We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel La Normandie…Expensive but delightful….$$$$” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Normandie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Perce
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Normandie
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel La Normandie…Expensive but delightful….$$$$”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pricey - but worth it. With our meal plan / dinner & breakfast for the last week of July 2014 it was $404 each night for an ocean front 2nd floor room with balcony. Having said that it was most enjoyable. The most disappointing thing was the desk clerk charged $2.00 for a Keurig coffee cup because we used the 1 in the room between the 2 of us. Really? Suck it up and give us a each a cup of coffee.

The restaurant is a MUST! Delightful & most important it was DELICIOUS! The breakfast is a buffet but but also tasty. The views from the dining room and hotel room were spectacular.

Room Tip: Very costly…Perce Rock that rests in the ocean outside the ocean front hotel is the main draw. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyO1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    66
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
42
169
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderfully situated on the Atlantic shore with fantastic views of Perce rock and right in the middle of town..close walking distance to everything. Mini fridge in room was very handy for cold drinks and the patio outside the door to the garden was a really nice touch. The food in the restaurant was fine for dinner, but breakfast was surprisingly meager. Big sign on the way into dining room stated: No eggs, no sausage, no pancakes, and no French toast.... Rather an ungracious marketing tool for an establishment. So for $14.50 it was pretty much a continental breakfast, with some bacon and quiche... Probably would stay there again but not have meals included.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noramarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Checked into this place with 2 large bags. No offer of help and a check in guy who was a bit curt. Noticed a sign right at the front door upside down. A protest? The rooms are very comfortable with a very good restaurant. Breakfast is odd. Great service but a weird menu. There is an odd vibe here with great views and a recently upgraded bathroom and room.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Some reviewers have noted the "dated" interior of this establishment ... COULD NOT BE FARTHER FROM THE TRUTH.

I had a family of 14 staying in the region for a wedding ... many were at various establishments. I have visited them all - two couples moved over to this hotel after noisy toilettes and noisy neighbors.

One thing to note: Perce is a cramped area. Lots of foot traffic, very little room between properties and little privacy elsewhere.

The Hotel: Excellent- Clean, efficient service, well priced, and at $199.00 my own terrace on the lower floor was better than the higher floors on rainy days. English speakers- Excellent view of the rock and it's quiet at night. The waves are about 50 feet away and we felt completely comfortable.

Beds are extremely comfortable and the bedding superb- great to accomodate the sleeper who requires a light blanket or comforter ..... bathroom was super spacious with beautiful floors and the keurig machine was a ewlcome after a tough night of noise at the Riotel. This si the one time that we never wanted to leave this room- it felt like we were in a long term summer rental. There is also a fridge.

Room Service: Superb -We had the Salmon with carmelized onion - FAB! Cooked to perfection- flavours were balanced and salmon melted in our mouths as it should.

We had the Salad Jules Cesar- If you aren't in love with a heavy dressing ask for a lighter version .... croutons were bland- but one can't have everything.

Desserts: Get the Chocolate cake- absolutely divine. An almond cookie base- tasty and in great contrast to the ganache covered mousse- this was a treat well worth having .... the apple- not so much so- its texture was not typical apple pie- it was more like a version of a flan- not as tasty and almond slivers if i recall. Go for the chocolate- its magnifique~

B-fast- CONTINENTAL EURO style- no eggs and ham here Ma'am!

Pastries are made on site- they aren't the greatest- but it does the job- very carby - BUT the quiche Lorraine was fab fab fab for this seaside escape.

Overall very very impressed after we left the original Riotel booking- simply because their advertising of their establishment was misleading and false.

Room Tip: Get the seaview- its worth the prie- relax on your chairs on each deck- take a stroll on the boadwal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 587Taka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have been around Percé a couple of times, this time my girlfriend and I had the chance to stay at this great hotel, quality service and super comfort, right on the beach in the perfect spot in front of Rocher Percé, the food was awesome, you have to try the Lobster feuilleté au Champagne and the filet mignon, 5 big stars it should be! I will tell all my friend to go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have read many positive reviews of this hotel and agree that it is very well located, quite, clean, and pleasant. However there are some major omissions in the reviews.

Our bottom floor was a comfortable and quiet double queen with the slider entrance opening to the water and view of the rock. Good desk and dresser space is provided. The location is perfect for strolling to Perce’s restaurants, shops, and tour boats. (I highly recommend the boat tour around the Rock and departing at Bonaventure Island for the hike to the gannet colony.) We ate amazing salmon dinners at the hotel’s dining room: nicely served, delicious, and well worth the price.

Now for those omissions: the toilet on our 1st floor room “sweated” (per hotel staff) and there were constant puddles on the floor. We actually had to ASK for an extra towel to leave on the floor to soak up water. As this condition was well known to the staff, I have no idea why something to soak up water had not been provided. Also not provided were creams for the coffee. One has to ask for these at the front desk - seems minor unless you are having breakfast in your PJs when you make the discovery. The toilet had to be flushed VERY carefully or it would stick.

A fan, iron (with a miniscule flat sleeve board), and free (very non-functional) Wifi are provided but no, zero, NO available outlets in the room (except in the bathroom) to plug in anything. I finally yanked up the TV power strip from behind the dresser. I asked the desk clerk about the Wifi as it kept winking off (in the room and lobby) despite showing 4 bars. She replied that it normally worked fine and perhaps there were many users at that moment. We were there 3 days, and I was able to get on only a few times.

I still would recommend this hotel, but they need to fix these inconveniences.

Room Tip: First floor is dank in humid weather, but great sitting/view area on lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DulciTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin Island, AL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stay five nights here. The location was very central. We walked from there to most places we wanted to go. The rooms were impeccably clean and the views were awesome. One night, we opted for the dinner plan. It was one of the best meals we have ever had anywhere – and very elegant. We will definitely stay here when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perce
0.0 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
0.2 mi away
Le Mirage
Le Mirage
#3 of 16 in Perce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Auberge sous les Arbres
0.0 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Cote Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Normandie

Property: Hotel La Normandie
Address: 221 Rte. 132 Ouest | C.P. 129, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Motel La Normandie
Hotel La Normandie Perce, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing