We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped on our way through Gananoque. Will stop again on the way back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moroni Restaurant & Tavern

Moroni Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #30 of 49 Restaurants in Gananoque
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Canadian, Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: BEST PIZZA IN TOWN - Pizza "Second To None"Downtown Patio, heart of the CityDELIVERY in and out-of townGroups/Buses Welcome!!!
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stopped on our way through Gananoque. Will stop again on the way back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Food and service, all good. Greek Salad had the real taste of good fresh extra virgin oil & they didn't skimp on the goat cheese. We really enjoyed our lunch. The lemon pie was very tasty also and the prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    29
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Should have read reviews before going”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food was average. Souvlaki plate was decent. The service is a disaster. Took forever to get acknowledged by wait staff and to have our order taken even though they weren't that busy. The washroom was an absolute pig sty. It looked like a gentleman who might be the owner was trying to get things under control by picking up the pieces for his hapless staff. But I am sure they, and you, can do a lot better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiyili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Went twice, never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food is mediocre and the service is horrible. When our cheese pizza took over an hour, and everyone else but the kids had eaten, we requested that the pizza be on the house. The server said she couldn't do that and the mgr was not avail. My daughter is a server and tried to explain how it could be done, and got YELLED at by the server. We almost walked out. However, my daughter patiently waited and then helped the server who didn't even know her own system! We got the kids food to go, and left. With a bad taste in our mouths. The food was bland and over cooked, and I have NEVER been yelled at in a restaurant. Our guests also said it had been 14yrs since their last visit, and they will never come back either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000IslMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“never bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Been here a few times now and it has always been okay. Handy location right on main street. I think there is an associated bar right next door that can get lively in the summer months. This is a family run establishment which has been around for years. I would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Tip….don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

New to the area……learned the hard way so you don't have to!

We read all the trip advisor reviews before going. I was afraid it wouldn't be good as 99% of the reviews were bad. We tried to order a pizza by phone at 7:45 on Sat night. We phone and phoned with no answer or no answering machine. Hard to believe in 2014. We were calling the Seeley's Bay Pizza location. Closed at 8pm on a Sat. night. Really, I would think Friday and Sat night would be a pizza night? So we called this location to see if anyone answered. They did and told us the other location (which is in a gas station?) closes at 8pm and I guess they stop answering the phone so they can "go home" at 8. So, we went to this location. They seated us quite quickly. Poured coffee and went away for about 20 minutes. Came back took our orders,
dinners came separately and about 12 minutes apart. It's kind of weird to eat alone then wait for the other person to eat. Best advice. Don't go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank azahunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moroni Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

 
Gananoque, Ontario
 

Been to Moroni Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing