We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Resort & Spa(Gananoque)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gananoque Inn and Spa(Gananoque)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
1
19
6
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
19
6
8
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here on a visit years ago and came back. This is not 5-star, but a quality sleep. Bed quality, shower, reading lights are all that they should be. There were internet connection problems in the room (but not the office or breakfast room) but they are working on upgrading.
The family that owns and runs it is extremely pleasant and nice.
Breakfast is basic (cereal, juice, toast, decent coffee), but since the motel is $20-30 less than more centrally located chain places that's quite in order. We'll stay here again when we are next passing through, especially if they get the internet fixed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was on a little road trip with a friend in the Gananoque/Kingston, On. area and came across the Gateway Motel. The owner gave us the keys to 2 rooms just so we could check them out before renting one. Room 25 was o.k. then we went into room 26......wow...very nice, very large & very bright room and the bathroom was huge. Very clean & comfortable and the bonus was an outdoor pool and a continental breakfast was also included. Will definetly go back there again. The owner & his son were 2 of the nicest people ever. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before renting one...and always ask for a discount , you just never know. I got a late check out at no extra charge.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The host seems a fine person. He is desk clerk, breakfast supervisor, maintenance, and may be the sole cleaner. Nice man... waaay too much to do. The place needs a feminine touch and needs somebody who can see dirt.

The rooms are of extremely uneven quality. We moved from one extremely unclean one with streaks on the walls to a rough but relatively clean larger one that was offered to us (still had to point out coffee stains running down window blinds). We didn't see the renovated rooms mentioned by other reviewers but the ones that we had were of cabin or cottage quality as opposed to more contemporary motel units elsewhere.

Breakfast is an extra $2.50 paid upfront. Juice, cereal, and store croissants in a kitchen/dining area that may well see other use outside of breakfast. Signs it was used for private meal prep.
Not to our taste but this may work for some people.

We would like to rate this higher because the host (owner?) is obviously trying to make a go of it and is polite but it is certainly not the place for fastidious individuals.

On the other hand, Gananoque is extremely highly priced and if you are only going to use the room for overnights then it may suit you.

Room Tip: Don't take a room until you see it and do a walkaround to determine cleanliness and acceptability. There may be renovated rooms one can request.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EthicsprofCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Rooms had all been repainted. New carpeting. New granite bathrooms. New comfortable bedding.
Décor minimal but so fresh and clean. A great nights sleep for this price! I wil go again when I am in Gananoque.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very pleasant and helpful reception [son of the family?]. We were upgraded to newly decorated room, spacious, clean with nice sylvan view from back window. Obviously some renovation is underway.
The shower was a thunderbox! Breakfast was a bonus for what we paid, and was adequate continental - tea/coffee, cereal, fruit juice, toast, croissant and the ubiquitous bagels and muffins.
The town was a longish walk, or very short car journey away. There was a reasonable choice of good eateries in Ganonoque. I'd recommend it to anyone not wanting the frills of a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeH204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews