We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, excellent host!”
Review of Gite Le Presbytere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gite Le Presbytere
Ranked #1 of 14 Perce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This B&B had been recommended to us by friends who had stayed there several years before; and they were right! When we arrived, I told our host Michel I needed a small screwdriver to fix my glasses, and as soon as we had settled in, he brought a kit with several dozen. Problem solved.

The B&B itself is located at the end of a road next to a magnificent church and its cemetery. It is well situated there. It is very quiet and it is a short distance from a dirt road which soon forks, one way leading to a Grotto and the other the top of Monte Ste-Anne. Depending on your preference, you can either drive or hike to these places. The host Michel is very knowledgeable and bilingual which helped us as limited French speakers. At breakfast he was able to speak to us and the French guests as well as be an interpreter so we could converse between ourselves. He had even helped us over the phone before we had started our trip to confirm a reservation we had made at another B&B in the Gaspe' region where the host understood little English. The room was clean and well done despite the age of the property and the breakfasts were excellent with his collection of 200 or so blue decorated plates lining the walls providing a topic of conversation. However, if you really need a TV, there is only one in the common area, but not in the room. But there are 2 computers located in the entry porch that were available 24/7 to access the internet if you so desired.

If I might add, there are 2 things you might want to do when visiting the Perce' area. The Crevasse, a deeply eroded fissure in the ground just outside town, makes an interesting destination for a hike. And the boat tour and ride to Bonaventure Island is also well worth it, especially if you are able to hike across the island to see the vast colony of gannets that roost there.

Room Tip: We chose the downstairs room with the private bath which is located off a common area. Because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

The souvenir that you note in your comments
brings us back to some 3 years....but I remember it
as if it was yesterday. Thankk you and our appologies
for having waited so long to testify of our appreciation.
Have a nice year of 2016. Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

I didn't realize that staying in a place called "Le Presbytère" would imply staying next to a cemetery, which I don't really like.
But you completely forget about it when you enter the beautiful house and meet the host Michel.
Michel is friendly and professional, he gave us all information and even made reservations for us (if going to Perce, you have to go on the Ile de Bonaventure!).
The house is very well maintained, spacious, we had a beautiful view, the shared bathroom has all necessary stuffs.
The breakfast is fresh and varied (salt and sweet, fresh fruit, yoghurts, ...).
It is not cheap but probably worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We agree with all the comments made about this B&B, Michel is a great host and very very helpful, providing guidance on everything from places to eat, maps, sights to see and highlights on route to your next destination.
The breakfast table positively 'groaned' with the amount and variety of food upon it, it was just delicious.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and well appointed.
Michel speaks perfect English which is a help if your command of French is limited.
Would definitely stay here again if back on the Gaspe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKMaggiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent one night over the Labor Day Weekend at this B&B and concur with previous postings. The location is excellent and Michel's suggestions for everything from where to park, which boat to take to Ile Bonaventure and where to eat were helpful. The breakfast was incredible; international guests were ushered into the dining room at 8:30 am where they sat down at one long table. The selection of cold items, including preserves, meats, and cheeses, was artfully displayed among the china and flowers. The hot dish of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and capers was served individually to each guest-absoulutely delicious. As for the almost perfect, I'm just not a fan of shared bathrooms but I would put up with that again to enjoy the elegant breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatMaine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011
Google Translation

Nous vous remerçions de vos commentaires inscris
sur le site TRIP ADVISOR et avons apprécié votre
passage à notre gîte. Bon automne et au plaisir de vous
revoir!

Michel (Le Presbytère), Percé, Gaspésie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I ditto every word of praise given for this wonderful bed and breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor and included a private bathroom. The room itself was cheery, immaculate and very comfortable. We were next to a sitting room containing a television, a piano and many books, maps, pictures and interesting antiques. The breakfast consisted of many local products including caribou and pheasant as well as the more traditional, for us, meats. Each of the two days of our stay we were also served a hot dish prepared freshly each morning, and we were treated to a wide variety of breads, cereals, yogurts, cheeses and fruits. We are already thinking of when we will be able to make the trip from Idaho to Perce, Quebec, again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank araska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perce-gite, Owner at Gite Le Presbytere, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for your comments about us on TRIP ADVISOR.
We have very much appreciated your staying with us.
Hopefuly we will meet again in the future.

Michel (Le Presbytère), Percé, Gaspésie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Gite Le Presbytere's accommodations are tastefully decorated, immaculate, roomy and commodious. The facility is a converted Presbytery, adjacent to Perce's demi-cathedral. Michel the inn-keeper is a superb chef. His breakfast offerings are nothing short of superb, and vary from day to day. Michel also is a delightful and attentive host. His suggestions and advice were very helpful as we planned our daily activities in Perce.
Very highly recommended, but reserve early as the tourist demand for rooms at Le Presbyery is high.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Mic.hel was very attentive to all his guests. He provided personalized maps, with the route outlined in yellow, to each guest every morning to help them enjoy locations that were of interest to them We found our room to be bright and clean but the regularly cleaned bathrooms were down the hall. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and delicious, you could not possibly sample all that was laid out on the table.

Michel has very good english - a plus in this area of Quebec for the french speaking impared!l

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
0.7 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
24.4 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.6 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gite Aux jardins de l'Anse
0.5 mi away
Auberge au Fil des Saisons
24.3 mi away
La Maison William Wakeham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Le Presbytere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Le Presbytere

Address: 47 De l'Eglise St, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Perce
Price Range: £82 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A century-old historic presbytery, living-rooms and rest areas, large sunny veranda, an outside terrace, comfortable and bright rooms, excellent service, an inventive and somptuous breakfast, a view of Perce Rock, repeated awards of excellence! All of this...a spet away from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gite Le Presbytere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gite Le Presbytere Perce, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing