We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable historic house made for a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
“A comfortable historic house made for a great stay!”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

My boyfriend and I were passing through Gananoque and thought we would check out Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were very welcoming and the historic house so intriguing, that we couldn't resist spending the night! Our room had a fantastic brand new whirl pool tub with complimentary wine and chocolates, and we both found the complimentary breakfast to be delicious (especially the homemade bread). The pool table and board games were a great touch as well and because the historic house is so large and a sturdy build, our stay on the third floor was perfectly quiet and comfortable (even with a family with two young kids just below us!) Overall a great stay and for what's included, a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheffem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    46
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
157
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

During our travelling from Toronto to Montreal we found the website of the Sleepy Hollow and we booked it for 1 night. The owner of the B&B is very helpful and very kind. It was no problem for him to carry the luggage of my girlfriend into the 1st floor.
The breakfast was just breathtaking and excellent. Because of the lovely B&B and the nice little town we decided to stay a night longer in Gananoque. Thank you for the very nice hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoCH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mississauga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

When we first set eyes on Sleepy Hallow we knew we were in for a treat. This lovely old house that has been lovingly restored to it's current glory sit in an ideal location in the town of Gananoque. Just up the road from where the Gananoque boat tour operates from and far enough away from the main high street (but reached within a 5 minute walk) so you wont be disturbed this B&B provides everything you could possibly ask for. We had booked late and had the last room available, but what a room. As you walked up the stair case you passed exquisite memorabilia and a full size pool table on the landing. The room was extremely comfortable and the towling robes the softest I have ever put on. The breakfast in the main dining room the next day was superb with fruit, cereal and a choice of hot dishes ( the eggs benedict were devine) and beverages. Overall not enough stars can do justice to this B&B and we will be returning in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveandjackie1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Nice building, but rates are quite high. Be wary of the bathroom situation. We paid extra to book a room with our own bathroom. However, on arrival, we discovered that the bathroom and bedroom were all in one single room. Only a curtain separated the toilet from the bedroom. Not a comfortable situation if you want any privacy.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlos154996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
You were in our Travancore room that was designed with the whirlpool tub right in the room, (along with the rest of the bathroom). The design concept here was leaning to the romance of having a leisurely whirlpool while still being able to have a conversation with your partner. The photos on our web site of the room show the whirlpool beside the sitting area. We might have been able to switch your room had we known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This was our first time staying in a B&B, so we weren't sure what to expect. Our room was beautiful and very clean.
We found it a little on the pricey side, but we may just be cheap! ;)
The bed was comfortable, but we could have used a couple more pillows - I am sure if we asked we would have received though! The pillows provided were down filled, but if you are not used to sleeping with them they can be difficult to get used to.
Our room did not have a lock on it?????????? Is this normal? We placed a chair under the door handle. That would be the only complaint.
Breakfast was SO good, yummy! Over all great experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaC621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gananoque, Owner at Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
It is always great to get feedback on how we are doing at our B&B. Certainly the 4 big pillows on the bed might be a little different (they are the synthetic non allergenic type) from the ones at home and yes there are extras available. Our 105 year old house has the original locks on all the bedroom doors and may not be like the ones at home but they all function and the key is hanging on the door knob. Sorry you didn't see that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed here one night as part of our anniversary weekend.
Sleepy Hollow is a beautiful, historic home, filled with interested antiques, furniture, etc.

The location was perfect. Our hosts had offered to make us both dinner reservations and book theatre tickets. This was a really nice touch and worked out perfectly, as we were not familiar with the area.

The breakfast was excellent, and served in their beautiful dining room.
Our room was very comfortable and quiet as well.
I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Don & Marion were great hosts and made us feel right at home in their beautiful Victorian home. My wife and I both loved every aspect of this B&B - location, hosts, decor and especially the breakfast as we were not expecting such a great home made meal. I would highly recommend this gem of a B&B as you will not be dissapointed. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscoe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.4 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinity House Inn
Trinity House Inn
#9 of 12 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
Address: 95 King St W | in Ontario Canada, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kingston and Brockville with the Thousand Islands on our doorstep, come discover Gananoque's Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. Built in 1905, Sleepy Hollow is a three-story mansion, complete with a turret and wraparound porch a perfect place to escape, relax, or arrange a special get together....like a wedding! Your hosts, Don and Marion, specialize in making your stay in our home a pleasant and memorable experience. We have restored this romantic home to its original splendour. Breakfast is included, after all, we are a BED and BREAKFAST. Great restaurants a short walk away for lunches and dinners that will also be memorable. Gananoque has a Micro Brewery, Gananoque Brewing Company again just a short walk from Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast Gananoque, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing