We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing good time”
Review of The Capitain's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perce
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Capitain's B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Perce B&B and Inns
Rexton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing good time”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the highlight of our road trip to the Gaspe. Daria met us with maple tea and Swiss cakes, and we chatted on the back patio with the best view of Perce Rock possible. After a peaceful and comfortable night [with complimentary use of an iPad], in the morning we enjoyed home-made Aepfelkuecheli, a waffle-like apple pastry, smoked salmon, ham, and a selection of cheeses, washed down with a good European coffee.

Totally recommened -- we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Must start first by having a great place to stay and what a place, the best we ever come across since we had been travelling and this in many places and countries. They know how. From welcoming you to service you, cooking you the best food you ever experience for breakfast to the magnificient view. A million dollar view!! That is. It made our stay to Perce an unforgettable experience. We highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting this area. Worth the stay. Spotless as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Location: on the outskirts of bustling Perce'
Views: incomparable, on the water with glorious view of Perce' rock
Hospitality: Urs and Daria are warm, welcoming, efficient, and excellent planners of one's time
Breakfast: too good!
Room: cozy and comfortable
Upkeep and Cleanliness: impeccable
Perks: a tablet for each room connected to WiFi, momento gift upon departure

In summary, absolutely perfect

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 454Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloeil, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This B&B had not only had an amazing view of the Rocher Percé but everything else about it was amazing as well. Firstly, our hosts, Daria and Urs, were very kind and thoughtful. They gave us very good advice on what to visit and how to proceed. They even arranged a last-minute reservation for us at a great gourmet restaurant.

Secondly, cleanliness being very important to us, we were very pleased to find a well kept B&B. The private bathroom and shower (which came with La chambre du Capitaine) were also very clean.

Finally, the details are what made this stay so special. The afternoon tea break, with incredible homemade cake was very appreciated. The breakfasts were to die for. We also loved the way the hosts incorporated their Swiss heritage with Québec products (cakes, pastries, smoked salmon, maple syrup, maple syrup tea, etc.).

For all of the reasons above, we recommend this B&B 100% and we will return next summer for sure! (Also... Good price, walking distance of restaurants, beach, grocery store, great and affordable lunchboxes available, etc.)

Cynthia and Laurent

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaLaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddington, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Dari and Urs are fabulous hosts and fluent in three languages--their native Swiss German, French, and English--and provide you with one of eastern Canada's most spectacular views. Be sure to ask about making advance reservations for the boat to Isle Bonaventure as the seabirds--especially the 70, 000 gannets--are a visual feast. With notice Daria will provide a scrumptious boxed lunched for the trip at a very reasonable cost. The breakfasts are superb, and the late afternoon tea and pastries enjoyed in Adirondack chairs overlooking the bay and the Rocher de Perce (Perce Rock) are but two of many amenities that make this an outstanding stop on any tour of the peninsula.
Bruce Pratt

Room Tip: See attached picture for idea of the room view available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at Gite du Capitaine for 2 nights and could not believe the view of Perce Rock when we drove up. The hosts Daria and Urs were welcomging and full of information. The breakfasts were excellent and innovative. They have started offering an evening meal but would like 24 hour advance notice. If you are arriving after a long drive, I would definitely order her supper ahaed of time. Otherwise, there are excellent restaurants in the area and they will tell you about them. They also had good advice about weather and tides and sunrise and sold boat tickets for the tour to Bonaventure Island. Daria also backed the best lunch we have ever had -$10 each - It was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Our room had a private bathroom, but it was across the hall. I would recommend the Commandant room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunkyDory08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

On our tour of Eastern Canada we spent 2 nights in this Gite. What a place, on top of the cliffs looking over Percé, Le Rocher and the isle Bonaventure. The owners are charming (well, being Austrian we had the advantage of being able to talk German), the breakfast was great, freshly prepared, consumed in the company of the other guests, very nice convesations.
We got good informations of where to go for dinner, what to do during the day - and that I had to get up at 4.30 a.m. to see the sunrise - it was great.

Room Tip: We were staying in the main house, the room "Le Commandant" being probably the best one. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perce hotels
2.0 mi away
Perce Au Pic de l'Aurore
0.8 mi away
Riotel Perce
Riotel Perce
#4 of 16 in Perce
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Motel Manoir de Perce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auberge Motel Les Trois Soeurs
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cote Surprise
1.0 mi away
Auberge au Fil des Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitain's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitain's B&B

Property: The Capitain's B&B
Address: 10, chemin du Belvedere, Perce, Quebec G0C 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Perce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Perce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a breathtaking surrounding!From our Chambre du Capitaine and du Commandant you have an exceptional view to the Rocher Percé and the Bonaventure island. The magnificent sunrise will stay forever in your memory. Taste our rich breakfast while enjoying our breathtaking view. If you're lucky you may see minky whales passing by. Member of the Gîte du Passant certified. We speak fluently English, Français, Deutsch and un poco italiano. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Capitain's B&B Perce, Canada - Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing