We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Cote Surprise
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was a surprise indeed: when you get at the top where the hotel is, you get this wonderful scenary with the Perce Rock just in front of your eyes: the personal is friendly, the suite spacious and comfortable. The restaurant has this warm atmosphere with tones of orange, made up by wood and causy light. Excellent food and good service. We slept very well and would gladly go back there!

Room Tip: Take a suite: they are very spacious, high ceiling, comfortable in a Canadian way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dairohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    38
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Had a wonderful vacation at motel La Côte Surprise!! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and had a superb view! The food at the restaurant is quite good, but the menu doesn't change a lot so if you're difficult, you may want to eat somewhere else. The motel is located a little apart from the other motels in Percé, which is great because you don't have to worry about any tourist and noises. It is just peaceful and magical in Gaspésie. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meltrustsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Very nice, super clean and the staff very helpfull, i love it. The only thing the children don'y have a big choice in the restaurant menu

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Great views abound in Perce but the view from our balcony has to be among the best. The manager showed us the rooms and chatted to us frequently throughout our stay. The other staff were also friendly and helpful. They had a package offer of breakfast and dinner with tips included in the price. We used this for both days we were there and enjoyed good quality 3 course meals and a cooked breakfast. The restaurant also has a great view of the island and rocher perce. The room was spacious and comfortable. It wasn't cheap but the extra we paid was worth it for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I had to sit in the hotel lounge to use the internet as it didn't work in our room, but this was pleasant enough anyway.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaver055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed for 3 days last week in the motel part of La Cote Surprise and were thoroughly delighted. The location is slightly outside of town, making it both quiet and giving it a better view from atop a small hill. We saw whales from our balcony every day and would have been happy staying in all day if there weren't so many other wonderful things to do in the area. The rooms are large and simply decorated, the beds are quite comfortable, and the staff are extremely pleasant and accommodating. We didn't try the restaurant, but it has a spectacular view, just like the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakPointers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore of Montreakl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We are currently in Percé and we are just so ''surprised'' with this hotel.
We just stayed in Matane last night at a 4 star hotel that was not even worth 2 stars.
This one should be 4 stars however. The rooms offer an AWSOME view of the Rocher Percé and Bonaventure Island. The rooms in the hotel section are air conditionned and have a sitting area that is a few steps higher then the actual bed. We have yet to try supper or breakfast here but just for the room and rate this hotel is well worth it.
The rooms are so warm and cozy and the bed is very confortable. Everything is very clean. It even has a mini fridge. The bathroom could use more shelving for toiletries since it's a pedastal sink but that is the only ''bad'' thing I can say,

It has free wireless internet wich is really great and unfortunatly not advertised, but ask at reception they will give you the password. The staff is great and will do their best to accomodate your needs.

If you plan on staying in Percé and want to make sure you have clean, confortable accomodations, then look no further then Hotel Motel Surprise.

PS. For campers, tents and RV's they also have a site adjacent to the hotel.

Have a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchestra_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

This is my second stay at this hotel both times in the hotel section. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the air circulation is very poor. Despite relatively cool outdoor temperature it seemed impossible to cool the room down. The seating area is up a few steps and provides a view of the rock and island. It would be better if the view was visible from the main part of the room. The dining room was not open this early in the season but a lovely table d'hote menu was served in the bar. There a two particularly nice tables with great views. Breakfast was also served there. The main floor is locked at night to both guests and the public. The morning we were there they forgot to open the doors which was a little disconcerting.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
0.7 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
0.9 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Auberge Motel Les Trois Soeurs
24.2 mi away
Motel du Haut Phare
Motel du Haut Phare
#2 of 12 in Gaspe
191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Motel Rocher Perce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Cote Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Cote Surprise

Property: Hotel La Cote Surprise
Address: 367 Rte. 132 Ouest, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Cote Surprise 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, Hotel La Côte Surprise is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful getaway. We combine hospitality, comfort and quality to ensure your stay with us is memorable. An ocean of dreams awaits you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Cote Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Cote Surprise Perce, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing