We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”
Review of The Athlone Inn - CLOSED

The Athlone Inn
Price range: US$1 - US$152
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I can't believe we hadn't been to, or known about this place, in the 20 years or so that we've always spent near Gananoque for our summer vacations. We saw the reviews on here and decided to plan a visit. The food was wonderful and the service was very good. The bulk of the fresh ingredients were stated to be locally sourced. My wife had soup and the Salade Niçoise and an Inn Made Ice Cream. I had the Chicken Boudin Blanc and Tomato Salade Composé and Crème Brûlée du Jour. We were both extremely happy and went away with a smile on our faces!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaneda2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    19
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Class Act!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the place to eat (and stay!) in Gananoque for formal dining and romantic ambiance. From the moment you walk into the beautiful pastel shaded grand dining room you know it is going to be good! As usual we pushed the staff for their best choices and were fully rewarded - fresh mushroom soup, scallops cooked to perfection, flawlessly prepared rack of lamb and the ultimate vegetarian dish for my wife that simply wowed even me! The pistachio based dessert had no less than 6 little items in it that you had to photograph just to remember everything! The gracious staff and the wine (Norman Hardie Cab Franc) rounded out the perfect evening. I would like to add that we toured some of the rooms at the Inn and will be staying here next time we come to cycle, especial the main inn rooms. They are beautifully appointed. The Inn's location is a brisk walk to downtown, the playhouse and the boats etc. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was one of the best meals we have had in a very long time!
3 of us had Filet Mignon - it was cooked perfectly. Each of us had asked for it to be cooked differently.
My husband had the daily special - Arctic Char!!!!

Service was fantastic!.

Cannot wait to go back!.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abkw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Enjoyed dinner here this past weekend. I can't say enough good things about this place. From start to finish the dinner and service was impeccable. One of the best dinning experiences I've had. I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Gananoque.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chihuahuamamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great dining experience from beginning to end. The service was warm and friendly and the food great. We started with a local red wine, had the best homemade bread, flavourful soup and amazing trout. The chocolate truffle dessert was decadent. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Athlone Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing