We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I ate at the restaurant and thought the spinach dip was excellent. I also could not believe the size of the Cobb salad- excelle”

Cousins On King Bar and Grill
Ranked #12 of 49 Restaurants in Gananoque
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are family run business, opened in 2012. We are place where friends and family come to visit and enjoy great food & fun! We look forward to serving you. Walking distance from the OLG Casino and Gananoque Re.creation Centre.Next door to the Best Country Squire Resort, Comfort Inn and Holiday Inn Express, close to many other accommodations. Teams welcome and ample parking. Open 7 days a week starting at 11am. Inquire about winter hours.
London, Canada
1 review
“I ate at the restaurant and thought the spinach dip was excellent. I also could not believe the size of the Cobb salad- excelle”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent food and service I will be back. The spinach dip was excellent and the size of the Cobb salad was huge. I can not remember our servers name but she was great with our kids . Looking forward to your patio season

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parrsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousins T, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We hope to see you again in the near future!
The management of
Cousins on King Bar and Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    59
    42
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Atmosphere - Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Went to Cousins on King for dinner and was greeted quite fast, seated at a table that was quite fitting for our large group. They didn't frown we were so large and they went the extra mile to make sure all of our guests were treated with high importance. Food was great and the staff were very friendly and made our visit well worth the trip.. Definitely worth going for a meal or a drink! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousins T, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We hope to see you again in the near future! We have some new changes coming...
The Management of
Cousins on King Bar and Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Absolutely HORRIBLE service!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was in Gananoque on business a couple weeks ago and was told this was a good place to go for dinner. The first night I was there the place was quite full do to a hockey tournament or something in the area. I had ordered a chicken dish, I waited a full hour for my food to show up, I figured maybe they were busy. The next night I figured maybe it may be different, oh how i was wrong. There was only one other table in the restaurant and STILL took an hour to get my food- I ordered a club sandwich and fries (pretty sure that takes 5 mins to make). The gentleman that was seated a couple of tables away from me ordered a pizza, which took over an hour to get and when he got it the order was wrong. The waitress was apologetic and told him she would get him the correct order. He told her he did not want to wait another hour or so for a pizza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousinsowners, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you brought your displeasure to the attention of the server and/or manager while at our location so that a response was provided before you left and we were given the opportunity to explain ourselves.
If so, you were probably told that unfortunately as much as we strive to staff accordingly, we are a tourist town and the winter and spring is quitter than normal. Its a catch 22 most times, if we overstaff we have to let staff go home early and they lose hours which we don't want them to as it is just not busy enough, and other times we are caught with a rush when we are understaffed and we struggle, but usually make it work.
We are sorry to hear of your experience and can only let you know that we are in the midst of hiring and training our summer staff and are trying to schedule our staff accordingly. We don't want our staff to leave due to lack of hours and do the best we can to provide as many hours as possible. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We waited nearly 20 minutes before any of the servers came to take our order of drinks, and another 15 min until we could order our food. When we dishes arrived, they were actually delicious, hence the 3 stars. But one thing is for sure, if time is of the essence, do not go to this place.

Helpful?
Thank Livia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousinsowners, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we are not sure if you are part of the table that has already responded as mentioned we hope you brought your displeasure to the attention of the server and/or manager while at our location so that a response was provided before you left and we were given the opportunity to explain ourselves.
If so, you were probably told that unfortunately as much as we strive to staff accordingly, we are a tourist town and the winter and spring is quitter than normal. Its a catch 22, if we overstaff we have to let staff go home early and they lose hours which we don't want them to, as it is just not busy enough, and other times we are caught with a rush when we are understaffed and we struggle, but usually make it work and the customer leaves happy.
We are sorry to hear of your experience and can only let you know that we are in the midst of hiring and training our summer staff and are trying to schedule our staff accordingly as much as possible. We don't want our staff to leave due to lack of hours and do the best we can to provide as many hours as possible. We hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“satisfactory”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This restaurant was very warm and had a musty smell to it. The food was good but both myself and husband, found the food overpriced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cousinsowners, Manager at Cousins On King Bar and Grill, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and as we like to mention, we do take our patrons feedback very seriously as we strive to meet their expectations and more. Independent and smaller restaurants unfortunately keep seeing higher overhead costs. With the rise in the cost of food, minimum wage increasing, increase in alcohol and other fees, as much as we would like to offer discounted specials, we just cannot do that. Our seasonal town limits the amount of patrons that walk through our door. Our locals do support us and we feel our prices reflect our quality of food and portion sizes and compare to many other establishments. We hope you will return in the future and thank you again!
The Management of Cousins On King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cousins On King Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cousins On King Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing