations,excellence in dining and a warm,inviting atmosphere based on comfortable elegance.Built in 1859,the award winning Trinity House Inn is set in the heart of the historic section of Gananoque a block from the St.Lawrence River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Trinity House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity House Inn Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing