We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Sleepy Hollow B&B is a great place to stop while visiting Gananoque. The breakfast was fantastic, the rooms are very nice, and Marion & Don were great hosts. You are pampered at breakfast and that starts the day. The house is beautiful. We stayed with another couple and had a great time playing pool or sitting on the porch and talking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

We are always surprised at the number of our guests that use and enjoy the pool table. I like spending a few minutes there every now and then too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay that was too short! We only stayed one night, and would have gladly added a few days to our stay, if time permitted. The home is beautifully cared for, attention to detail everywhere. Our room was Travencore. The hosts were gracious, attentive and genuine. They went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our time in their little piece of paradise! And it would be remiss of me not to mention just how wonderful the breakfast was! I am still savoring the memory!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thanks for the kind words. You have discovered that one day in Gananoque is not enough. Hope you can come back for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

So impressive from the street, and the wrap-around porch (with hammock!) will have you charmed even before you are warmly welcomed by the hosts. As others have written, the home is large and beautiful, featuring lots of warm wood, interesting stained glass and antique pieces. Loved the pool table on the second floor landing, and there are lots of other games available there for guests' use as well.

Upon registering we were offered a menu for the next morning - several cold items are available and you can choose your cooked breakfast from many options offered and a time when you would like to have it. This is very thoughtful to both guests, who can choose as they like, and hosts, who can have an approximate time to expect you and plan their morning (and cooking) accordingly.

We stayed in the romantic Tara suite; a huge room with a very comfy king-size canopy bed and a Softub hot tub! There is also a little table for two with wine glasses and bottle coaster along with thoughtful battery-operated flickering "candles" for ambiance. This room has an ensuite with generously-sized shower.

Breakfast was divine; we both chose Belgian waffles with fruit and the presentation was beautiful. We were able to spend some time speaking with Don and Marion and they are just lovely people who are obviously in the right line of work, opening their home to folks from all over the world and providing a comfortable home base. Thanks for a wonderful stay; wish it could have been longer!

Room Tip: The Tara Room for couples!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks for the glowing words. You are correct we really enjoy our B&B and the folks we meet from everywhere. Please come again, just book a room right on our web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A very peaceful start to our weekend trip, Gananoque is a quaint little town with scenic views over the St Lawrence River.

The B&B itself is a magnificent old house, steeped in history, with plenty of curious items lying around to look at. We stayed in the Atlantis room, which is a decent size and has a fantastic en-suite bathroom. The bed is massive and very comfortable. There is no TV in the room, but that didn't bother us, there is one in the library on the main floor if people want to watch.

Our hosts were very pleasant and took care of us in the morning with a perfectly cooked breakfast. We even got a little history of the house while we ate.

We recommend Sleepy Hollow to people looking for a quiet getaway for a few days and who want to be close to the 1000 Island cruises that set off nearby. The Bridge to the USA is also very close if you want to do a day trip.

We also recommend the Ivy Lea Club restaurant for an amazing meal. It's about 12km drive away from the B&B.

Steven & Nicole, June 2013.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay. The Ivy Club is one of the region's gems. Great food and a great spot on the St Lawrence River. Check out the other attractions listed on our web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A very nice B&B, great breakfast and congenial hosts. The house is very beautiful and quite large, the host he gave us a bit of a history of the house - quite interesting! It was decorated to its period and some very lovely antiques - a nice change from the usual hotel.

We were offered a menu for the breakfast so that incase we had any intolerances to food, which was very considerate. They offered just about everything to us, so we left with very full tummies:))

He gave us a map of the area so that we could go walking and discover Gananoque - what a cute town :) Unfortunately we only stayed one night so we really didn't get a chance to see more of the area.

Sleepy Hollow was the last stop for us on our 9 day motorcycle holiday, so it was definitely a great way to end our trip. It made us think if we would ever want to do something like that when we get to retirement age?? Hmmm...

A pleasant place, I would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

When I first looked at this review, "Quaint" my first thought was that you were describing the Hosts...not so. You liked the house as much as we do. Thanks, and be sure to come back for a longer stay. Oh and by the way, this is a change in vocation not retirement! Retirement is when you can put your feet up and relax all day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This b&b is an excellent romantic getaway. Located in the picturesque Thousand Islands, Sleepy Hollow is a heritage home filled with antiques and stained glass windows. The owners are friendly and the breakfast is delicious and filling. There is a little menu to order breakfast the day before.
We stayed in the Tara Room, which boasts a canopy bed and hot tub. If you like beautiful mansions and impeccable hospitality, you will love Sleepy Hollow!

Room Tip: Choose the Tara Room for romantic getaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelesteG722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Sleepy Hollow B&B on labour day weekend 2012.
The location is excellent and right in the downtown of Gananoque. The waterfront is very close by as are several restaurants and antique shops. It was a short drive to Rockport where we took an excellent 2-castle boat cruise/tour including lunch.

We would highly recommend this B&B over the local chain hotels. The breakfast is fabulous and the cost savings over the chain hotels is significant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gananoque
7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#2 of 12 in Gananoque
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity House Inn
Trinity House Inn
#9 of 12 in Gananoque
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Address: 95 King St W | in Ontario Canada, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: £71 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville with the Thousand Islands on our doorstep, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. Breakfast is included, after all, we are a BED and BREAKFAST. Great restaurants a short walk away for lunches and dinners that will also be memorable. Gananoque has a Micro Brewery, Gananoque Brewing Company again just a short walk from Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing